We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maru Maru Hotel

Save Saved
You added Maru Maru Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maru Maru Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   397-400 Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 hotels in Stone Town
Qandahar, Kandahar, Afghanistan
1 review
“Perfect Location for Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Maru Maru Hotel the place to take a vacation. Located at the heart of Old town is suitable for all kind of travellers; leisure or business. Maru maru hotel is a walking distance from the sea and inviting beaches. The menu's are very flexible accomodating evry type of diet. The staff exonorate the highest level of hospitality so inviting creating that home environment feeling wanted and valued. Room rates are pocket friendly allowing one to come along with friends and family.

The uniqueness of this coastal stone hotel is the fact that the architectual designers of the hotel manage to coin an elevator within the hotel; making the only hotel with elevator in the area. When u come out of the ferry terminal u can as well walk to the hotel some 5five minutes probably.

Other neighbourhood structures make this hotel ideal to ALL. Among other recognized structures include Old Fort, he House of Wonders, The Sultan's Palace, Forodhani just to mention but a few. If there is a place I have been for holiday and I will go back again sooner then that will be Maru Maru. If you were reading this then I will recommend you start making your reservations early...Aksante Mara Mara Hotel family- see you soon-again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    75
    21
    13
    17
See reviews for
45
82
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kabul, Afghanistan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hotel room is good with friendly staff hotels location is good,i will with no doubt or second thought visit and stay in this hotel again and again.I will for sure recommend this hotel to my friends who will be visiting sometimes in Dec 2013.Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is located at the centre of the stonetown. This was ideal for me cause i was on a work trip carrying out job on some inspection jobs on a ship at the anchorage. After working hard the whole day would go back to Maru Maru and have a good rest. the hotel is so clean and well decorated. The price is quite good. Was there for a few days and i enjoyed my stay very much!!

Room Tip: On higher floor you can have a bird view of the stone town
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

hotel is nice rooms nice and clean. menu same every day best to go eat near by a few restaurants Silk Route two mins away good food very resnabley priced.lots of shops around all walking distance dont have to take cab any were airport get a cab locally its a lot cheper than hotel transport.

Room Tip: its a small hotel so all rooms are same
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Friendly accommodating staff, we came in late from a flight and the chef kept the kitchen open to accommodate us.The room was cool, ac welcome, clean , charming, with high ceilings. Great location for a good price.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Maru Maru Hotel might be the best value among hotels in Zanzibar. It is located perfectly in the heart of Stone Town, 5 minutes walk from the ferry terminal and literally adjacent to the Old Fort, the House of Wonders, the Sultan's Palace and Forodhani.

Our pleasant experience with the hotel began before we even arrived, with an email from the General Manager a few weeks before we arrived and then a phone call from the property a few days prior to arrival to check if we needed an airport pickup (we arrived by ferry, so did not need to avail of this).

At the property, we were welcomed at the entrance with an ice-cold towel and a glass of cold fresh juice, a perfect respite from the afternoon sun. The lobby is very well appointed and all the staff take great pride in their property and their town, always looking to share a story or tip or other information. They are the biggest asset of the hotel. The property is also beautifully landscaped with lovely lighting in the inner and outer courtyards. The attention to detail manifests itself very well.

The rooms are quite comfortable and feature large comfy beds, effective air-conditioning, TV with satellite channels and complimentary wifi. Bathrooms are also clean and the toiletries are of good quality.

We also received coupons valid for a free cocktail at the rooftop restaurant which offers stunning views of Stonetown and the waterfront. We had dinner there too and enjoyed decent food with a live band. The hotel offers a range of tourist excursions too and we booked the Spice Farm Tour. It was well organised with an excellent quality vehicle and guides.

Overall, this property was an extremely pleasant surprise and undoubtedly one that I will recommend to any friends who are considering a trip to Zanzibar.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors may be disturbed by the live band on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillestrom, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in february and we loved it! it's probably the most central hotel you can get in Stone Town, set just behind the fort. We had a pickup at the airport and the driver met us with a big smile and cooling wipes. When we arrived at the hotel the receptionarea was lighta and spacious and the staff was friendly.
We got our room and it was really nice. White walls, 2 big delicious queensize beds with mosquitonet, aircon, tv, phone, fridge and tiled bathroom. It was cleaned everyday and every evening they made the beds and dimmed the lights. And the beds was amazing!! We didnt want to get up!
The rooftop has a great view and it's highly recommended taking a drink or two before dinner to watch the sunset. We had breakfast and dinner there everyday, but the breakfast is nothing special. very small choice of food, and for dinner it's almost just indian food and not a lot of options. The taste is ok, but maybe find a restaurant nearby the hotel instead..
The only thing we missed was a pool, but the staff helped us book a driver that took us to Paje for a day. Ask them for advice.
Plus for free wi-fi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maru Maru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maru Maru Hotel

Address: 397-400 Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maru Maru Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
maru maru set in the heart of stone town, just a few steps from the old fort, the house of wonders and the best shopping on the island, maru maru with 44 rooms offers walking access to all the sites of stone town. All island activities can be easily done as day trips from the hotel. maru maru is a boutique international standard hotel. You will notice the love and care that has gone into every detail. We provide top service, delicious food and cool drinks in a stylish, sophisticated environment – all at an affordable price. There is a classic wing from the days of the sultans, a new wing with a taste of the modern, a tranquil fountain courtyard with an accompanying restaurant, a roof top terrace with 360ª views from our restaurant & lounge.The Uniqueness of the Hotel:• Superbly located near the confluence of Indian Ocean and in the heart of Stone town.• Walking distance from the hotel to the clean and beautiful heritage sites in Stone town.• Varied choice in dining experiences from the all day dining, Bar Lounge or just relax and enjoy In room dining. • The only place for south Indian cuisine.• The only Hotel with 360˚ view of stone town.• Meetings and Conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Maru Maru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maru Maru Hotel Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maru Maru Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.