We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fantastic food, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe at Emerson Spice

Cafe at Emerson Spice
Tharia Street, Kiponda, Stone Town 0000, Tanzania
255 24 22 32 776
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 55 restaurants in Stone Town
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Eclectic, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Unique and Innovative Seasonal Cuisine for lunch in our down stairs Cafeé, 12 to 5PMRoof Top, Tea House for Sunset Cocktails and Dinner Set Menu 5 small courses; a selection of seafood and Zanzibar specialties, Reservations only
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, fantastic food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Saw the menu advertised outside after we walked past a few times and decided to check it out. Book earlier in the day because there is limited seating on the roof and once it's full, that's it. There is no second sitting. Arrive around six for cocktails as the sun goes down and take in the Dinner is served promptly at 7 and comes out in five courses.

When we went, you got 5 courses for $30pp. The food used local spices and was provided in the format of a degustation. The quality was outstanding and matched when matched with an appropriate wine (do this yourself during the cocktail hour) brought out more of the flavour. The courses are all explained to you when brought out and the wait between each course is neither too long nor too soon.

The atmosphere of the roof-top restaurant is perfect. You can see all over the city and out to coast and hear the sounds of the city as people go about their business, as well as the evening call to prayer from all of the nearby mosques.

Don't miss it if you're visiting Stone Town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    136
    37
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Can be exceptional value, can be so-so”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at the Emerson spice hotel and ate here 3 times. Lunch is served on the ground floor by reception and dinner on the roof terrace (note there is only 1 dinner sitting st 7pm and the menu is fixed).

Our first dinner was hit and miss - our second course of prawns was terrific but the other courses while fine weren't "wow". For our second dinner every course was exceptional though, I would say it compares favourably with Michelin starred restaurants I've eaten in so a bargain at usd30.

Lunch was also very good and cheap as well - it recommend the seafood curry.

Overall, definitely worth a visit if In stone town - for dinner if you can afford it or lunch if your budget is tighter.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our last night in Stonetown we went to dinner at Emerson Spice. Make a reservation for the evening and make sure to get there to watch the sunset. Everything we ate was excellent and the scenery and view from top can't be beat. Also had a great bottle of wine with dinner.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food but the menu coud be more interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We ate here whilst visiting Stone Town for the day, after reading such great reviews.

The restaurant was nice enough but we weren't offered to eat on the rooftop. The food was good, although the menu wasn't particularly varied and was lacking somewhat in traditional Zanzibari meals. The portions were OK although we ordered lobster and it came on 2 small skewers. The saving grace of all of it was their iced ginger tea, which is worth a visit in itself!

All in all was OK, but I'd like to think there is something a bit more special in Stone Town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Good food but the menu for four persons ,with extra drinks was 130 usdollar,what was an european price.
We all were sqeeuzed in on the terrace

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe at Emerson Spice also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar
Stone Town, Zanzibar
 

Been to Cafe at Emerson Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe at Emerson Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.