We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be exceptional value, can be so-so” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe at Emerson Spice

Cafe at Emerson Spice
Tharia Street, Kiponda, Stone Town 0000, Tanzania
255 24 22 32 776
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 57 restaurants in Stone Town
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Eclectic, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Unique and Innovative Seasonal Cuisine for lunch in our down stairs Cafeé, 12 to 5PMRoof Top, Tea House for Sunset Cocktails and Dinner Set Menu 5 small courses; a selection of seafood and Zanzibar specialties, Reservations only
Edinburgh, UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Can be exceptional value, can be so-so”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at the Emerson spice hotel and ate here 3 times. Lunch is served on the ground floor by reception and dinner on the roof terrace (note there is only 1 dinner sitting st 7pm and the menu is fixed).

Our first dinner was hit and miss - our second course of prawns was terrific but the other courses while fine weren't "wow". For our second dinner every course was exceptional though, I would say it compares favourably with Michelin starred restaurants I've eaten in so a bargain at usd30.

Lunch was also very good and cheap as well - it recommend the seafood curry.

Overall, definitely worth a visit if In stone town - for dinner if you can afford it or lunch if your budget is tighter.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    138
    38
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our last night in Stonetown we went to dinner at Emerson Spice. Make a reservation for the evening and make sure to get there to watch the sunset. Everything we ate was excellent and the scenery and view from top can't be beat. Also had a great bottle of wine with dinner.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food but the menu coud be more interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We ate here whilst visiting Stone Town for the day, after reading such great reviews.

The restaurant was nice enough but we weren't offered to eat on the rooftop. The food was good, although the menu wasn't particularly varied and was lacking somewhat in traditional Zanzibari meals. The portions were OK although we ordered lobster and it came on 2 small skewers. The saving grace of all of it was their iced ginger tea, which is worth a visit in itself!

All in all was OK, but I'd like to think there is something a bit more special in Stone Town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Good food but the menu for four persons ,with extra drinks was 130 usdollar,what was an european price.
We all were sqeeuzed in on the terrace

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We went for Christmas dinner there. Besides of having an amazing panoramic view of Stone Town, that night there were Christmas carols sang by kids. Food was outstanding and the cooks were so kind. Everything was a part of a very nice atmosphere to celebrate Christmas out of home.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe at Emerson Spice also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar
Stone Town, Zanzibar
 

Been to Cafe at Emerson Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe at Emerson Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.