We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice
Tharia Street, Kiponda | Stonetown, Zanzibar, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 0000, Tanzania
+255 775 046 395
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Fusion, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Emerson Spice have two Restaurants: The Rooftop Tea House Restaurant - The Seafood Based, Set Five Course 'Taste Safari' Degustation Menu is prepared daily by our Zanzibari Chefs. The Sunset Hour is an integral part of the experience, so Diners are encouraged to arrive at any time after 5.30p.m. to enjoy a 'Sundowner' before dinner, which is served at 7p.m. Reservations Recommended. The Secret Garden - set amidst lushly landscaped hidden 'Ruins', open to the skies, it has a Zanzibari inspired A La Carte Menu. Look out for live music performed by The Dhow Countires Music Academy. Open for Lunch and Dinner.
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Good food but the menu for four persons ,with extra drinks was 130 usdollar,what was an european price.
We all were sqeeuzed in on the terrace

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    53
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We went for Christmas dinner there. Besides of having an amazing panoramic view of Stone Town, that night there were Christmas carols sang by kids. Food was outstanding and the cooks were so kind. Everything was a part of a very nice atmosphere to celebrate Christmas out of home.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Special Spice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Innovative cooking with great use of local ingredients and spices
Great concept - you arrive to see the sunset then eat a set menu all given at the same time.
I think this gives the chefs more space to really go to town on the creative dishes
Very unexpected in a quite sad and dirty town.
Well done Emerson Spice!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Absolutely loved my meal of shrimps here! Food was fresh and very delicious! A definite must for food lovers!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford Hills, NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner with a Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We dined at Emerson Spice on our one night in Stone Town, and are so happy that it was recommended to us! We were traveling with our 10-year-old daughter and 13-year-old son, and we all loved it. The roof terrace provides a wonderful view of Stone Town and is especially beautiful at sun down. My husband and I started our meal with Dawa cocktails which were amazing. Then the 5 course feast began. Each course was an experience of different tastes and flavors, all of which we enjoyed and devoured. We were thrilled to find such a gourmet meal.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerson Spice also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Emerson Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerson Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.