We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tembo Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tembo House Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tembo House Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forodhani Street | P.O. Box 3974 Zanzibar, Stone Town 25524, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tembo Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is our second visit to Zanzibar and our second stay at Tembo House. Our first visit was only two days. This time we wanted to stay longer. Our stay was for 7 days. Tembo House is very convenient to all the activities in Stone Town. We were able to easily walk to all the sites of Stone Town.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. After the second day they were able to remember our names. The front desk was very helpful on setting up any tour you would like. The restaurant severed a nice variety of foods and snacks.

Rooms are are designed in the old Arabic style with all the beds draped in mosquito nets. In the evening the house staff close up all the windows in you room, turn down your bed and spray for mosquitoes.

If you like a private quiet beach, this is not the place for you. However if you like sharing a beach with the locals this is a great beach. The hotel sits right on Livingston Beach. A portion of the beach directly in front of the hotel is private. The rest of the beach is a public. The evenings along the beach are fIlled with local boys playing games, swimming and many locals and families walking along the beach. You are also near the harbor so there are many boats in the area.

If want a resort, this is not the place for you. If you like local flare and culture, this is a must stay place.

Great places to eat near by are the Silk Road and Bani. If you are into diving, One World is just around the corner.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Guest Relations Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Willieflier,

We deeply appreciate your taking the time to post and are so glad you had a pleasant and comfortable stay. Thank you for your review and recommendation.The entire staff send their warm gratitude to all of you.

We hope that you will be visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    217
    98
    43
    18
See reviews for
124
198
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in Sept 13.

They have done a great job refurbishing this hotel. Hotel very clean and tidy. Location superb. We were in the Jasmine room which isn't very private as it was one the pool level but we only used is as a base for exploring Stone Town so no problems there.

Breakfast was ok and no alcohol served - but there is a cool jazz bar next door.

From European standards I would describe Tembo as an excellent 3* or a good 4*.

Would not hesitate to recommend....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Guest Relations Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you Jim C for your review and recommendation.We deeply appreciate your taking the time to post and are so glad you had a pleasant and comfortable stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A lovely old hotel in StoneTown, with its own beach. The rooms are a good size, clean. The swimming pool is well maintained. The hotel is well positioned to enjoy Stonetown. The hotel is alcohol-free but there are plenty of pubs not far away. Breakfasts are pretty average but good enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Pumba11
We deeply appreciate your taking the time to post and are so glad you had a pleasant and comfortable stay. We hope that you will be visiting us again soon and thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment in Freddie mercury house.
The best comment is "different"
Like the hotel itself the apartment had a great atmosphere with local furniture pieces, old rugs & an "elephant repelling" front door. I estimated the top of our mattress to be well over 1 metre above the floor -- they do supply stools!
Yes, it was a bit "oldish" but everything, including 2 aircons & many overhead fans worked well.
Our 2 teenage grand daughters loved the pool & the tree lined beach area was a great place to sit with a cool drink & watch the boats & local kids, without being hasled by hawkers.
The only complaint was the food which we found to be poor.
After the first morning the girls prepared their own baked beans in the room. This was after 12 days through Kenya & Tanzania. One lunch they ordered pasta & left 75% of it.
We ate out the rest of the time because we found some wonderful, inexpensive food close by -- with fabulous drinks ( check out Lazuli)
Would I come back to Tembo House? Definitly as it is very pleasant & its position puts the best of Stone Town eating & shopping at your doorstep.
I found the reception staff a bit offhanded most of the time. Had it not been for a taxi driver standing there, who took the phone, I am not sure my flight time check would have happened.

Room Tip: Note that we were in the apartments around the corner not in the hotel proper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Noel D
We deeply appreciate your taking the time to post and are so glad you had a pleasant and comfortable stay.

We apologies for our short fall on meals which we realise that and we have taken proper steps to upgrade our meals to meet our client expectations.

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We hope that you will visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Tembo House Hotel was the ideal place to spend a weekend in Stone City. The hotel grounds were simply beautiful, with the courtyard pool flowing to the beach. We boarded a boat right in front of the hotel to take us to Prison Island. A few blocks walk and we were enjoying the markets and the Forodhani Gardens in Stone Town. The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful. I carry wonderful memories of sitting on the beach enjoying breakfast in the morning and watching the sunset in the evening.

