We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Africa House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Africa House Hotel to your Saves list
The Africa House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shangani Street, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Stone Town
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

After reading some of the rave reviews I was certainly expecting more... The building has so much history to it and is ideally situated.
We had booked a deluxe sea view room-unfortunately the word "deluxe" means different things to different people.Yes, there's a fridge, an iron, tea making facilities. The bathroom was disgusting- the taps were all dirty- the shower was terrible, the toiletries were poor. The "soap" wouldn't even foam. Luckily i had brought some extra which worked fine- so it wasn't the water.
The seaview rooms under the sunset bar haven't been renovated. Several peple had problems with the noisy or faulty air con. downstairs
The Stonetown view rooms upstairs have been renovated and looked stylish- nice and big compared to many Stonetown hotels.. Unfortunately the quality is dubious- cheap fittings. We moved rooms and the first night the curtain rail came tumbling down when I tried to draw a pair of curtains. We couldn't turn the TV on as the cable wouldn't reach the plug socket. Even the kettle had to be placed under the desk as the cable couldn't reach the wall socket!
The staff were very friendly and the Sunset bar has got a great view- we spotted dolphins twice.
Breakfast was the worst i had in my whole Tanzanian visit. What a shame- such a wonderful restaurant location upstairs, overlooking the ocean. I heard compalints from other travellers about the restaurant food so we didn't bother to try out the restaurant. Again, a big shame as it looks very nice. The chef needs to be retrained or replaced!

Room Tip: Don't choose a seaview room until they have been renovated or the price comes down! Quite noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    43
    19
    23
    43
See reviews for
20
68
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Although we didn't stay here, the rooftop bar is sensational, and is a necessary stop-off for visitors to Stone Town. The drinks are reasonably priced and bar staff efficient, but the setting... overlooking the Indian Ocean (in our case just before sunset) is magnificent. This place has not changed since it was an old colonial officers' club. The entrance and staircase really set the decadent tone before reaching the terrace bar. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The homely set up and the great view of the ocean from the open bar makes one at home this together with the great and personalized service, the smiles the waiters and the waitresses plus the constant checks by the manager to ensure you are fine make one feel very valued. you've not experienced Zanzibar's hospitality until you visit The Africa house hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

After roaming from one hotel to another, we finally found Africa house hotel! it is definitely the place to be! The Food, decor, view, & service- unlike other hotels which don't pay much attention to some races, the service we got was perfect & personalized especially from a gentle man who is Soo eloquent, sorry have forgotten his name. He kept on checking on us if we were ok. Now that's customer service!
We really look foward to come & stay @ your hotel in december, since we dint get a chance 2. We have also reffered one of our friends whose coming to zanzibar in august, to your hotel. Keep it up!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Beautiful rooms. Historic hotel. Very comfortable. Clean. Great bar. Eat somewhere else though. Felt a bit like a princess with a giant canopied bed. Staff are very attentive and can arrange for tours. The owner of this hotel has a couple of small rescued monkeys and is part of an animal rescue group in Zanzibar. You may see the little guys in the bar. They may try to share your beer. They love spaghetti and are curious about any and everything they see.

Room Tip: If you go during an off season, you can get a great deal on a room and possibly even upgrade free of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We decided to take in the sunset from the bar at the hotel on the first floor ... after visitng briefly during a walking tour of the city and marvelling at it's fantastic view, we decided to return in the late afternoon and enjoy watching the sun set over the Indian Ocean.

Unfortunately for us, the sunset is better observed around the corner at the Forodhani Gardens ... so we thought to make the best of our visit by having drinks and dinner.

And that was our mistake.

We should have known better when the smoothie we ordered took nearly 40 minutes to show up ... but we thought we were being proactive and ordering our dinner early: we need not have bothered. It took nearly and hour to arrive, only magically appearing 5 minutes after I warned the manager we would be leaving within 10 minutes if our meal didn't arrive.

The food itself (I had the burger and my partner had a chicken wrap) was unappealing and bland, not really worth the wait. We left half of it. And the smoothie that took ages bore only a passing resemblance to the taste we had anticipated: we ordered a pineapple & mango drink and got something that tasted vaguely of peanuts

And when we got back to our hotel and hour later, there was a rush for the restroom as clearly the food (or drink) hadn't been as hygenically prepared as it should have been.

The place is best visited for its view: those with a cast iron stomach and/or an indifference to flavour are its target market.

There are better places for food in Stone Town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

We came here to eat and drink but couldn't leave fast enough! Disgusting dirty entrance to hotel wi very unfriendly bunch of people sitting around! The food urgghhh and I couldn't drink the flat beer! The reason for paying n running out was the toilet -over flowing n filthy ! Hotel management comes from top down n from what others say about the owner they clearly should not run thus hotel

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Africa House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Africa House Hotel

Address: Shangani Street, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Africa House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African House hotel is located within the prime and historic Stone Town overlooking the open sea and gardens and minutes from the beach and vibrant Shangani square featuring some of the best night life on the Island. The accomodation includes 15 airconditioned rooms, the Sunset Bar, The Sunset Lounge, a Turkish restaurant (yet to Open), Trade winds Restaurant (For Indian / Chinese / Continental / Italian and local dishes). A historical Library, a large conference hall, Hotel shop outlets and sea facing Shisha decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Africa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africa Hotel Stone Town
The Africa Hotel
The Africa House Hotel Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Africa House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.