We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerson Spice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerson Spice
Save
You added Emerson Spice to your Saves list
Tharia Street, Kiponda, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Stone Town
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Quirky boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in the KATE room which has 2 balconies and is furnished in a quirky style. All the staff were really helpful and breakfast in the roof top restaurant offered great views of Stone Town. The hotel itself is in a good location being perfect for exploring the towns shops/ atmosphere.
The evening tasting menu at the roof top restaurant is well worth trying with several courses with some most unusual combinations all of which were very good and unique.
If staying in Stone Town then Emerson Spice is a great place to stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    39
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
56
177
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I had seen the photos of the bedrooms but still wasn't prepared for the reality of their amazing and unique opulence. I was fortunate to stay in three of the rooms, as my brother Russell works there, and each was a different but fabulous experience. I felt like royalty as I stayed my first two nights in 'Kate' near the very top of the hotel. With two terraces at either side of the hotel, I was spoilt for choice, as well as an indoor and outdoor bath! I also stayed in Semele and Simiti(?) and they were both equally amazing and brilliantly decorated and furnished. I loved the breakfasts on the roof terrace; the poached eggs with their amazing orange yokes were the best I've experienced. I also had several top class lunches. All the staff are friendly and attentive and I can't wait to revisit and hopefully stay in the sister hotel, which is being refurbished and which I was fortunate to see. I was blown away by the work being done on the hotel and the views from the various terraces are simply amazing. Due to our busy schedule I was unable to get to meet Emerson, who is clearly a man of exceptional vision which is so evident in the quirky and unique design of each room. I feel so lucky to have experienced this wonderful hotel and would like to thank everyone involved with it for making my stay so comfortable and unforgettable.

Room Tip: All the rooms look incredible. You will probably be woken by the early call to prayer, but even thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I travel widely, but I would rate this as the best hotel experience I have ever had.

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in February, on the occasion of her birthday. The staff were unbelievably helpful - arranging with me in advance all sorts of surprises like flowers in the (amazing) room, champagne etc, then serenading the birthday girl as they took her up to show her the room. The room (Valletta, I think it was called?) was incredible: beautiful, interesting furniture, romantic bed and a 70 foot verandah overseeing the market below - perfect for lounging on day beds with a coffee and drinking in the atmosphere. The cuisine at the rooftop restaurant was sophisticated, delicious and generous - not cheap of course but better value than any other I had in Stown Town considering the quality. I just wished we could have stayed for longer!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I know this review has been a while in coming but just need everyone to know how amazing this place is. We stayed in "Belle" room and we were totally amazed by the place.
The bed was unbelievably comfortable.....and high up!!
The decor is amazing and the restaurant on the top floor is to die for. We were only going to try the restraunt once while we were there, but ended up back there every night. ( just make sure you pre-book the table).
We were fortunate enough to meet the owner, who plonked himself at our table and made us feel part of the family......and his knowledge on chocolate and the coco bean was unfounded. It definitely showed in his restaurants chocolate desert. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants nothing but the best.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from Zanzibar and spent 6 nights at the Emerson Spice Hotel. The service was first class, and the food exceptional. Each evening the menu was unique. I cannot praise this hotel more, The rooms are beautiful. We stayed in Kate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

When I arrived at Emerson Spice I was immediately struck by the likeness to the riads of Morocco. The building is beautiful from outside and in and this is only enhanced by the sympathetic décor. The communal places are gentle and inviting. The rooms are to die for, a riot of colour, plush furnishings and wonderfully individual. We had 2 rooms and both were opulent, stunning and comfortable. I can honestly say the beds were the most comfortable that I slept on in Zanzibar. The staff are delightful and very accommodating - they can't do enough for you. I highly recommend a stay at this hotel when visiting Stone Town as it is a true oasis in a bustling busy town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have stayed here several times and this little gem hits the mark every time. No place captures the magic of Zanzibar as well as Emerson - unlike any other hotel in the world. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerson Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Spice

Address: Tharia Street, Kiponda, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerson Spice, a new Zanzibari experience. This labour of love is a journey into the transformation of a near ruin into a five star fantasy that can only be experienced on the beautiful Islands of Zanzibar. We have opened the cafe and Tea House restaurant and we now have 10 of our 12 rooms open to guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerson Spice Hotel Stone Town
Emerson Spice Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerson Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.