We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better late than never...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe at Emerson Spice

Cafe at Emerson Spice
Tharia Street, Kiponda, Stone Town 0000, Tanzania
255 24 22 32 776
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 55 restaurants in Stone Town
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Eclectic, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Unique and Innovative Seasonal Cuisine for lunch in our down stairs Cafeé, 12 to 5PMRoof Top, Tea House for Sunset Cocktails and Dinner Set Menu 5 small courses; a selection of seafood and Zanzibar specialties, Reservations only
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Better late than never...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

...and this refers to the review. It has been on the To Do list since August 2012, and I keep on finding the menu (a steal at $25 for 5 courses) which I am now minded to frame. There is very little to add to all the 5 star reviews below, except to say that it was a PERFECT MEAL and if we were to visit Stone Town again that would be our first port of call. A word of caution - the meal is not for people in a rush as every course takes its time in arriving, and it gets breezy and cold on the rooftop, so you must bring a shawl/ cardigan or a jacket.

Our main course when we dined was called 'Janja's Big Fish' and is the kind of dish you would want to serve to your own guests back at home as it is such a festive idea.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    135
    37
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Risskov, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding in Stonetown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We just went home after our 2nd visit to the roof top restaurant at Emerson Spice. We have tried quite a lot of other restaurants in Stonetown and Emerson Spice is without any doubt the best and in a class without comparison to the others. The food is excellent - close to the best restaurants in Denmark - and the prices for both wine and the set menu is VERY reasonable - § 30 for five outstanding courses. The setting is wonderful. Come early for a sundowner and enjoy the change from day to night. We will come back!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Difficult to find. I'm staying at the Princess Saleme B&B and asked a taxi if he new where the Emerson Spice was and could he take me there. We Drove around the perimeter of the city coming almost back to where I was picked up and dropped me at the Manson Hotel. The staff there was kind enough to put me in the right direction. This is in a maize of narrow lanes where motor scooters or walking are the only means of getting around, 1500tsh and I reached the Emerson Spice where reservation are required and was being turned away until I told my story and they let me stay.
Five flight up to the roof top restaurant for a five course prepared menu. There is seating for 27 but only prepare for the number who have reserved. Everything is included for US$30.00, drinks extra.
We started to be served at 17:00hrs and were treated to great food and extraordinary seasonings. Everyone clapped and praised the chef and we began leaving shortly after 21:00. An enjoyable experience with experience service. Listened to the loud speakers calling to worship which seamed like every hour from all directions. I could see my hotel not far away but was not sure of the route there so someone was asked to walk me to the main street leading to it.
I ate at a busy open food market on the beach the night before, paid $12.00 for food not eatable. Recommend reservations for the Emerson Spice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The best dinner at the best hotel in stone town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is very nice. Webwebtbat around 6pm on the roof terrace where the restaurant is in order to watch the sunset.
The price for dinner was very good! $30
Per person for a 5 course meal. But it wasn't only five, as each course had 3 or 4 small dishes!
Excellent use of the local spices. My favourite dishes of that dinner was the lobster in vanilla sauce, the warm mango with cardamon, and the coconut kingfish!
The service was very nice and all the waiters were very smiley and friendly!
We requested that we did not want garlic or onions in our food and they redirected that. They made the effort not to cook out dishes with garlic or onion.
Excellent restaurant!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
852 reviews 852 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 271 cities Reviews in 271 cities
476 helpful votes 476 helpful votes
“Good quality ingredients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Its a lovely setting and good quality food - I get the feeling it could be a bit hit and miss and that some things they put together work and others not so much.

I was also expecting a bit more local flavours and spice given the name of the place! But it was good international food with a few subtle nods to local flavours on the side.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe at Emerson Spice also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar
Stone Town, Zanzibar
 

Been to Cafe at Emerson Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe at Emerson Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.