We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrated our special occasion at fabulous Bistro!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Spot Bistro

Hot Spot Bistro
Shangani Street | Kenyatta Road, Zanzibar, Stone Town, Tanzania
+255 774164866
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 58 Restaurants in Stone Town
Price range: $2 - $25
Cuisines: Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Celebrated our special occasion at fabulous Bistro!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We will eat here again! My wife and I enjoyed an early dinner on a special occasion. We enjoyed the meal and the excellent service and felt it lived up to and complimented the occasion.
The food was very good and the wait staffs are prompt and friendly, and do their best to make you feel welcome and comfortable. I highly recommend Hot Spot!!!, if anyone planning to visit the Stone Town

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Handy location plus free wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

It's a mix of many things in one-a gift shop, cafe, restaurant, take out/ice drink palour, and lounge. They do not serve alcohol here but do have T.V.s. So, it has a bit of an odd disjointed feeling to it. But, the location is very handy if you need a break between shopping. They serve some nice iced drinks and snack food (calamari was delicous) and the service was really good. Prices were reasonable.Plus you can use their wifi to figure out what you want to do next.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious coffee & good wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great spot for a coffee and free wi fi available. Right nextdoor to some good shopping spots and across the road from where Freddie Mercury was born.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sochi, Russia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect at Bistro!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Wow! What a spread! (Sunday Brunch) You can treat yourself to breakfast fare or enjoy the wonderful lunch selections like we did. I am normally not a fan of cheeseburgers but this is exceptional. The variety was great and the staff made sure that everything was filled and fresh. from check in to check out, the staff is fantastic. Loved the rock lobster! Can't say enough about the desserts. The tiramisu peach cobbler was out of this world! Kudos to the staff who managed and the stewards who served our table. We will definitely vacation here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“simply excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

went for dinner 3 times on my 8 day trip to Zanzibar with my partner. The food is tasty, the portions are good, the service very friendly and professional although a little on the slow side, prices were good and the music really nice and atmospheric.
The free wi-fi is a plus together with the great gift shop on the ground floor of the restaurant.
Liked the fresh pizzas, the burger and the really tasty vegetarian "curried vegetables" served in a coconut with rice on the side.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Spot Bistro also viewed

 
Stone Town, Zanzibar
Stone Town, Zanzibar
 

Been to Hot Spot Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Spot Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.