We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for souveniers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memories of Zanzibar

Memories of Zanzibar
Kenyata Road | Opposite Post Office, Shangani, Stone Town, Tanzania
+(255)24 2239376
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Shopping in Stone Town
Type: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The biggest souvenir store in Zanzibar, Memories of Zanzibar offers the most extensive selection of quality items all under one roof, at reasonable prices. Situated within walking distance of major Stone Town hotels such as Serena, Tembo, Dhow Palace and upcoming Hilton, you can count on a pleasant shopping atmosphere and service with a smile.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good place for souveniers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Our tour guide took us to Memories Curio Shop in Stone Town We found their prices to be the best in town and there was a wide range of stock

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Take time off haggling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stumbled across Memories of Zanzibar and went in having seen it advertised in a couple of leaflets. The price and quality of the wide range of goods is outstanding. We bought a range of goods at variou prices. We still bought souveneirs from the market traders as well, but as we are not good at haggling we probably got the best price here as well! Even if you don't want to buy here its a good place to compare prices. The staff were very friendly and helpful as well.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Deals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This store in Stone Town has everything you are looking for in souvenirs without having to haggle and the prices are great. We did buy some souvenirs from the vendors but realized that the price at Memories was a lot less than what we paid

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Everything you want”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

You can find everything you want or you don't want...It is heaven of shopping. You can buy not only gifts for your friends but also a lot of things for yourself. We visited Memories twice when we were in Zanzibar and bought a lot of things. But I couldn't give them to my friends because my mother liked them too much and took them:)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Souvenir heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The best bargains are not always found in markets and laneways. This store is large, clean, air conditioned and well stocked. There are 2-storeys of all things African. The range of goods was fantastic and the prices very reasonable. The staff were very helpful and unobtrusive. We purchased lots of quality African items, ready to take home with wonderful memories of our African trip.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memories of Zanzibar also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar
Zanzibar, Zanzibar Archipelago
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar
Stone Town, Zanzibar
 

Been to Memories of Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memories of Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.