We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Great Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clove Hotel

Save Saved
You added Clove Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Clove Hotel
Hurumzistreet | P.O. Box 1117, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$50 (USD)
Ranked #5 of 29 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location and Great Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Clove Hotel is located in the heart of Stone Town, allowing for short walks to shops, restaurants, and ferries. The staff is extremely accomodating and willing to make helpful recommendations, as well as arrangements, in regard to your travel. The rooftop is a nice place to relax. Breakfast is standard, with eggs, toast, and fruit. The only downside was that our room was pretty hot, but the air circulation may have been improved if we would have opened our window at night.

Room Tip: I would suggest requesting a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    83
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
24
99
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

For an inexpensive hotel in Stone Town this place was wonderful. Lisenka and the staff were very very helpful and friendly, its a great location and the breakfast on the roof was very very good. They were also very good at arranging tours and helping with transportation to the beaches.

Room Tip: We asked for a family room as we didn't want to share a bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is the perfect Hotel in Stone Towne! A short walk to the ferry, fine restaurants, One Ocean scuba divers or just about anything you might want to do in Stone Towne. The rooms are quant and clean, the staff is very helpful and you will never need a taxi.

But the best part is the roof top terrace with a great view of the harbor. A full breakfast is served on the terrace in the morning, but you will want to linger there in the afternoons or evenings on the comfortable couches and chairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Clove Hotel - I loved it. From the friendly staff to the delicious breakfasts on the roof top terrace. The fresh fruit in Zanzibar is second to none and each morning there was a plentiful supply for breakfast. The Clove is a small hotel in a great location very accessible to all of Stone Town. It was easy to walk around the area to the sea front and boat trips to Prison Island to the plethora of little shops and cafes and restaurants. The roof top terrace proved a real plus both early morning and late evening combined with a very welcome chilled beer watching the light fade at sunset from the comfort of some large couches.

Lisette was really helpful in arranging tours and helping to rearrange flights for me. She also gave me a real insight into Zanzibar.

I would highly recommend the hotel for those with a sense of adventure wishing to see the real Zanzibar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a really nice little hotel which is easy to find just a few minutes walk from the fort (I never needed a taxi back at night). The rooms are a little small but have a big double bed and are clean and functional. They have a fan (no a/c). Lisenka, the hotel manager, will arrange anything for you and she (and all staff) are really helpful. Breakfast is egg the way you like it cooked and a small buffet on the rooftop terrace which overlooks the fort and sea. You can also chill out up here during the day and evening. Overall a really nice experience and a little retreat from the crazy town!

I do recommend having a taxi booked by the hotel to transfer you so that you have knowledge of a reputable driver!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great location - a short taxi ride from the ferry dock. Rooms are rather small but have all you need. Lisenka, Dutch manager, is very friendly and helpful. We were able to communicate with her via email during our Tanzania trip, prior to getting to Zanzibar. She will arrange the city tour, spice tour and your transfer to the beach for you. The rooftop terrace is great and breakfast is quite OK too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Clove Hotel is a small, nice hotel with a good location in Stone Town. The rooms are small but nicely decorated and have all you need. The nice thing of Clove Hotel is the roof terrace with a few tables and some comfortable couches. There is a bar with some drinks and bites; you just take what you want and write it down in a small notebook per room. This 'trust' really makes you feel at home. I loved sitting there at night, with the sea breeze, listening to the sounds of the city, watching the colourful Hindu temple nearby, interrupted by the prayers from the many minarets around. The Dutch manager was very friendly and helpful. However, the other staff wasn't as helpful as she was. One evening we spent 10 minutes knocking the front door of the hotel to be let in, and when the door finally opened, the member of staff was annoyed with us rather than apologising to us. Also, one morning we had arranged for an early breakfast, but we had to go and wake up the sleeping receptionist. But anyway, maybe that was just coincidence. Overall, the hotel was great and I would still recommend it as a great budget option for Stone Town!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clove Hotel

Also Known As:
Clove Hotel Zanzibar/Stone Town
Address: Hurumzistreet | P.O. Box 1117, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Clove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.