We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of money!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Africa House Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Africa House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Africa House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Shangani Street, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 29 hotels in Stone Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Waste of money!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

DO NOT GO HERE!!!!!!

Thus hotel is beautiful from the outside and HAD potential to be exquisite inside but something went wrong somewhere.

We were previously at another hotel but couldn't stay there for the final day as it was full booked. So my dad booked African house hotel because he had previously had such a great stay there (must have been in the early 90's). Anyhow upon arrival the receptionist was so unmotivated that it took her 15mins to look at the same page in the diary to find our booking. Then made me and my sister follow her around the hotel so as she could show us the VERY many empty rooms they had so as we chose what too we wanted. That in itself was a sign that we shouldn't have stayed there- the fact that they had so many empty rooms in high season and that there no tourists anywhere in the hotel (this was at around 11pm)

After deciding what rooms we wanted I went back into the balcony/bar area where my dad asked the waitress for coffee and she replied that they don't have coffee. To which my dad responded 'why didn't they have coffee, there a hotel?'. At that point I had to leave as I was getting irate.

We went downstairs to pick up our bags, carried them along two flights of stairs with three of their staff walking slowlly behind us. Then when we reached the top of the stair ls the receptionist asked if she could help me with the bag!!!!!!!!

Sorry for the long review....

Upon arrival into our room we had two Cleaners making our bed (the only two members of staff who were lovely), then the other three members of staff came into our room as well just standing there

Whilst waiting for the beds to be made it took the receptionist 1ins to find a remote for the AC.

After freshening up we decided to head out and as e did so a waitress came to us with a tray of coffee!

To top it off the room wasn't very clean, doors weren't closing properly, fridge wasn't working, toilet wasn't flushing properly, it took  forever for the cistern to fill up with more water, constant water running in the toilet, staff were so unmotivated, staff would come into your room when your not there,

Breakfast was appauling, wasnt cooked properly, didn't have some of the things on the menu. 

The thing that annoys me is that we paid nearly the same amount for the rooms as we did for the other hotel yet the experience was completely different.

I wrote this review at 5am in the morning due to not being able to sleep from the constant running water in the bathroom. 

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    31
    16
    21
    41
See reviews for
16
57
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great fun, great food, beautiful view. The owners are saints. Very accommodating. Located right in the heart of Stone Town. Perfect for watching the sun set and have a few drinks!!! The service was excellent and we were treated like royalty for the duration of our stay by the owner/manager. The drinks are reasonably priced and bar staff efficient, but the setting... overlooking the Indian Ocean (in our case just before sunset) is magnificent. This place has not changed since it was an old colonial officers' club.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Town, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Didnt stay in Africa house, but did come twice for a drink with fellow travellers. Terrace is great, overlooking to the sea which adds an atmosphere to the ambient. They offer a huge selection of cocktails priced for tourists. It might happen that bar runs out of many liquors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We didn't mind that the drinks were ridiculously expensive because we had got a fantstic view of the sunset- until

a. some awful eurotrash music kept coming on so loud and tastless. some gentle african music or ibizian chill out would have been so much better.

b. some rather rude fellow tourists kept coming up and blocking it. The staff did nothing to stop them blocking our view but instead tried to push us to buy more food and drinks.

The conversion rate fromtanzanian shilling to dollars was terrible - but we had no choice but to pay that way as the waitress claimed their card machine was out of action. strange that they said they didnt have anoher one working in the entire hotel. i wonder how hotel guests paid for things?

nice sunset, terrible service and atmosphere. we couldnt wait to get out of there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Was let down by another (highly rated) hotel in the area so took the advice of a local businessman
and went to Africa House. They were very accomodating and although late at night offered us the most perfect room for our honeymoon.The service was excellent and we were treated like royalty for the duration of our stay with the owner/manager taking it upon herself to ensure our special holiday would be remembered with affection.Thank you so much.

Room Tip: The bar is a little noisy but hey you`re on holiday!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Didn't stay here but went for sunset drinks as it is apparently 'the place' to go. We reserved a table during the day as it was my birthday and knew it would be busy. When we arrived at 5pm they had no record and someone else was sat on that table who had also 'booked' it! They had no wine left and we gave up on the cocktails as service was so slow and hopeless. Had a beer each and left. Much better places to watch sunset - Serena Inn or Travellers Cafe much nicer, or even just down on the beach!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We went to Africa house hotel to catch the sunset as had read in many guidebooks that it is famous for the sunset. I am not even sure why as it seems to be clouded by some large palm trees. We had one drink then left the chaos! Was packed to the brim and overrun by large tour goups. Staff seemed stressed and unable to manage the amount of people in there. When we wnet to the bar to pay up there were about 10 members of staff trying to get drinks, get bills, take money and we waited over 5 minutes just to pay. We ended up on the road by the harbour which was much quieter and the following night went to serena hotel which was much better and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Africa House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Africa House Hotel

Address: Shangani Street, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 hotels in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Africa House Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Africa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africa Hotel Stone Town
The Africa Hotel
The Africa House Hotel Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Africa House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.