We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST VISIT IN ZANZIBAR” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar

6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar
Plot 60, Waterfront, Shangani St, Stone Town, Tanzania
+255 779 666 050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 58 Restaurants in Stone Town
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill, Fusion, Wine Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“MUST VISIT IN ZANZIBAR”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Had the pleasure of lunching here on the 12th April 2014, and was very impressed with the food and service.

Extensive menu , with well presented dishes.
Ordered the lobster and was not at all disappointed.

But, far too many flies.
Management, please do something about this.You have such a beautiful restaurant, so , why spoil the dining experience?

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Good day to you. It was a pleasure having you at our restaurant for lunch and am glad that you could appreciate the good food and service.
As per flies: before the day you arrived, we had a week with huge amounts of rain. Being on the Tropical Island of Zanzibar, what this does is brings out a lot of insects (flies, mosquitoes etc.). It is unfortunate that this affected your experience here sitting outside where I plan on implementing whatever I can to control this aspect to our island living experience.
I am sure you will notice this difference upon your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    72
    21
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stone Town, Tanzania
1 review
“My favorite spot in Stonetown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I live in Jambiani since 2013 and everytime i visit Stonetown, twice a week i eat at 6 Degrees. Food is great always, service could improve a bit. Sometimes they give me a wet tissue and sometimes not upon arrivel. Atmosphere and wiev is superb. Only thing I miss is takeaway possibilities for food & drink. Lars

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you Lars for your continued support. We do have take-away containers for those that want- you can ask the next time you are here.
Service is one of my major priorities and constantly strive to improve it- with your local experience it would be appreciated to note this getting better and look forward to you doing so.
Always look forward to your returned visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great view, nice atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

A nice relaxing western-style restaurant. Probably not the place if you are looking for an authentic Tanzanian experience, but a nice restaurant and bar with good food, wine and drinks, and reasonable prices.

The rooftop bar has a beautiful view of the beach and sunset.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We are a restaurant that caters for those seeking the best food in Stone Town, with an amazing wine, cocktail and spirit selection where we are glad that you chose to appreciate that here.
We have a local menu attached to our menu for those looking for an authentic experience where we are looking to extend that due to its popularity.
Looking forward to your returned visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varsity Lakes, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice setting, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Love their menu as well as their selection of drinks. For such a nice looking place the prices are actually very reasonable! Love the peri peri chicken as well as THE Burger ;-) The GMs Justin and Dane are trying really hard in getting this place off the ground.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
THE Burger and the Peri-Peri Chicken is also amongst my favourites! I am glad you were able to enjoy these from the many other delicious menu options and drinks selection. Justin and myself are always hard at work to get this new establishment to the level of consistency that will see this as one of the best restaurants on the island, and see that as a very short term goal. Thank you for your comments and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bicester
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Smart venue with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This is definitely a more 'western' style restaurant with nice furniture on a lovely terrace; definitely a cut above other Stone Town restaurants in terms of style.
Menu is largely continental but with a few local dishes: we try to resist eating international food in exotics locations so chose the local dishes. Both were very good.
Service was absolutely impeccable: a young waiter looked after us extremely attentively; after our meal we bought one of their t-shirts and the security guard carefully folded it and put it in a plastic bag!
Lovely views from the terrace and a great place for lunch; they have fans circulating cool spray which is nice but they are a bit noisy and nearly drowned out the singer/guitarist!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Good day.
Thank you for commenting on out TripAdvisor page- as you experienced we offer a unique experience here in Stone Town where we pay attention to the finer details. We are releasing a new menu in June where we will have a lot more focus on local cuisine as the options we have are a great success. We look forward to you coming and trying what we will have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.