We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flamingo Guest House is by far the worst place I ever slept!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Guest House

Flamingo Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamingo Guest House
Save Saved
You added Flamingo Guest House to your Saves list
Mkunazini Road, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 28 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Flamingo Guest House is by far the worst place I ever slept!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Me and my boyfriend didn’t expect a lot cause it was cheap but what we experienced was absolutely horrifying! I woke up in the middle of the night cause a rat was crawling around on me!! Absolutely terrified, I went to the receptionist who couldn’t care less. He just told me that this could not be possible and that we both must have been dreaming. He didn’t want to give us a new room, no apologies, he wasn’t helpful at all! We somehow managed to move the rat out of the room and to fall asleep again. But, and I am absolutely sure that this is because of the rat, we both got very ill that same night...
Besides that the room was very noisy cause there were windows to both sides of the room, which couldn’t be shut, they were just wholes in the wall covered with mosquito nets. Apparently the mosquito nets were not even working: there were plenty of mosquitos in the room and they also got inside of the mosquito nets which covered the beds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here during my time in Zanzibar. Ok, so it's cheap and in a good location but the place was disgusting. There were rats crawling over me and my boyfriend in the middle of the night. They got in through a huge hole in the wall of our room which opened out into the corridor where the staff stood talking loudly during the early hours of the morning. When I informed the staff the next morning of the rats, I was told it was impossible and myself and my boyfriend must have been hallucinating. There was no hot water, the bathroom was covered in human hair and dead flies and the bed felt like it was made of bricks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is a very basic place to stay but if you are looking for a room to stay in a few days it's great. The rooms are v clean, comfortable beds, fans, mozi nets, you can choose ensuite or not (I'd recommend as it's only $15 a night for ensuite incl breakfast). The breakfast is basic but filling... fresh fruit, omlette, plenty of bread... great when it's included in that price! The staff are v laid back and you may have to ask for some loo roll a towel etc but they will bring it. Things could get a little noisy in the evening at weekends. Not for you if you're coming on a luxury holiday but perfect for a budget stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very Cheap. Very Clean. Great Breakfast included. Basic but does the job when travelling around Zaznibar. Stayed here on 3 separate occasions - unless you're looking for bar/restaurant/pool/luxury then I don't see why you would stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

we stayed there 3 nights, its quite resonable for a budget trip, it has room with private shower and without it, simple but enough breakfast, clean room with mosquito network.
I had just a problem with a rude staff because of just 5 min delay in breakfast, which solved with the others apology, immediately!
you can reach any of stonetown attractions by 5-15 min walking and also you can reach the port by 25 min walking or 5 min drive!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

A great budget place to stay at in Stone Town. Basic, clean rooms, friendly staff and good location: 10 min walk from Forodhani Gardens and the old town. Breakfast is simple, but good, served on the rooftop. There's a free safe at the reception to store your valuables. Really liked the staff, there were super friendly and nice. I stayed there the first two nights and then went back twice when travelling around Zanzibar. And would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

It's a budget option, so don't expect much. There's water, there are mosquito nets and fans, the beds are comfy enough and eating your basic breakfast (toasts, jam, eggs, fruit) on the rooftop is a nice start of the day. Don't expect the receptionist to greet you with a smile and show to the most interesting places though:) All in all, I'd recommend the place to all budget travellers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Guest House

Address: Mkunazini Road, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Also Known As:
Flamingo Guest House Hotel Stone Town
Flamingo Guest House Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.