We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good base in Stone Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clove Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clove Hotel
Save
You added Clove Hotel to your Saves list
Hurumzistreet | P.O. Box 1117, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 27 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A very good base in Stone Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My partner and I spent a very pleasant couple of nights at the Clove Hotel. It is in an old building, but nicely maintained and decorated, and clean. The location is great, in the middle of Stone Town, and is made even better by the big communal terrace on the fourth floor, overlooking the town and with a view of the sea, where you can relax on one of the sofas. The hosts were pleasant, our room was spacious, the bed comfortable enough and properly mosquito-netted, and the bathroom clean and working. The buffet breakfast was good. Hot water in the bathroom was scarce, but all of Zanzibar is water conservation conscious - and it's a warm island anyway. We'd be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    99
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
27
115
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Clove really has a great location in Stone Town.
We took a family room $85.00 ,has a balcony always a good thing in Stone Town!
Comfy bed with nice quiet fan.

The open air restaurant in front of the hotel,gives it a huge advantage.Wonderful view of the Harbour from the roof top.Nice to have the option of a cold "Kili" on the roof top.
Everything one needs is a few steps away ...Forex, Antique Shop, Gardens for dinner and the wonderful maze of streets that is Stone town.

Buffet breakfast very nice ,only thing missing was Swahili Spice Tea.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights - the location is great as you can just walk to anywhere in Stone Town from here. The rooms are lovely - fully netted comfortable double bed, ensuite toilet and shower, safe and whb in room. Very clean and staff very helpful. Good buffet breakfast is served on the fabulous roof top terrace, where there is also an 'honesty' bar and WiFi - a lovely place to spend the evening after a day in the hot sunshine.

Room Tip: Rooms are all identical and are laid out over 3 floors. I had one on the reception floor which was c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Good clean rooms, tasteful decorations and a wonderful roof terrace made this a place great stop-over in Stone Town on the way to the East Coast. The hosts are kind, friendly and really helpful, and little touches such as the library and the drinks fridge with its honesty system were appreciated. There is a lovely spice shop just below by the way - run by a kind lady anyway - and you are a walk away from most good things in Stone Town.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a bit of a breeze running through - facing the front of the hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Clove is a very nice place for vivsts to Stonetown, it is placed en the heart of Stonetown and the staff is very nice and helpfull.
The rooftop terrasse is a small oasis in a hectic town.
We plan to come back again!

Room Tip: if possible ask for the rooms facing the scuare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Clove Hotel is located in the heart of Stone Town, allowing for short walks to shops, restaurants, and ferries. The staff is extremely accomodating and willing to make helpful recommendations, as well as arrangements, in regard to your travel. The rooftop is a nice place to relax. Breakfast is standard, with eggs, toast, and fruit. The only downside was that our room was pretty hot, but the air circulation may have been improved if we would have opened our window at night.

Room Tip: I would suggest requesting a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

For an inexpensive hotel in Stone Town this place was wonderful. Lisenka and the staff were very very helpful and friendly, its a great location and the breakfast on the roof was very very good. They were also very good at arranging tours and helping with transportation to the beaches.

Room Tip: We asked for a family room as we didn't want to share a bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clove Hotel

Address: Hurumzistreet | P.O. Box 1117, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Clove Hotel Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.