We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, charming but just a little bit noisy...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malindi Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Malindi Guest House to your Saves list
Malindi Guest House
Funguni Road | Near to Ferry Docks, Stone Town 609, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, charming but just a little bit noisy...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Malindi GH is a beautiful old merchants house with more charm than you can shake a stick at... timber beams, little courtyards and extremely tastefully decorated. The only downside is the location - it is right next to the fish market, which seems to start right after morning prayers just before sunrise. The windows are really just slotted pieces of glass and don't offer the rooms any sound proofing at all. We tried to persevere but in the end tiredness drove us to another hotel - such a shame.

On the plus side the fish market is very interesting and a must see are the fisherman tenderising the freshly caught octopus. All the guide books warn about this area at night but we never had any issues at all and felt perfectly safe. We did avoid the street on the portside as a precaution however.

Another highlight of our stay was the Thai restaurant atop of Malindi GH. It is run by a lovely Thai woman and her Italian husband. The food was fantastic and 100% authentic. Around the balcony, lots of Thai herbs were growing in little pots - another good sign of the quality of the food and the need for nothing but the freshest ingredients. Breakfast was also served on the balcony, although no where near as remarkable as the Thai menu - usual fresh fruit and bread with a little bit of jam.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
10
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

I stayed here with my 7 year old daughter and the staff really took us under their wings - especially the owners -Tausi and her husband . We felt like we were staying with family! The guesthouse is a charming little place, full of interest and character. The views of the fishing port from the open air, rooftop restaurant will keep you amused for hours and it's a great opportunity to take sneaky photos of local life!

First impressions of the area, if im honest, werent good. It seemed rundown and the fishing port smelt terrible as the cab drove through it. However, we never noticed the smell once in the guesthouse and the area? Well, you soon get used to it. On the door of Malindi, it warns guests not to walk left to the fishing port at night. I actually wasn't keen on walking RIGHT either as you have to walk down a little alleyway to get to the main road (which will take you to Stone Town within 10 minutes of walking). I called this alley 'Hey Baby Alley' as this was the greeting I used to get from some of the locals lazing around on the sitting walls down there. However, they didn't appear to mean anything malicious by it and although imtimidating at first, I walked down the alley everyday at least once a day with my child and never found myself feeling like I was in danger. Everyone was actually really friendly and helpful if you responded to their greetings (even 'Hey Baby' with a smile and a 'Poa!' and remember I was young female on my own. I'm sure with a man, I'd feel 100% safe. Anyway, if anyone really finds the area too claustrophobic, just get a $5 cab to run you in and out of the area to the busy places of Stone Town!

All in all, great place, good food, amazing staff and service. If you go on a tour ask for Achmad (or Hamada as he's also known) Great kid who'll provide an amazing tour with a really personal touch! The area is fine once you get used to it.

*Tip - The fishing port can get a bit noisy at night so take earplugs if you want an early night or have kids with you who go to bed early.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We happened upon Malindi in the lonely planet, gave them a call and booked a room before arriving in Zanzibar. It's a little hard to find, but once you find the Ciné Afrique you're pretty much there.

The staff were lovely to us from the moment we checked in. A lovely young Maasai woman worked at the reception and was really helpful to us when we were looking for receptions, to book a spice tour and somewhere to go for dinner (Mercury's is just up the road - great fun for the night and good food).

The room itself was a twin room with shared bathrooms on the floor. The showers were also shared and I found that one worked, one didn't... but there was plenty of hot water and all in all that was an acceptable experience. The mosquito nets were free of holes, there was a functional miniature cooler, plugs and A/C (although that was a little noisy) and I found a copy of Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy in the drawer, left by a previous guest with a note! (I replaced the book on my return from Nungwi to Stone Town a week later).

The only negative I can think of was the area... it's a quiet enough walk from the main night attractions back to the hotel and I'm not sure how comfortable I'd have been walking alone.

Mr Mitu's Spice Tours office is directly across the alley from Malindi. Across the street, the main ferry companies have their offices so this was really handy too. The hotel organised our spice tour for us through Mr Mitu and he even organised for us to go directly from the Spice Tour to Nungwi, without returning to Stone Town for our bags, so that was great! He had a taxi meet us after the tour and bring us north, for a very reasonable rate.

Breakfast was included and edible! Consisted of bread, egg and excellent coffee.

When we returned to Stone Town before leaving Zanzibar the next day, we didn't look for another hotel - just went straight to Malindi. That says a lot I think.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

an average price B&B hotel, we were actually amazed at the ambience and decor, we thought less and got more....the rooftop view of the India Ocean is breathtaking and the breakfast was delicious. amust stay place....reasonable, clean and vey hospitable

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

The Malindi guest house truly is a great place to stay as it has a really good atmosphere, friendly staff, clean rooms and a great rooftop terrace.

The hotel is based in beautiful old traditional Zanzibar house, together with the decoration you really get that Zanzibar vibe here. The location and food are really good so you will really enjoy this place!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

spent three nights here

for $30/night, got a nice, clean room with A/C, net, fan, and private bathroom + a very nice daily breakfast (tea, fruit, toast, eggs, juice) at their rooftop deck

I think they also have non-A/C rooms available for less

the location is not perfect, but it is very close to the ferry which is nice. and maybe 10-12 minutes or so to walk over to Forodhani Gardens/Kenyatta Street/etc. on the downside, if the wind is blowing the wrong way, you get a pretty good whiff of the fish market

at first, the walk along the dirt roads/alleys towards the center of Stone Town (the hotel-recommended route that does NOT go by the port) looks a bit dodgy at first, but then you realize there are plenty of local women and children around... I always felt perfectly safe during the walk once I was accustomed to how it looked

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

Spent three nights in total. Location not the best but we had no problems walking home at night. First two nights in really nice room, two double beds with nets and good sized bathroom, all very clean. Last night in down stairs room not near as nice but having checked 2/3 other places in stonetown around same price this is best value for money. We arrived after dark the first night and would have been lost without tout, who were trying to get rid off, showing us exactly where it was. Plus first night we thought they had evening meals, they dont, they just give breakfast.
Went to dohw palace, reviewed elsewhere, to change money as it too late for other places, it looked lovely but was more than we want to pay.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malindi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malindi Guest House

Address: Funguni Road | Near to Ferry Docks, Stone Town 609, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1976, Malindi Guest House Stone Town Zanzibar Tanzania is among the oldest Guest Houses in Zanzibar. It is located so close to Zanzibar Port (off Malindi Street) that you can walk comfortable to the famous,Guest House ratedby most authentic travel guide books as 'the best Guest House in Zanzibar'. As it is within Stone Town, staying at the Malindi Guest House get you a real feel of the Zanzibar life. Very ideal for the Budget Traveller .Rooms are quite spacious and very well furnished, self contained with ceiling fan and AC. There is a lot of tradition Zanzibar furniture and artifacts to enhance the guest feeling of their historic presence in Zanzibar.Malindi guest house is the best , clean and cheap in Stone Town and so near to shopping and forodhani park .Our rate is for bed and breakfast we serve breakfast at the top roof restaurant with good view while enjoy your breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Malindi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malindi Guest House Hotel Stone Town
Malindi Guest House Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malindi Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.