We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget hotel in stonetown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamingo Guest House
Mkunazini Road, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“budget hotel in stonetown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

we stayed there 3 nights, its quite resonable for a budget trip, it has room with private shower and without it, simple but enough breakfast, clean room with mosquito network.
I had just a problem with a rude staff because of just 5 min delay in breakfast, which solved with the others apology, immediately!
you can reach any of stonetown attractions by 5-15 min walking and also you can reach the port by 25 min walking or 5 min drive!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
10
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

A great budget place to stay at in Stone Town. Basic, clean rooms, friendly staff and good location: 10 min walk from Forodhani Gardens and the old town. Breakfast is simple, but good, served on the rooftop. There's a free safe at the reception to store your valuables. Really liked the staff, there were super friendly and nice. I stayed there the first two nights and then went back twice when travelling around Zanzibar. And would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

It's a budget option, so don't expect much. There's water, there are mosquito nets and fans, the beds are comfy enough and eating your basic breakfast (toasts, jam, eggs, fruit) on the rooftop is a nice start of the day. Don't expect the receptionist to greet you with a smile and show to the most interesting places though:) All in all, I'd recommend the place to all budget travellers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakynthos, Greece
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This guest house cost us approximately £7 per night. Breakfast was basic but adequate, lovely cups of tea served with breakfast. Rooms are basic but enough as we were out all day and evening. First impression of the place was miles away from luxury, however, you soon feel safe and at home here, basic but I will return. The staff were helpful and kind.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Perhaps more of a 3.5 rather than 4 rating, but the Flamingo Guest House was exactly what I was looking for during my stay in Stone Town. Cheap enough so that I could spend my money on good eating, trips etc., and clean and comfortable to a level which was satisfactory.

A bonus for me was the breakfast, including fruit, eggs, toast, cofee/ tea and juice. Very filling, and quite generous compared to other budget alternatives.

If you are looking for 'just a place to stay' this is a good alternative.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I know a lot of people who would run screaming on finding out that this place has shared bathrooms which are a small room with toilet and shower combined. In reality they weren't that bad and kept very clean. We at least had a sink in our room.

Flamingo is a budget place so you can't expect too much. There was a new overhead fan, a functional mosquito net but the bed had a footboard which I hate in all hotel rooms. At two metres I'm lucky to fit in an average bed and an inflexible footboard makes this a bigger problem than it should be.

The rooms are comfortable as long as you don't expect sheets to be changed everyday or much cleaning to be done.

Breakfast is great on top of the hotel in the open-air.

Location is good, a ten-minute walk from the port area and on the edges of Stone Town but still in the middle of Zanzibar Town. It's really easy to walk everywhere.

Staff were fairly disinterested but responded when asked questions directly.

We stayed seven days and overall had no complaints. We slept well in a corner room with a cross breeze even though it was the hottest time of the year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We had a room right up on the roof and could walk outside and see the rooftops and church spires. This place has a relaxed and friendly vibe, organises lots of cheap and good quality tours (prison island, spice tours, shuttle bus to beaches) and the location is a real drawcard. It's out of the super touristy area in the real centre of stonetown so you get more local flavour and no massive tourgroups. The shops in our street were cornerstores rather than tourist shops bursting with gimmicks. Nevertheless, it's close enough to walk to pretty much all of the attractions in stonetown so very convenient. It's nearby the Anglican cathedral which is a must - see. Our room was teensy but very clean and others were bigger. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flamingo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Guest House

Also Known As:
Flamingo Guest House Hotel Stone Town
Flamingo Guest House Hotel
Flamingo Guest House Zanzibar/Stone Town
Address: Mkunazini Road, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Flamingo Guest House to your Saves list