We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tembo House Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tembo House Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forodhani Street | P.O. Box 3974 Zanzibar, Stone Town 25524, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
sydney australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“I loved this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Yes, I did love this hotel as it was just so quaint! It wasn't your For Seasons or Merriott but that isn't what I want when at somewhere as exotic as Stonetown Zanzibar. Our room had massive wooden doors that opened to a large room with 2 four poster beds and a mumble jumble of mixed
Arabian type furniture. The bathroom was a huge long room with blue tiles that was surely from
the movie Road to Zanzibar. There isn't any extras like shampoo provided though.
We sat just outside our room where breakfast was served in the morning and the view was breathtaking. Breakfast was a strange affair but quite adequate.
The hotel is close to everything and we would walk thru the streets in the evening and stop when we found somewhere nice to eat.
Some afternoons we would sit outside overlooking the beach and watch the dhows come in as the sunset. Its really another world there, like stepping back into the past.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, General Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi kevinndenise, Thank you for spending your time and dropping few lines to share your experiance at tembo hotel with other users of this fantastic site. will make sure that will mantain our good surrounding and upgrade the service specially breakfast..thank you onces again and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    216
    98
    43
    18
See reviews for
124
198
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We planned for a different hotel but on arrival we changed the plan and took this hotel the hotel manager was a superb person helped us to secure a good room with great view, the hotel was beautifully refurbished from a old ruin, it had a beautiful beach attached but a very active one could notsay its a private beach, break fast was not so good but rooms, decoration, pool and entrance lobby all were classic and colorful. Good Stay for family as well. The housekeeping staffs need to be little proactive otherwise overall experience was very good. The most important part the hotel is situated very close (walkable) to all restaurant joints ,city center and Forodhani garden. So you get beach and city together and since its in city traveling to north or south is just half a way.

Room Tip: Always take the room close to the sea and on top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dokkum
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had planned to stay only two nights at Tembo hotel before going to the north of the island. Nevertheless, when we came back to town we decides to go back to Tembo. Super nice hotel. Friendly and helpful staff and lovely setting by the sea. All attraction in town are within walking distance. There is always something to see on the beach since it is busy with both tourists and locals. The sunsets are amazing. Lovely pool for when you want to take a break from the heat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, General Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear FritsDokkum , Thank you for your comments on your experiance at tembo hotel, we promise to maintan our hospitality and our lovely surrondings to meet the requirement of our esteem customers like you..hope to see again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Really beautiful hotel, stunning location on the beach but right in stone town. Staff were completely professional, attentive and helpful. Our room on the deck at the front of the hotel was simply stunning! The food was not as five star as the hotel ... But not bad. No alcohol here though ...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, General Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Jodesireesmith, Thanks for your positive comment on our property (tembo hotel) we promise you to maintain our hospitality to those who are planning to visit us and we will make sure that will upgrade our food and beverage service to meet your requirement. thanks onces again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

You'll see when you get there how important (and unusual) it is to get a clean and well organised place in Stonetown. Tembo is charming, well equipped and in a great location. I could see only two hotels who had a direct beachfront (Tembo and Serena). Tembo has a lovely pool too, and in the quad surrounded by all the rooms' balconies/windows. We stayed a night, getting a break from Dar, and packed it all in. Staff were very friendly and organised a trip to a Spice farm and the sultan's palace. Only drawbacks, for some, might be that the room was quite small and dark and the breakfast was not too terrific - stale cornflakes, strange local spiced coffee. But I loved the place, its old but restored; full of character and it is such an achievement to run a great hotel in such a town.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a nice little balcony - might be an idea to ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembohotel, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for your repond on tripadvisor which really gives a picture to those who are looking foward to try our hospitalitty and our facilities.. we ones again thank you for your comment and looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Tembo 'house; is exactly that, a home away from home.

First of all I have no idea why there are any reviews below very good! we stayed here on two occasions during our 2 week travels around Zanzibar island, both times we had the same service and both rooms were of high standards

Clean, authentic and luxurious.

