We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, friendly hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tembo House Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tembo House Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forodhani Street | P.O. Box 3974 Zanzibar, Stone Town 25524, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
Oroville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful, friendly hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed at the Tembo House Hotel after leaving another, unacceptable hotel. We were, at the last minute, placed on the third floor, with an ocean view. The hotel staff was wonderful and helpful in many ways. They helped us plan side trips and use their phones. The rooms are clean and quiet, and the decor of the hotel is fabulous. Great breakfast and nice swimming pool.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    217
    98
    43
    18
See reviews for
124
198
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

After two weeks in Tanzania, the Tembo Hotel was definitely the hotel highlight. We wanted to stay in Stone Town and be on the beach, which limits your options. The rooms are good, not perfect, but the rest of the hotel is a stellar, historic building reaching out to the sea.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zambia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

The staff were very pleasant, typical of most of the Zanzibari people we met with.

Our rooms were part of the very old part of the hotel built in 1885 I think,( originally used by ivory traders) and right at the top of the hotel on the 3rd floor. Lots of old antiques around, our room had a double bed, a small table and two chairs and a tiny verandah that looked out on the beach and an empty plot. Our bathroom had a showerhead which you could not hang up (hard to wash with one hand) as it didn't fit in the wall fixture and no bath, (just small tiled square) so not really for me, as I like a good shower or bath. I couldn't see any smoke alarms or fire escape from our room or landing and that worried me somewhat having been in a fire.

My teenage kids stayed in the room next door with three single zanzibari beds and a very loud, very noisy air conditioner! Mosquitoes everywhere we had to spray twice and still many. Breakfast was a buffet and not great, but all was ok for one night. If you want to have a taste of the history of Zanzibar it may well be for you as it is full of character and like living in a museum.

If I went again I'd stay at the Africa House (also has history so worth a visit and the terrace has a great view) or Serena preferably.

Tembo is in the very heart of town just near the silk route restaurant (wonderful tandoori lobster!)

Get a guide to take you through the slave chambers, they are there on site when you go and very well informed, we had a young man called Joseph who was very interesting and charged us very little for his great information.

We also wondered through the spice market taken there by a "guide" who picked us up as we walked along the streets and insisted on guiding us there although we protested but he turned out to be very helpful and showed us the best shops and behind the scenes.....and he got a worthwhile tip from us.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

They don't do things the way they do in the US, but the staff was very helpful and the big room, (for three of us,) was more than adequate.

Keeping in mind you're a long way from home, Tembo makes for a pleasant oasis among the relative hurly burly of Stone Town, a must see part of the world if you're in Zanzibar.
The room was clean, the TV had an amazing selection, and the breakfast was very tasty. And the staff completely attentive.

Our bed was a model of something we saw in the House of Wonders, from the old colonial days. Interesting. The bathroom had a strange, but beautiful bath/shower. And a very clean looking pool. Few if any Americans; a very international crowd. And an atmosphere all its own.

The property is truly spacious, and in itself a curiosity. The rest of Stone Town, well, you'll have to see it to believe it.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat,Oman
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

This is a charming hotel full of character, antique furinture in the bedrooms.
Facilites were more than adequate, staff and service were very good and the location couldn't be better, right on the beach and also central to all the exitement of stone town.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

Loved the central location and character of the building. Beautiful rooms with zanzibari furniture. Great pool in the middle of the building. Right on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

We came from a 8 days Safari through Tanzania to relax 4 more days on Zanzibar and just got this hotel for one night on the transit to Matemwe. We got the Tembo Lodge but only from the name you cannot expect luxury. The room was directly at the beach (ground level). In fact when we sat at the terrace people thought we were sitting at the restaurant (which is just three metres away). If you step out of the room you are directly in the restaurant (although open-air). Breakfast was as disappointing as the room's and bathroom's interior. So, just for one night it is quite OK, but certainly not for more than that ...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tembo House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo House Hotel & Apartments

Address: Forodhani Street | P.O. Box 3974 Zanzibar, Stone Town 25524, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#9 Family Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tembo House Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique experience awaits at the Tembo House&Apartments.Tembo House Hotel&Apartments is situated at the heart of Zanzibar Stone Town by the picturesque seafront.The magnificent main Building has had various functions over the past centuries. Between 1834 and 1884 it served as the American Consulate in Zanzibar then passed on to become the trading offices of Cowasjee Dinshaw & Partners. Their headquarters was in Aden(what now is know as the Port of Suez), and with trading posts notably in most of the British Protectorate areas, it became the largest trading Company in the India Ocean. To this day , the name of Cowasjee Dinwash & Partners is still visible at the main entrance of Tembo House Hotel.Tembo House Hotel has seen a few celebrities pass through is doors during the consulate era, the Conwasjee Dinwash era and as a Hotel. Mahatma Ghandi, stayed here a few weeks with the Dinwash family on his journey back to India from South Africa 1930. As a rising new star in the British, and the world music scene, Freddie Mercury and his family used to retreat to what is now ”Marashi” apartment whenever they came back to Zanzibar on holidays.Next to Tembo House Hotel is also what used to be the British Consulate, where in 1874, Dr. Livingstone’s body was brought before embarking on its long journey back to England.A stone throw away is the Beit-al-Ajaib of House of wonders. This landmark building, is the largest and by far, the tallest building in Stone Town. Flanking the Beit-al-Ajaib is the Old Fort on one side and the Palace Museum on the other side.In other words, Tembo House Hotel is situated on a prime location, you need not go far to find the shops, the restaurants and the Historical sites that Zanzibar Stone Town has on offer.Zanzibar port is just 5 minutes drive away and the Zanzibar International Airport a further 15 minutes away.Welcome home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Tembo House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tembo Hotel Stone Town
Tembo Stone Town
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.