We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, swahili cousine 2.0” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emerson Spice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerson Spice
Save
You added Emerson Spice to your Saves list
Tharia Street, Kiponda, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food, swahili cousine 2.0”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We spend an evening at the rooftop with splendid view over Stone Town. The food was served in five rounds, every one with 5 small and well composed dishes of spices, seafood, seasoning, and a variaty of tastes which matches the impression of the town and the island.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babuemerson, Owner at Emerson Spice, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
You're right! It's good Swahili cuisine made by several crazy "foodies" playing in the kitchen. We're having serious fun and we're so glad you like it. Thanks, Emerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    35
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
54
159
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at Emerson Spice over Christmas. When we walked into our suite, the Aida room, my daughter said, "Can I live here?" That about sums it up. Beautiful, very creatively decorated rooms, spacious well- supplied bathrooms, and about the best service i've ever had in a hotel. I mentioned a few things- meal preference, etc.- in my email when we reserved the room, all of which they remembered when we arrived. Guests are given a mobile phone programmed with the hotel's numbers in case you get lost while wandering around Stone Town. We had Christmas Dinner on the rooftop restaurant, and the food, while creatively put together, wasn't as good as hoped- but the service was outstanding, and our en suite breakfast the next morning was superb.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Not much to add but will agree 10000% with all the 5 star reviews. Rooms are gorgeous and comfortable. We had a huge balcony that over looked the street and apartment windows. We loved waving and chatting with our neighbors! We spent two nights but could have easily stayed four. We loved the hotel and Stone Town that much.

There is a small mosque just outside the hotel and hearing the call to prayer 5 times a day is incredible. Being awoken so very early in the morning to the soothing muezzin's voice is truly like being in heaven. Highly recommend going to the upstairs restaurant to experience the sundown call. Magical!

Our only regret was that Emerson himself was not around during our stay. How we would have loved to speak with him about his gorgeous hotel. Thank you Emerson for creating a perfectly romantic oasis in such an amazing city!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I had read all the good reviews of Emerson Spice so I had high expectations and I was not disappointed! our family stayed in Aida and it was the nicest suite we ever have stayed in. Our teenage boys loved it, they had their own room up stairs and the rooms weres beautiful and spacious and we also had a nice sitting area with a day bed. The bathroom was big and confortable. The balcony was nice. The staff was kind and helpful and we really enjoyed our stay. The manager was very nice and helpful, he followed us and showed us they way to restaurants. We booked a guided tour through the hotel and the guide was very good. I can highly recommend the hotel! The breakfast was good, we did not have dinner at the roof top restaurant since it was Thursday and the restaurant was closed but we had both lunch and dinner at their sister hotel, Emerson Green, and it was so good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is my second visit to Emerson Spice. On this journey I was accompanied by friends from the UK and SA. Once again Emerson Spice was superb! They not only maintained the high standards set during my first visit, but exceeded expectations! Service was impeccable. Your needs are anticipated & nothing is a chore for the friendly and efficient staff. I was assigned room Desdemona and thoroughly enjoyed the ample space, daybed & outside sitting area. Dining at the rooftop restaurant is an exceptional experience. I have lodged in many hotels, boutique hotels, resorts etc. and the unique experience at Emerson Spice remains unparalleled.

Room Tip: Each room has its own character and is unique. Prior to reserving your room, request a description...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed only one night unfortunately... It was amazing! The rooms are incredible, it has been recently renovated, the location cannot be more central, the stuff was very very friendly, the food was delicious! A dinner at the roof is a must!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent 6 nights here and had a magical time. The rooms are beautifully decorated, service is exceptional, friendly and efficient. Room servicing is discreet (while you are at breakfast or out to explore). Breakfast at the Tea House was a great start to every day, and the menu varies. Dinner was superb. We tried a few other top-rated places but the five-course meals on the roof terrace was superb, every time! My favorite Emerson Spice signature dishes were vanilla lobster, star-anise pineapple, lemongrass calamari...
The hotel staff arranged airport transfers and day excursions.

Room Tip: We stayed in Camille, with a "Greta Garbo" theme. The windows and furniture were all dress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerson Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Spice

Address: Tharia Street, Kiponda, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerson Spice, a new Zanzibari experience. This labour of love is a journey into the transformation of a near ruin into a five star fantasy that can only be experienced on the beautiful Islands of Zanzibar. We have opened the cafe and Tea House restaurant and we now have 10 of our 12 rooms open to guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerson Spice Hotel Stone Town
Emerson Spice Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerson Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.