We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful oasis in a bustling town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kholle House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kholle House
Malindi 607 / 608, Stone Town 6482, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 hotels in Stone Town
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful oasis in a bustling town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at Kholle house for 2 nights and felt we had been visiting friends,the atmosphere of the hotel was so welcoming and friendly.
The owner has done a great job in transforming the hotel from a building site using traditional materials,leaving you with the feeling that the Sultan's daughter is about to walk in.
The staff did everything they could to make our stay very memorable and comfortable.
Thankyou to you and good luck for the future - you all deserve it.!

Room Tip: We did have one of the expensive rooms but it was more like a suite and extremely comfortable - wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your very kind comments about Princess Kholle's House.
Our staff and manager will feel encouraged by your very positive appreciations.
Sincerely,
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    38
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
80
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The website makes this hotel look better than it really is. It is pleasant but seems overpriced. Entrance area is cramped buy courtyard with pool is nice. There are several other alternatives in town. We were glad we booked the suites which were spacious. Number 15 is especially nice and has a huge bathroom. We enjoyed the small but lovely pool on steamy afternoons which was our main reason for choosing this hotel. Breakfast is now the only meal regularly served and it was just ok. We had a special new years dinner that was disappointing with exceptionally slow service. Location is great between the center of stonetown and the market in a neighborhood with local flavor. The biggest hassle is the need to pay in cash especially at the end of a long trip. Access to ATMs is unreliable. Better to pay by wire in advance. Guide provided for a half day tour of stonetown was very good. Service at the hotel was a mixed bag. Some great some not.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guests,
Although your overall rating is not that positive for Kholle House, we note that your comments are mostly positive about the House.
It is a fact that offering standard services in a 150 years house is not that easy.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Great value in big contrast with Stonetown itself, highly recommended.
Sleeping in the Sultans house. Very near to the harnour en towncenter. But a bit to close to the iman tower from the mosk.
The owner has done a great job in restoring this house with cultural background. Nice small garden en swimming pool

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guests,
We appreciate your comments and thank you for your appreciation.
Asante sana!
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights, and then another night on our way back home. We didn't get to take advantage of the stay-two-get-the-third-free deal, but they did upgrade us for our second night, and for our return stay. The furnishings were beautiful, the building was gorgeous, the small pool, garden and salon, as well as the rooftop lounge were all great.

The staff was generally very accommodating and helpful, except for a couple minor issues. For our return trip, we had specifically asked if we could check out late, as we had a late flight, and other hotels had agreed to our request. Kholle didn't answer this question, and then informed us that day we had to check out at the normal time, which might have changed our choice. Then when we checked out, they tried to pull some games on us with currency exchanges - we were paying in a mix of dollars and shillings, and they wanted us to pay the drinks bill, charged in shillings, in dollars at one exchange rate, and the room bill, charged in dollars, in shillings, at another rate. It wasn't a big difference, but there was a lot of confusion and it just seemed cheap and petty for a quality establishment

One really nice touch was the glasses of juice on arrival - they were fantastic, and different both times. We had them later as cocktails, which were also fantastic. The breakfast was quite good, although a bit confusing - there is a list of options and it is not clear whether you choose one item or whatever you want. It turns out you can get everything you want off the list without paying extra, but you seem to have to ask for each individual thing (i.e. it says eggs with bacon, tomato, beans - if you ask for the eggs, you just get the eggs, not the whole plate).

The negatives were actually rather minor - we'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your kind apprecation.
All the best,

Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the Kholle House for two nights in their suite on the third floor. We enjoyed the rooftop terrace where we had wine and faluca pipes. The room was very pretty and spacious, although the mattress was a little hard for our liking. It was in a great location, close to restaurants and gardens and the ferry terminal. The breakfasts were top notch with yogurt and fresh fruit, fabulous crepes and omelettes etc. The staff were lovely. The pool was refreshing and hardly ever used as we always had it to ourselves. Five minutes away was Mercury's Restaurant on the beach named after Freddie Mercury of "Queen", fabulous food with a magnificent view. We would highly recommend this hotel which is furnished with antiques and is very Creole.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guests,
We appreciate your comments and thank you for your appreciation.
Asante sana!
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in Kholle House in a deluxe room. The room was located in the second floor opening to a veranda.
The location was great, just 5 minutes walk from the ferry station and also from Forodhani Gardens.
The building was very well renovated, the decoration is very very nice.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was very nice, the courtyard which the breakfast served was very peaceful.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much and I will definitely recommend Kholle House to everybody !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear guests,
Many thanks for your kind appreciation.
See you soon in Zanzibar!
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting Stone Town. We found it to be a good well appointed hotel with lovely rooms and very helpful staff. Our two rooms were amply sized with comfortable double beds and antique furniture. We loved the yellow baths. We particularly liked the outside seating area on the ground floor next to the swimming pool and the roof terrace with view over the port. The hotel was well located being within easy walking distance of most of Stone Town's attractions. The only downside was that the only close restaurant (Mercury's Restaurant) is very poor.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your kind apprecation.

We obviously can't do much about Mercury's management ! However, please note that we have a restaurant in the Hotel, with fine Creole - Swahili fusion cuisine and you can enjoy it in the dining room, in the garden or in the roof top tea house.

All the best,

Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
Luxury, Free Br...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Mashariki Palace Hotel
Mashariki Palace Hotel
#1 of 29 in Stone Town
5.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Boutique, Luxur...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Kisiwa House
Kisiwa House
#5 of 29 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
#3 of 29 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#7 of 29 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#10 of 29 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#6 of 29 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kholle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kholle House

Address: Malindi 607 / 608, Stone Town 6482, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kholle House fact sheet:Services & Facilities:• Wi-Fi available• Outdoor swimming pool• Transport to/from airport if required at an additional charge. Zanzibar airport and Dar es Salaam airport – ferry dock• Island tours and sea activities assistanceKholle House in the heart of Stone Town is an historical and authentic house build in 1860 which belonged to Princess Kholle. Sister of Sayyid Sultan bin Bargash and Princess Salme. The house has probably been there as a showcase from their crystal collection and porcelain.After the revolution in 1964 the house was confiscated and occupied by several families, this period caused severe damages in the house. Three years of restoration has bring us the pleasure to present our town beloved house, the work done in connection with historical monuments and in full respect with the construction methods in the time (coral rubble, lime, mangrove beams, marble…). With an noble and austere façade the building is typically Omani Arabic style while the garden has more Indo-Victorian fantasy rhythms. This style is featured on the covers of the old dispensary which faces Kholle House and was restored by the Ada Khan Foundation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kholle House Hotel Stone Town
Kholle House Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kholle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kholle House to your Saves list