We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice
Tharia Street, Kiponda, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 0000, Tanzania
+255 775 046 395
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 67 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Emerson Spice have two Restaurants: The Rooftop Tea House Restaurant - The Seafood Based, Set Five Course 'Taste Safari' Degustation Menu is prepared daily by our Zanzibari Chefs. The Sunset Hour is an integral part of the experience, so Diners are encouraged to arrive at any time after 5.30p.m. to enjoy a 'Sundowner' before dinner, which is served at 7p.m. Reservations Recommended. The Secret Garden - set amidst lushly landscaped hidden 'Ruins', open to the skies, it has a Zanzibari inspired A La Carte Menu. Look out for live music performed by The Dhow Countires Music Academy. Open for Lunch and Dinner.
Chester, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our last night in Stonetown we went to dinner at Emerson Spice. Make a reservation for the evening and make sure to get there to watch the sunset. Everything we ate was excellent and the scenery and view from top can't be beat. Also had a great bottle of wine with dinner.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    62
    18
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food but the menu coud be more interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We ate here whilst visiting Stone Town for the day, after reading such great reviews.

The restaurant was nice enough but we weren't offered to eat on the rooftop. The food was good, although the menu wasn't particularly varied and was lacking somewhat in traditional Zanzibari meals. The portions were OK although we ordered lobster and it came on 2 small skewers. The saving grace of all of it was their iced ginger tea, which is worth a visit in itself!

All in all was OK, but I'd like to think there is something a bit more special in Stone Town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Good food but the menu for four persons ,with extra drinks was 130 usdollar,what was an european price.
We all were sqeeuzed in on the terrace

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
133 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We went for Christmas dinner there. Besides of having an amazing panoramic view of Stone Town, that night there were Christmas carols sang by kids. Food was outstanding and the cooks were so kind. Everything was a part of a very nice atmosphere to celebrate Christmas out of home.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Special Spice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Innovative cooking with great use of local ingredients and spices
Great concept - you arrive to see the sunset then eat a set menu all given at the same time.
I think this gives the chefs more space to really go to town on the creative dishes
Very unexpected in a quite sad and dirty town.
Well done Emerson Spice!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerson Spice also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Emerson Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerson Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.