We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite place for sunset drinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terrace Restaurant at Maru Maru

Terrace Restaurant at Maru Maru
Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Tanzania
(0)24 223 8516
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 63 Restaurants in Stone Town
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Favourite place for sunset drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The rooftop terrace has a nice view and lovely breeze. Perfect place to cool down while having a happy hour drink and view the sunset. Had dinner only once, and wouldn't eat here again (food was nothing special), but always stop here for sundowners when in Stone Town.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    35
    19
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I only went for drinks and got great service during the Happy Hour the first time I visited. The lively music was very pleasant and created a nice atmosphere, without being too loud or intrusive.

My second visit was again just for drinks on the beautiful rooftop terrace around sunset, however, service was not quite so good second time around, unfortunately.

Overall, great value for money at Happy Hour prices, and a fabulous view from the rooftop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar, Tanzania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Where the spices of Zanzibar comes Alive! ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I had chosen the Indian menu. The food was very good, the chef is either Indian or He is not scared to experiment and explore the variety of fresh spices in the food.. I could very much taste and see them. Which i goood! Apart from that the the view is beautiful and the decor are thought throughly.

Things they need to improve is to keep an eye on the ambience and service, it felt like there was no restaurant supervisor, someone needs to keep an eye on the waiters, communication should not include loud talking to each otherover guests voice, keep an eye on adding a personal feeling to the guest, receiving them, bring them to table explain the delicious indian dishes. Talking about ambience, music was loud!!! Especial with that view, i would suggest a chilled and relax playlist just instruments... Its very important that it doesn't sound like a disco!

Overall the place was beautiful and the food was delightful... Will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Chicken Tikka ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A great spot for a sunset refreshment, cosy rustic location, very friendly staff and some fantastic Indian food.......it does not get much better than this with one exception. Perhaps if the restaurant was named "Snails" then you would expect slow service......it was very slow. The problem appeared to be too few staff to handle the capacity. Very popular spot, try it and you will see why. The red snapper tandoori was also delicious. Great spot to chill if you want a long affair.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for cocktails and sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We went to this place twice for cocktails and once for dinner. It's a great place to watch sunset from and they have some good cocktails which are cheap in happy hour (5000 tsh for a decent margarita). We stayed on one evening g for dinner, they have an international and Indian menu. We had tandoor and although nice wasn't the best, and my snapper wasn't the freshest I had tasted whilst in Zanzibar. I would recommend going for cocktails and sunset and then moving elsewhere for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrace Restaurant at Maru Maru also viewed

 

Been to Terrace Restaurant at Maru Maru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrace Restaurant at Maru Maru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.