We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Spice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe at Emerson Spice

Cafe at Emerson Spice
Tharia Street, Kiponda, Stone Town 0000, Tanzania
255 24 22 32 776
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1 of 54 restaurants in Stone Town
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Eclectic, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Unique and Innovative Seasonal Cuisine for lunch in our down stairs Cafeé, 12 to 5PMRoof Top, Tea House for Sunset Cocktails and Dinner Set Menu 5 small courses; a selection of seafood and Zanzibar specialties, Reservations only
Buckinghamshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Special Spice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Innovative cooking with great use of local ingredients and spices
Great concept - you arrive to see the sunset then eat a set menu all given at the same time.
I think this gives the chefs more space to really go to town on the creative dishes
Very unexpected in a quite sad and dirty town.
Well done Emerson Spice!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    124
    34
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Absolutely loved my meal of shrimps here! Food was fresh and very delicious! A definite must for food lovers!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford Hills, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner with a Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We dined at Emerson Spice on our one night in Stone Town, and are so happy that it was recommended to us! We were traveling with our 10-year-old daughter and 13-year-old son, and we all loved it. The roof terrace provides a wonderful view of Stone Town and is especially beautiful at sun down. My husband and I started our meal with Dawa cocktails which were amazing. Then the 5 course feast began. Each course was an experience of different tastes and flavors, all of which we enjoyed and devoured. We were thrilled to find such a gourmet meal.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Dawa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

High up view of stone town with comfy cushions to recline on. The most refreshing Dawa - just order the next one when they bring it to you as you'll finish it in no time

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Lunch at Emerson is a la carte and seafood dominates menu. Everything we tried has been excellent. Fresh, a lot of attention to detail and really tasty. Good service and reasonable prices. Dinner on the rooftop is also quality, 5 course for $30. Good value and great flavours.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe at Emerson Spice also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar
Stone Town, Zanzibar
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar
 

Been to Cafe at Emerson Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe at Emerson Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.