We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Amazing Holiday”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Spice Tour

Zanzibar Spice Tour
Stone Town, Tanzania
01227 753 180
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 16 Activities in Stone Town
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
1 review
““Amazing Holiday””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I just spent 10 days touring national parks and conservation areas in northern Tanzania with hartebeest safaris. What a spectacular part of the world! The Ngorongoro Crater and the Serengeti are extraordinary places. We saw more wildlife than one could possibly imagine. hartebeest safaris was a great vendor. The vehicle was first-rate, we felt safe at all times and we enjoyed every minute. The crater environment is gorgeous, even during drought periods, due to year-round springs. and we enjoyed in Island of Zanzibar it was great holiday don't miss it so visit hartebeestsafaris.com for information

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    86
    34
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and fun tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We visited this during a week in Zanzibar and I have to say it was very enjoyable. We had 2 guides showing us around, the main guide showing us the spices and the second gathering and making us woven things out of leaves. There was also fruit to be ate and coconut (gathered by a singing tree climber). Very enjoyable.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Interesting but I don't recommend Gladiator tours”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The tour itself was really interesting but my issues were more around it's arrangement.

Firstly we were sold a 4 hour tour by Gladiator tours in Stone Town (avoid them) but got back well within 3 hours with no apparant explanation.

Secondly we assumed the 4 hour tour included lunch as all the ones we had read about with that time frame and for that price did. I know we should have checked what was included but that it wasn't included made us feel ripped off.

Thirdly we felt obliged to tip is 4 different people - the guide and also the man who climbed the coconut tree and 2 who made the bags, crowns and jewelry out of the leaves. Yes the things made out of leaves were clever but we didn't want them and just discarded them when we got back so it.

I would much rather turn up the plantation and go on a tour paid for with money that goes to those who work there rather than some tour operator in Stone Town.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
895 reviews 895 reviews
600 attraction reviews
Reviews in 196 cities Reviews in 196 cities
632 helpful votes 632 helpful votes
“Half Day Tour That is Informative and Happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This half day tour is fun for the family and educational about spices. The area is a collective and it depends on the guides you get and how entertaining they can be.

Our guide was very informative about all the kinds of spices, where they originated, who brought them, what they are used for in cooking and medicine, and typical life of the plant. Our guide was playful and fun and the spice farm was an open museum of nature. Everything he came across he explained and fielded any questions. Sample tastes occur throughout the walk.

Afterward there is a place to buy samples of the spices, oils, and soaps made from the spices. Tips are used for payment to the guides. There is no admission fee.

Toilets are located on premises.

Bring sunscreen, bug repellant, camera, water, and closed shoes.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Don't bother with the slave cave and swimming extension”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I don't know the name of the operation we booked with -- we negotiated a price on a group tour with one of the street touts. However, from what I've read and heard all of the Spice tours seem to be laid out the same. The walk through the spice farm, smelling and tasting the various spices and fruits was fun and interesting. We enjoyed the offerings of bracelets, neckties etc. made for us by the guides, but be prepared to be pressured pretty aggressively for a tip. I had expected a little more about processing and harvesting spices, but there was none. We found the spices for sale to be the standard packaged spices you find anywhere in Zanzibar and we didn't buy any. We waited quite a while for lunch but once it was served it was quite good with many local spices used in the rice pilau.
Our tour had the option of ending after lunch or going on to a slave cave and swimming. Since the price was the same for either we opted for the extension. This turned out to be a mistake. The slave cave was interesting, but nothing special. The beach they took us to was terrible -- it was next to a fishing port and smelled terribly of dead fish. The only shade available was among the rocks and there were piles of feces behind most of the rocks. The water was full of seaweed with only a small strip of clear water. We didn't swim, although the rest of our group did. The tide was fairly low. The experience may have been better at high tide but it was definitely not worth the extra hours in the heat.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zanzibar Spice Tour also viewed

Zanzibar, Zanzibar Archipelago
 

Been to Zanzibar Spice Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Spice Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.