We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible lunch!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Africa House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Africa House Hotel to your Saves list
The Africa House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shangani Street, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“terrible lunch!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were recommended to visit this hotel. WOW!!! How terrible. The meals were of very poor quality, the service was so incredibly slow and we were the only three people there!

Don't waste your time! Perhaps drinks in the evening, but don't waste your time with the poor food and service. You can only hear "soon" so many times in a hour!!!!!

Great view though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    36
    17
    23
    42
See reviews for
18
64
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel, but came here for sundowners and dinner on the rooftop terrace (Sunset bar). The view is great, perfect spot to unwind with a cocktail at the end of the day. Get a spot right at the edge of the balcony so you can have uninterrupted view and take photos without hassling other guests.The food was not amazing, I had the line fish of the day with chips. Stick to cocktails.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
926 reviews 926 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 278 cities Reviews in 278 cities
543 helpful votes 543 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Came for an afternoon beer but it was pretty much the hottest place in town!

Sweating just sat down. Open to the sea but obviously the breeze was the other way! Fans ineffectual. Couldn't wait to leave.

Its old and quaint. Some might say tatty and in need of some love.

Service is disinterested at best.

Perhaps sunset is better to go to the bar.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went here for lunch on a day trip to Stone Town. We ate in the Sunset Bar, which had a few other tables eating at the same time. We had been up to the restaurant but decided not to stay there as it was completely empty and felt a bit awkward. We ordered drinks, and then food when the menus eventually came. Twice after considerable intervals the waiter came back and told us certain meals were not available after we had ordered. Eventually we settled on available choices.We waited for over an hour and a half and finished two drinks. When the food did arrive, it was ridiculous. Portions were laughably tiny, with the exception of the fish of the day. The place feels extremely dated and is in need of modernizing; the menu needs a revamp too! Poor value for money, and in need of more staff. The one waiter in the whole place was trying valiantly, desperately trying to hurry the kitchen along, but to no avail.
We left hungry and out of pocket. Go for a drink at sunset, but there are plenty of better, cheaper places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had read about this place in the lonely planet (2009) so my friend and I thought that we would give it a go for a drink during the sunset. Service was fine, view was great but there was no luck in viewing the sunset with the hordes of people coming in for a 5 min sunset picture, unless of course you had a table on the very edge of the balcony.. Which we didn't

My suggestion if you are there for the sunset is to get there an hour early, instead of a half hour or go and sit on the ocean wall and have a spiced coffee at the cool little cafe just down from the hotel. Much more relaxing and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A group of 16 of us had made a reservation to have dinner at the roof top restaurant of the hotel. The set up was beautiful, we never thought we would have a terrible time and experience.

The waitress took ages to take the orders, even though it was only us at the restaurant. We had to wait an hour to get a bottle of wine because they had run out, the cocktails were awful and they did not have half of the ingredients to make the dishes we ordered.
Instead of telling us they had run out of ingredients, they served the food without them, getting served a crab and avocado salad without crab or avocado is something I wasn't expecting!

The worse came when a few of us had ordered lobster and it came with an empty king prawn shell stuffed with a fish fillet, at that point we stood up and left.

Would never go back and would not recommend the place at all. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Nice for the view and a drink from the bar but don't eat here.
We were told the restaurant was closed and offered the same menu.
It all looked great but after waiting over one hour , with the waiter returning numerous times to check on our order, the food arrived. The orders were mixed up, the portions were minuscule , and the food was terrible. Items as detailed in the menu, eg chapatti for the curry was missing. I had ordered fish curry and got chicken. I ate it anyway as I didn't want to wait for another hour for my correct dish. We complained but weren't offered a discount or alternative. The food was overpriced for the serving size.
Overall, a very bad experience and to be avoided. Certainly go to look at the old building and artefacts there and enjoy a drink with the view, but don't order any food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Africa House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Africa House Hotel

Address: Shangani Street, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Africa House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African House hotel is located within the prime and historic Stone Town overlooking the open sea and gardens and minutes from the beach and vibrant Shangani square featuring some of the best night life on the Island. The accomodation includes 15 airconditioned rooms, the Sunset Bar, The Sunset Lounge, a Turkish restaurant (yet to Open), Trade winds Restaurant (For Indian / Chinese / Continental / Italian and local dishes). A historical Library, a large conference hall, Hotel shop outlets and sea facing Shisha decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Jovago.com, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your The Africa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africa Hotel Stone Town
The Africa Hotel
The Africa House Hotel Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Africa House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.