We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly and helpful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manch Lodge, Vuga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manch Lodge, Vuga
Save
You added Manch Lodge, Vuga to your Saves list
Vuga, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super friendly and helpful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Had a brilliant stay here, truly could not fault it. Family run and helped us out organising things on so many occasions, such as letting us store our backpacks there while we travelled and re arranging tours for us! Rooms were spotless and breakfast brilliant every day! Loved it and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emsie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I really liked it here but the thing that really let it down was the waiters/kitchen staff. They were so lazy. They were rude and very unhelpful. They sat around on chairs playing on their iPhones the whole time people were sat there waiting for menus and not getting served. Food took forever to arrive. Twice I ordered drinks and they failed to ever be brought to me. It was such a shame as it let the place down. Apart from that the receptionist was such a lovely lady. She did everything she could to help us, including letting us store our luggage there for a few days after we'd left. The room was clean and bright. There was a shared bathroom which was quite dirty and there was water in the light bulbs which kept on dripping on my head whilst I sat on the loo!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonshireDumpling90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was a good little guest house. Very friendly and helpful reception staff and great to leave baggage and valuables after check out before getting the ferry to the mainland. Nice little garden area out the front for breakfast and relaxing in later on. Rooms were fine, clean and what you would expect for a lower end guest house plus a few extra touches.

Room Tip: it seemed as though you may have been able to see in to some of the showers?? worth double checking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellightnquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We tried different places in Stone town but Manch Lodge was the one we really appreciated.
The owner is really cool and helpful. He accepts to keep our backpacks in a dedicated closet the last day before we took our return flight and even let us take a shower.
there are rooms with / withhout bathroom
So in short, the place is clean, good location and the owner and their workmates are really cool.
We took one room without bathroom and using the shared one is fair: clean, available, not far (same level). The breakfast was also good.
Karim

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdefombelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

After arriving in Stone Town from Nungwi we looked for a reasonably priced hotel as close to the waterfront as possible. We found Manch Lodge by walking around and paid US$30 a night for two people in a room with a double bed, single bed, fan and nets. Breakfast is included. Bathrooms are shared. There is an outdoor courtyard for eating and drinking. We organised a Spice Tour through reception for US$15 per person. Staff were helpful with information. Forodhani Gardens and the Old Fort at the waterfront are 5-10 minutes walk. Zanzibar Ferry Terminal 20-25 minutes walk. Creek Road Dalla-dalla Station 10-15 minutes walk. Manch Lodge has some narrow alleyways around it but check its website http://www.manchlodge-zanzibar.net/ for directions and more information. As other hotels nearby were charging US$50-130 a night, Manch Lodge is recommended as a cheap option in Stone Town for anyone on a mid-range budget.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kuzurura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.3 mi away
Al-Minar
Al-Minar
#17 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mashariki Palace Hotel
Mashariki Palace Hotel
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
5.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zanzibar Hotel
Zanzibar Hotel
#23 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hiliki House
Hiliki House
#1 of 30 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manch Lodge, Vuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manch Lodge, Vuga

Address: Vuga, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Stone Town
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Manch Lodge, Vuga Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing