We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoying drinks on the roof terrace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clove Hotel

Save Saved
You added Clove Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clove Hotel
Hurumzistreet | P.O. Box 1117, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$50 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 28 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Kampala
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Enjoying drinks on the roof terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Clove Hotel is a small, nice hotel with a good location in Stone Town. The rooms are small but nicely decorated and have all you need. The nice thing of Clove Hotel is the roof terrace with a few tables and some comfortable couches. There is a bar with some drinks and bites; you just take what you want and write it down in a small notebook per room. This 'trust' really makes you feel at home. I loved sitting there at night, with the sea breeze, listening to the sounds of the city, watching the colourful Hindu temple nearby, interrupted by the prayers from the many minarets around. The Dutch manager was very friendly and helpful. However, the other staff wasn't as helpful as she was. One evening we spent 10 minutes knocking the front door of the hotel to be let in, and when the door finally opened, the member of staff was annoyed with us rather than apologising to us. Also, one morning we had arranged for an early breakfast, but we had to go and wake up the sleeping receptionist. But anyway, maybe that was just coincidence. Overall, the hotel was great and I would still recommend it as a great budget option for Stone Town!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    89
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
24
102
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We´ve been there two times now, and we will shurely come again.
with it´s family atmosphere and only 300 meters to the fishmarket
we would recommend that hotel to all stonetown visitors
nice people, great breakfast, comfortable rooms, great view from its rooftop
*****

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Clove Hotel for 2 nights and would've made a reservation for more if we knew we'd love it so much :) The hotel is beautiful and the ladies who run the place are very friendly. The balcony on the roof is great, especially in the evenings when the breeze arrives. We also took the spice tour that was recommended by the hotel and it was GREAT. The prices are more than reasonable, and overall we highly recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A girlfriend and I stayed at this reasonably priced hotel for 3 nights recently. - October 2012. The set up is very secure-everyone entering has to walk up stairs that lead directly to the check-in desk. And there is always at least one person at the desk.Everyone at the Clove Hotel was consistently nice, helpful and fun to talk with. The staff made and took phone calls for us. Gave us advice on where to go, gave us directions showing us maps hung up in the entry area. Set us up with a great taxi (big windowed van) driver for trips across the island and from/to airport. and were happy to offer a place for me to hang-out for a couple hours after I went snorkeling even though I had checked-out earlier that morning.
The double room that we shared had a big Tanzanian bed with a great large mattress so that you never felt the other person move. The room itself was just big enough to handle the two of us and all our stuff - 4 little tables and a little areas to hang things.The bathroom was clean, big, and had a hot water shower. We could easily walk to all the places of interest in Stone Town. The breakfasts, included with room price, offered fresh local fruits, eggs to order, and good bread for toast. But the best feature is the rooftop deck - open 24/7 with views of the ocean, couches, tables. This is where you have breakfast, where you journal, where you meet other guests, and where you have that wind-down beer before bed. The deck also offers a wonderful honor system where, no matter the time of day or night and no matter if you are temporarily out of Tsh or US dollars, there are cold waters, sodas, and beers available for the taking. You just sign your name in a little book and settle up at the end of your stay.
Friends of ours stayed at another hotel - nice place but like some other places in Zanzibar, no alcohol, not even allowed to have wine with dinner. ..and it cost over twice as much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Clove Hotel is located in the center of Stonetown and has an amazing view from the rooftop terrace. On the terrace they serve a really nice breakfast and you can chill during the day on the couches and enjoy a drink if you want or use the wifi. The owner and staff are very nice and helpful and like to chat with you, just to get to know you. We stayed in a family room, not very spacious, but clean, with a ceiling fan, balcony and a nice bathroom.
From the hotel it's easy to walk into the Stonetown center and to the sight seeing spots and it is close to nice restaurants and bars. At night you have some noise from the streets, but nothing to keep you from sleeping. Pricing is good if you look at the other hotels in the area, we payed 100 USD for a room with 4 beds including breakfast. You need to pay cash in dollars or shillings. I would recommend this hotel to other people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed two weeks at this well run small hotel, ideal for the independent traveller; a much better choice than the larger hotels favoured by package holidays. Rooms were nicely decorated and the whole place was kept scrupulously clean by the well trained, pleasant and helpful staff. If you want single occupancy this is available at reasonable rates.The terrace has a sea and rooftop view that rivals nearby expensive hotels and is a delightful spot both to start the day with an excellent breakfast and to relax later. The hotel is in the heart of the old town, where people live and work, so expect some of the hubbub of the streets and courtyards to drift up to your window; it's part of the atmosphere.Lisette and Lisenka are very welcoming and unfailingly helpful with any information and advice you might need. Look no further - this is the place to stay in Stone Town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Préverenges, Suisse
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

After a safari in Ruaha, we spent 2 nights at Clove Hotel in Zanzibar. The place is nicely situated, with a view on the ocean from the rooftop terrace where one can relax in the breeze. There is some noise from the back road, but nothing to prevent you from sleeping. The staff is friendly and helpfull. The beds are confortable, the rooms are equipped with a fan and a mosquito net. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clove Hotel

Address: Hurumzistreet | P.O. Box 1117, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Clove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clove Hotel Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.