Room Tip: My room faced another building, which was fine since most of my time was spent wandering the streets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Guest Relations Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear bluejean
We deeply appreciate your taking the time to post and are so glad you had a pleasant and comfortable stay. Thank you for your review and recommendation. We hope that you will be visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

As is always, we rely mainly on triadvisor to make choice of the hotel and you stand a big chance of being disappointed but this was not the case with our experience of Tembo Hotel - beach hotel in stone town with panoramic view of the ocean from the balcony of our room 20

Room 20 was ideal for our family of 4, husband and wife with 11 yrs old son and 5 yrs daughter.The kids had their section with medium size beds and another section with a big bed was for the parents. we were equipped with a refrigerator, kettle for tea/coffee, aircon in kids section, clean wash room (shared). The hotel is among the buildings with architectural designs that preserves the history of Zanzibar.

Breakfast had a wide range of choices including loacl spiced coffee and some local fruits

Hotel Manager and other staff were very friendly and helpful in fine turning our tours in Zanzibar, also is helping us strive good deals with other service providers - taxis / trips

Safe location and close to most of the quick services that one might required. Wife and children were happy with the stay and can't wait for the next trip to Zanzibar and stay in Tembo Hotel

Just one area of improvement - i suggest the hotel to put an aircon in the parents section in room 20 so that when the weather is hot there is no need of setting full blast the aircon in kids section

Barry, Lilian, Brian and Bella

Room Tip: I would recommend room 20 in the 3rd floor even if it is not a family but a group travelling togethe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Barry C, thank you so much for such a kind review. We remember very well you and your wonderful family! The entire staff send their warm gratitude to all of you ,hoping we will have again the pleasure of welcoming at Tembo house hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock north nz
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a wonderful place to relax , enjoy the white sands of the beach out front, but step out side and you a right in the heart of stone town.its a great location, wonderful rooms, beautifully restored and wonderful old decor.
we had a room with a balcony facing the sea, wonderful views.
Great swimming pool,food was good but lots of choices nearby too.
Highly recommend this place as a place to stay in stonetown, one of the few places on the beach.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room overlooking the sea.most rooms get a sea view but the extra cost is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, General Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Havelock,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tembo House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo House Hotel & Apartments

Address: Forodhani Street | P.O. Box 3974 Zanzibar, Stone Town 25524, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#9 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tembo House Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique experience awaits at the Tembo House&Apartments.Tembo House Hotel&Apartments is situated at the heart of Zanzibar Stone Town by the picturesque seafront.The magnificent main Building has had various functions over the past centuries. Between 1834 and 1884 it served as the American Consulate in Zanzibar then passed on to become the trading offices of Cowasjee Dinshaw & Partners. Their headquarters was in Aden(what now is know as the Port of Suez), and with trading posts notably in most of the British Protectorate areas, it became the largest trading Company in the India Ocean. To this day , the name of Cowasjee Dinwash & Partners is still visible at the main entrance of Tembo House Hotel.Tembo House Hotel has seen a few celebrities pass through is doors during the consulate era, the Conwasjee Dinwash era and as a Hotel. Mahatma Ghandi, stayed here a few weeks with the Dinwash family on his journey back to India from South Africa 1930. As a rising new star in the British, and the world music scene, Freddie Mercury and his family used to retreat to what is now ”Marashi” apartment whenever they came back to Zanzibar on holidays.Next to Tembo House Hotel is also what used to be the British Consulate, where in 1874, Dr. Livingstone’s body was brought before embarking on its long journey back to England.A stone throw away is the Beit-al-Ajaib of House of wonders. This landmark building, is the largest and by far, the tallest building in Stone Town. Flanking the Beit-al-Ajaib is the Old Fort on one side and the Palace Museum on the other side.In other words, Tembo House Hotel is situated on a prime location, you need not go far to find the shops, the restaurants and the Historical sites that Zanzibar Stone Town has on offer.Zanzibar port is just 5 minutes drive away and the Zanzibar International Airport a further 15 minutes away.Welcome home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Tembo House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tembo Hotel Stone Town
Tembo Stone Town
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.