We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zanzibar 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Spices

Save Saved
You added House of Spices to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House of Spices
Kiponda Street, Stone Town 1912, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Mfuwe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Zanzibar 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have to admit, I was not sure whether I would enjoy Stonetown, but it really was a wonderful adventure. House of Spice was the perfect place to stay. Right in the heart of Stonetown, the attention to detail of the management here make the hotel a very special place. Absolutely everything is perfectly done, from the comfort of the rooms, the decor and excellant food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Diani Beach, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

When visiting Zanzibar stay in Stonetown in the middle of the winding streets and do your beach hotels on the other side of the island. Staying at the beach in Stonetown is a shame, in the middle of the small streets is much more fun and old houses like House of Spices is beautifully decorated and gives you the real Zanzibar feeling. We had the Chilli room which is beautiful and spacious and (after a little bit of bargaining) really fair priced. We run a hotel ourselves in Kenya and this hotel is really good, the only thing is that some of the staff are not as friendly and welcoming as most on Zanzibar but they are only a few of the staff working there.
The restaurant on the roof top gives you really good and home made food for a nice price and their bar is also really good. Definitely worth staying!

Room Tip: We stayed in spacious Chilli which has a bedroom, separate 'lounge' area and nice bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at the House of Spices in Zanzibar and I loved it. It was an extremely good choice! The location is perfect, in the middle of Stone Town and close to the local food market. You can experience the labyrinth of small streets and sounds, smells, and colors of daily life in Zanzibar, when you leave the House of Spices. Nevertheless, when you are inside the B&B, it is peaceful and you can enjoy the beautiful bar on the terrace and amazing fusion food at the restaurant on another terrace. If you like pizza, there is even an oven where they bake real Italian pizza... the best in Zanzibar.

The rooms are very elegant and furnished with taste ... African and Moroccan style with lively colors. They have all the comforts, even beautiful silk sleepers and nightgowns for all the guests. Everything is very clean and it shows a strong attention to detail.

On the first floor there is a picturesque and beautiful spice shop and a tea room where you can taste different kinds of tea and delicious pastries on a sunny afternoon.

The owners, Anna and Cesare, are extremely nice and welcoming! They make you feel at home and can help you even organize tours of the city and fieldtrips everywhere around Zanzibar, starting from the interesting "Spice Tour".

The House of Spices and the people that work there are an important element to enjoy ZanzIbar to the fullest and create in you the wish to stay in Zanzibar longer than expected.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great place! It has a romantic feel, a lovely authentic decoration, and is situed in a good location. Staff is not always available when you need it, but always very friendly. Food also good (there is a roof top restaurant), and the accommodation are reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Chili room is small but is set up as a small apartment which is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night and really enjoyed it. The hotel is right in the middle of Stone Town and you can’t drive to the door because the streets are too narrow. The taxi driver helped carry the luggage. We arrived from an early flight and had breakfast before our room was ready. The room was nice and clean. The shower worked ok. The décor was traditional which gave the room an authentic feel and we really liked this. The breakfast was excellent with lovely fresh fruit and cakes. We had omelet’s as well. Occasionally the electricity and water would not work for a short time, but this was not a problem and it often happens in Tanzania. The hotel was good value for money and a good alternative too a bigger, standard hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Over the course of our stay we ate two meals at other hotels - Emerson Spice and The Swahili House - both were a lot brighter and seemingly cleaner than the House of Spices, where our room was adequate. The carved bed was really cool and the A/C worked (thankfully - it was ungodly hot in Stone Town - I was left wishing for a pool), but the bathroom was a little rough and the water in it not very reliable (which can be very inconvenient when you're lathered up and the water shuts off). Our friends traveling with us had large roaches in their room, but I would imagine those are pretty prevalent in such an old and dilapidated place as Stone Town.

The owner was warm and the little shop in the entry had good prices on cutely-packaged spices, which make great souvenirs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House of Spices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Spices

Address: Kiponda Street, Stone Town 1912, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your House of Spices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Spices Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Spices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.