We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for half a day to a full day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Town, Zanzibar

Stone Town, Zanzibar
| Zanzibar, Stone Town, Tanzania
254720650869
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Stone Town, Zanzibar like an insider
$37*
and up
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in Stone Town
Attraction details
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice for half a day to a full day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stone Town is an interesting African city. It is a maze of narrow streets with a very small portion of it being designed around tourists.

I would recommend 1 day maximum here.

You can shop here, take pictures of the coastline, some old buildings, as well as take boat rides to local islands (such as Prison Island which is well worth while)

Other than that you will probably be bored of Stone Town within a couple of hours.

It felt safe during the day but I would not want to walk here at night. The streets are very narrow and it would be easy for someone to hide in a corner to rob you. We were also there after 2 foreign women were attacked with acid thrown in their faces so there are crime issues against tourists than need to be contended with.

Overall this is not a must see city but if you are in Zanzibar it is still worth the effort to visit for at least a couple of hours.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    619
    286
    93
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Use a guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Slave memorial was haunting and the statue touched me deeply. Maru Maru rooftop restaurant was awesome, cheap with great views and cosmopolitan feel. Guides are cheap and make all the difference. We would have missed most of the attractions without out guide, Martin

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Old World of Arabia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stonetown is full of old, dilapidated buildings, interesting, crooked alleyways, little shops and restaurants around every corner. It is a must see for every visit to Zanzibar! Getting "lost" in the maze of alleyways will always be a highlight! The people are friendly and helpful and very willing to guide a lost visitor back to the main roads - for a fee!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Although interesting compared to where we were staying it was very hot and hectic! Maybe September was a busy month but we felt the town was over crowded.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axbridge
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Interesting Old Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Despite recent bad press we felt very safe wandering around this interesting old town. The first day we had a guide, I think a good idea if you want to see the main sights as it is so easy to get lost. On our last day in Zanzibar we just strolled around getting lost, admiring the iconic old doors and great architecture, watching the men lazing round playing Bao and drinking coconut milk while the women sweep the streets! The market is a must, especially the fish auction which seems to be ongoing as the boats are continually arriving with their catch.There are plenty of coffee shops and restaurants for when the heat gets too much.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Town, Zanzibar also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar
Zanzibar, Zanzibar Archipelago
 

Been to Stone Town, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Town, Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.