We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unfriendly and unhelpful staff!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Manch Lodge, Vuga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manch Lodge, Vuga
Vuga, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Logatec, Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very unfriendly and unhelpful staff!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Manch Lodge has a nice location but thats it. We had a double room with sharing bathroom and air conditioner. In our room there were only 2 beds and no wardrobe or any other furniture. Sheets on the bed were dirty and also the bathroom was not frequently cleaned. But the worse thing in the hotel was stuff. In their e-mail, there was written: "We will pick you up from the port at 2 30pm on the 17th." But they didn't. We were waiting for a quite a long time but there was nobody. When we finally arrived in the hotel they said (with very calm and peacful voice...) their car broke down- you can say its a lie. Another thing, we paid extra for the a/c but it wasn't working. When we asked at the reception, they said: yes, it is working... They didn't even bother to go in our room and take a look. But because we insisted, they sent a guy to look whats wrong and he "fixed" it- but the a/c was still not working it was only making some weird noises. This was the worst and most expensive hotel during our trip in Tanzania.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
7
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Clean place with good rooms, some ensuite some without bathrooms. Rooms are clean and affordable. Breakfast is a Tanzania standard, the pancakes are good but I guess I just don't like jam and white bread anymore. Only a 5 min walk from the city centre, great location!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Had a brilliant stay here, truly could not fault it. Family run and helped us out organising things on so many occasions, such as letting us store our backpacks there while we travelled and re arranging tours for us! Rooms were spotless and breakfast brilliant every day! Loved it and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I really liked it here but the thing that really let it down was the waiters/kitchen staff. They were so lazy. They were rude and very unhelpful. They sat around on chairs playing on their iPhones the whole time people were sat there waiting for menus and not getting served. Food took forever to arrive. Twice I ordered drinks and they failed to ever be brought to me. It was such a shame as it let the place down. Apart from that the receptionist was such a lovely lady. She did everything she could to help us, including letting us store our luggage there for a few days after we'd left. The room was clean and bright. There was a shared bathroom which was quite dirty and there was water in the light bulbs which kept on dripping on my head whilst I sat on the loo!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was a good little guest house. Very friendly and helpful reception staff and great to leave baggage and valuables after check out before getting the ferry to the mainland. Nice little garden area out the front for breakfast and relaxing in later on. Rooms were fine, clean and what you would expect for a lower end guest house plus a few extra touches.

Room Tip: it seemed as though you may have been able to see in to some of the showers?? worth double checking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We tried different places in Stone town but Manch Lodge was the one we really appreciated.
The owner is really cool and helpful. He accepts to keep our backpacks in a dedicated closet the last day before we took our return flight and even let us take a shower.
there are rooms with / withhout bathroom
So in short, the place is clean, good location and the owner and their workmates are really cool.
We took one room without bathroom and using the shared one is fair: clean, available, not far (same level). The breakfast was also good.
Karim

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

After arriving in Stone Town from Nungwi we looked for a reasonably priced hotel as close to the waterfront as possible. We found Manch Lodge by walking around and paid US$30 a night for two people in a room with a double bed, single bed, fan and nets. Breakfast is included. Bathrooms are shared. There is an outdoor courtyard for eating and drinking. We organised a Spice Tour through reception for US$15 per person. Staff were helpful with information. Forodhani Gardens and the Old Fort at the waterfront are 5-10 minutes walk. Zanzibar Ferry Terminal 20-25 minutes walk. Creek Road Dalla-dalla Station 10-15 minutes walk. Manch Lodge has some narrow alleyways around it but check its website http://www.manchlodge-zanzibar.net/ for directions and more information. As other hotels nearby were charging US$50-130 a night, Manch Lodge is recommended as a cheap option in Stone Town for anyone on a mid-range budget.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
Romantic, City...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#10 of 29 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
26.5 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#6 of 8 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Charming, Luxur...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#12 of 29 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#6 of 29 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Beach, Pool, Fr...
Show More
8.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 141 in Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Boutique, Free...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Kisiwa House
Kisiwa House
#5 of 29 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manch Lodge, Vuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manch Lodge, Vuga

Address: Vuga, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty lodging in Stone Town
Also Known As:
Manch Lodge, Vuga Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manch Lodge, Vuga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Manch Lodge, Vuga to your Saves list