We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chavda Hotel Ltd

Save Saved
You added Chavda Hotel Ltd to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chavda Hotel Ltd
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baghani Street | East of Kenyatta Road, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 hotels in Stone Town
dar es salaam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is in the middle of stone town, no car can reach the place so you've to walk about 50meters or so. It is safe even during the night and the hotel staff will help you of your luggages.
Rooms are very large with Arab decor and furniture. Bathrooms are ok.
The roof top bar/restaurant offers a beautiful view of Indian ocean and stone town. An ideal place to finish your day. I was rather supprised to find this place alomst empty everyday.
I did not eat at this hotel but i'm told that they serve no beef/steak! (religious reasons)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    33
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
7
24
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I've stayed at the Chavda twice with 6 years between stays. The hotel has not changed anything since then which for the price is disappointing. The first time I stayed as a tourist and found it o.k. this time I'm here on business and I had to move out after two days because it is not able to accommodate such travelers.

My main complaint is that above the entrance to the room are smoked windows. This is a problem because the lights in the hallway shine through all night preventing you from sleeping. This can be easily fixed and I pointed this out six years ago and obviously they don't see a problem.

My towels were extremely ratty and old. This is also annoying because there's no reason at the price they charge to replace the towels occasionally.

Finally breakfast although included is meager at best.

My impression is that the Chavda is banking on its reputation and does not feel it needs to upgrade. The Tembo Hotel on the road to the Serena is far better at the same price. Just as quaint but overall better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Given its in Stone Town and in Zanzibar,Tanzania, this is a nice hotel. I would recommend it for the price. We negotiated the price down to 100 US$ per night from 120. They allowed you to pay in US dollars or Tshillings. You must remember there are NO brand new hotels in Stone Town. Some have been refurbished and this is one. It has beautiful Indian antiques and large clean rooms. The service is good. The staff took bags up, exchanged money(something they don't usually do) and brought breakfast (included in the price) to our room at no charge. We had a room with no balcony but is was larger than one with a balcony. Make sure to ask for a room with a flat screen since there are only a few. Make sure to go in the room and see if everything works. Our Television didn't work initially and we were moved to a new room immediately. The room comes with a fridge, hot water tank(with indicator level), and television with decent cable channels. This hotel is right near everything in Stone Town including shops, restaurants and the beach. It also has a Rooftop restaurant that has above average food with an impeccable view and decent prices. We ate there once for lunch and they also have a bar with television. The hotel seemed empty and they few people we did see seemed to maybe to work and live there? Not sure but it was safe although a little spooky. There is also a spa called Lemon next door which is convenient and we had a couples massage for an hour with a one facial for less than 100 bucks. You can't beat that at a hotel and with no appointment needed. Negatives: ok this is an old building and it is in Tanzania so that being said the drains in the tub are slow, the sink leaked a little on the floor, with the windows closed you could hear loud noises from outside(cats mating, rooster crowing, kids playing, people talking) but no fault of the hotel just part of the town atmosphere. The fit and finish of the hotel is not 5 star but adequate for the price.

Room Tip: Negotiate the price of your room and make sure to view the room beforehand to make sure it everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We recently stayed at Chavda Hotel as a resident on business in Zanzibar. We found the rates very reasonable for the standard of the rooms and the service we received. Rooms are spacious and loved the option of being allowed to either bath or shower, that is very rare in Zanzibar. Though the rooms were great I felt that the hotel should spend some money on new bed sheets and softer pillows. My sheets were very thread bare and the pillows felt like bricks. Was also a bit disappointed with the breakfast, it was very very basic! All in all it was quite a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We arrived at the Chavda on August 1, 2012. We spent one night in a suite, which was not worth the extra money. It had a separate room with a flat screen TV and a loveseat and chair, but we don't look for space or television. The next day we moved to a room across the hall and it was perfect. We don't spend much time in our room and this room had a beautiful porch/balcony out a back door. It was about 30 feet long and 12 feet wide with 2 chairs and a coffee table. We would come back from our day and go out there and relax before we left for the evening. Breakfast was good, plenty of fresh fruit and eggs to order. It was on the roof with some lovely views. The staff was very accommodating and we had great experiences with the walking tour they set up for us and the Spice Plantation and trip to Prison Island. They even got us a great deal on transportation to the airport when we were leaving. The staff seemed to anticipate our needs and were very attentive. We thought the location was ideal, we could walk anywhere in Stone Town from here. Our room was always clean, our bathroom was huge and we had no problem at all with bugs of any sort. We never had to use our mosquito netting. Their dinner menu was okay, but we preferred to explore other places.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private porch/balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Good...

The hotel itself is really lovely, and (most of) the staff are really friendly and helpful.

It's central and very close to the water, the park and nice restaurants.

Our bedroom and bathroom were large, spacious and have everything that we needed. It was clean and well presented.


The Bad...

The mosquito net over our bed was full of large holes, rendering it useless.

The bath wasn't fitted/sealed to the walls, so when you're having a shower, then floor of the bathroom get quite wet. Best not to leave your towel on the ground...

Breakfast was on the roof; the view was really nice, however the food wasn't up to much.
We were offered eggs when we first arrived, but opted out as we weren't sure what they would be like. After seeing another family getting them, we asked if we could have them, to which the girl serving told us no, as we said we didn't want them on arrival...
They offer you warm or cold milk for your cereal. The cold milk is room temperature, which there is warm... go figure.

The fridge was dangerously 'plugged' into the socket by two exposed wires...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Chavda Hotel is not much to look at on the outside but it is quite charming on the inside. During our June 2012 stay, we had a two bed suite with a 'salon' and a balcony overlooking a very tiny courtyard. The room was clean and the bathroom sufficient. Linens and towels were a little on the frayed side but clean. The one down side was that the A/C shut off during the night when it was most needed. We turned the ceiling fan on to compensate but it was very noisy. The hotel staff was courteous. The restaurant on the roof was very nice with a comfortable breeze and an expansive view. The staff was very helpful in helping us tap into the restaurant's wi-fi. The menu had a decent selection of options and what we ordered was good. If one had to stay in Stone Town rather than at a hotel on a Zanzibaran beach, Chavda should be considered as an option.

Room Tip: It was nice to have a room facing a courtyard for the extra air flow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chavda Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chavda Hotel Ltd

Address: Baghani Street | East of Kenyatta Road, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chavda Hotel Ltd 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chavda Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chavda Hotel Stone Town
Chavda Hotel Ltd Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chavda Hotel Ltd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.