We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abyssinian Maritim Ethiopian Traditional Restaurant

Abyssinian Maritim Ethiopian Traditional Restaurant
Vuga Round about, Next to High Court, Stone Town 1682, Tanzania
+255 772 940 556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 58 Restaurants in Stone Town
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I really enjoyed my dining experience here and it stands out as one of my favourite Zanzibar memories.

First of all, the restaurant decor and setting are just lovely. There is a wonderful outdoor terrace with flowers and plants. The indoor section is decorated in typical Ethiopian style. Very warm and inviting! The place is also very clean.

The food was really good. I had never tried Ethiopian cuisine before, so I took advantage of this opportunity. Everything tasted fresh and flavourful. I enjoyed it all and wish I could have eaten more :) At first, I thought the portions were somewhat small, but it was surprisingly filling. The price is reasonable. I would not call it cheap, but certainly not what I would call expensive.

The service was excellent! The young men working there could not have been more attentive or kind. And the lady who owns the place is very warm and engaging; you can tell that the restaurant is a labour of love to her native land.

Overall, I really liked it here and highly recommend trying it. It made me want to discover more about Ethiopia - and to try more of their cuisine! A very worthy choice while in Zanzibar.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    28
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ethiopian experience to be shared”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had only lunch at Abyssinian. But that was an excellent experience. Delicious food. Very nice staff, A little outside the touristic streets of Stone town, but that is only a good thing. Worth taking those extra steps south of Africa House.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have tried many restaurants during my stay in Zanzibar and Abyssinian Maritim is without question the best dining experience I've had. The food is wonderful and there is a very extensive selection of delights for non-vegetarians and vegetarians alike. The traditional Ethiopian "spri" (fruit smoothie) is divine. The dining area is ethereal and beautiful - sitting under a canopy of flowering vines and with a background of traditional Ethiopian music - the atmosphere of the place is simply wonderful. But best of all were the staff, who were super attentive and accommodating when we wanted to change around the set menu, and when we were the last in the restaurant they didn't push us to get out like so many other businesses in Stone Town. The service is complete with hot towels and friendly smiles and the owner came by to make sure we were satisfied - and even expressed concern that we hadn't eaten enough (we were stuffed!)!. We couldn't have been more pleased - a wonderful meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delightful Surprise!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great service and a wonderfully prepared and presented meal. This restaurant is managed professionally but with a friendly touch. It was fun eating with our hands and the quality of the food and coffee thereafter was a bonus.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Ambiance & Good Ethiopian Food. Slightly overpriced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Having lived in Ethiopia for a year I was a little sceptical but the food was good (if a little small). The staff were a bit slow but the ambiance was very relaxed, good for an intimate meal. A pleasant evening meal.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abyssinian Maritim Ethiopian Traditional Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Abyssinian Maritim Ethiopian Traditional Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abyssinian Maritim Ethiopian Traditional Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.