Hotel: The only hotel in stone island that has a beach! if this isn't enough then I don't know what is. You can do tours to prison island from here, take a stroll and enjoy breakfast in the morning ON the beach: a treat for Stone town.

The entire house and rooms are heavily decorated and furnished with traditional omani/zanzibari dark carved wooden chests and furniture. This really gives the whole place an amazing atmosphere and feel.

The rooms from our experience were all four poster, lavish and luxurious with very heavy bed covers/linen and beautiful textiles throughout.

The bathrooms are to die for! I have never seen anything like it! the omani style tiled area in the bathrooms are soooo beautiful and romantic for couples althogh the photos really do not do them justice.

Clean.

Breakfast: buffet style with a range of hot and cold, like anywhere the earlier you are the more choice you will have. Tembo is heavily booked throughout the year so do book in advance. I felt like I was spoilt for choice considering I was in zanzibar, an island far from being developed. Some comments are negative about the coffee, I guess if you are a coffee connoisseur then yes the coffee isn't all that but hey there are a variety of teas and juices to choose from aswell.

Staff and service: superb superb superb! really helpful and friendly. They have free wifi throughout as well and 2 pc's in the reception area.

If you don't get to stay in this place then definitely just go to visit it because the furnishings are just amazing!. Oh and it has a pool although we never used it. However we did see a lot of families and the kids seemed to love it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembohotel, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks for your comments on your experience at our hotel which we are proud of it and promise to mantain our hospitality to those who are looking forward to come and stay with us.Thanks ones again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in the new wing, the room was nice and clean, but very small, fantastic air conditioning! Wonderful pool and the hotel was decorated beautifully. Very central location, beautiful view of the water. The only complaint is that the restaurant was a devoid of character, unlike the other hotels in the area. Also the breakfast was not so good. Other than that we had a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in the newer wing as it has wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembohotel, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear felicityrichardson, Thank you for your comments and we actually working on it (upgrading) the restaurant service and also wifi is much better now through out the hotel. Thank you so much looking forward to see you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tembo House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo House Hotel & Apartments

Address: Forodhani Street | P.O. Box 3974 Zanzibar, Stone Town 25524, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#9 Family Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tembo House Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique experience awaits at the Tembo House&Apartments.Tembo House Hotel&Apartments is situated at the heart of Zanzibar Stone Town by the picturesque seafront.The magnificent main Building has had various functions over the past centuries. Between 1834 and 1884 it served as the American Consulate in Zanzibar then passed on to become the trading offices of Cowasjee Dinshaw & Partners. Their headquarters was in Aden(what now is know as the Port of Suez), and with trading posts notably in most of the British Protectorate areas, it became the largest trading Company in the India Ocean. To this day , the name of Cowasjee Dinwash & Partners is still visible at the main entrance of Tembo House Hotel.Tembo House Hotel has seen a few celebrities pass through is doors during the consulate era, the Conwasjee Dinwash era and as a Hotel. Mahatma Ghandi, stayed here a few weeks with the Dinwash family on his journey back to India from South Africa 1930. As a rising new star in the British, and the world music scene, Freddie Mercury and his family used to retreat to what is now ”Marashi” apartment whenever they came back to Zanzibar on holidays.Next to Tembo House Hotel is also what used to be the British Consulate, where in 1874, Dr. Livingstone’s body was brought before embarking on its long journey back to England.A stone throw away is the Beit-al-Ajaib of House of wonders. This landmark building, is the largest and by far, the tallest building in Stone Town. Flanking the Beit-al-Ajaib is the Old Fort on one side and the Palace Museum on the other side.In other words, Tembo House Hotel is situated on a prime location, you need not go far to find the shops, the restaurants and the Historical sites that Zanzibar Stone Town has on offer.Zanzibar port is just 5 minutes drive away and the Zanzibar International Airport a further 15 minutes away.Welcome home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Tembo House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tembo Hotel Stone Town
Tembo Stone Town
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.