We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cool Hotel in the Hear of Stonetown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emerson Spice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerson Spice
Save
You added Emerson Spice to your Saves list
Tharia Street, Kiponda, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Autumn Special
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Very Cool Hotel in the Hear of Stonetown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I think everyone should spend a few nights at a beach resort, and at least one in Stonetown. It would be a shame to miss this unique city. We spent 1 night at Emerson spice. Two would have been better. Such a unique property! Rooms were the biggest I have ever seen. Very "open" hotel and you feel like you are living and breathing Stonetown, if only for a moment. Don't miss sunset cocktails and the tasting menu on the rooftop.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babuemerson, Owner at Emerson Spice, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. Especially your mention that Stonetown is worth more than one night. It is! Travel agents just have not caught on this fact yet! Agents still push a one night in Stonetown itinerary. It is unfortunate, because most guests who do stay only one night feel that they were mislead and have missed some of the best of Zanzibar. There are exceptional excursions available here in town, including extraordinary beaches on the neighboring historical islands. There is a lot more to Zanzibar than the beaches, it is a complete destination. Many, many guests exclaim that they see why I chose to move here 24 years ago.
Emerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    35
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
158
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Emerson and staff do a fantastic job making everything perfect. We are here for our honeymoon and couldn't ask for anything more. The rooms are beautiful and the roof top restaurant is fantastic thanks again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babuemerson, Owner at Emerson Spice, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Honeymooners travel in a special aura of joy. It is contagious. Our staff family is always susceptible and from there it is spread to the other guests as well. Thank you for sharing your happiness with us. Please come to see us for an anniversary, so that we can celebrate again. Karibu sana. Emerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

2 nights was not enough. Step back in time to a unique experience. The rooms were large and beautifully decorated, arabian nights came to mind. A step stool to climb in to the parachute bed. And the stone bath in the corner big enough to swim in.
The call to prayer echoed accross the city as we sat on the roof top restaurant sipping wine and eating fantastic food. and watching another sunset over the water. It was not high season so we were able to get a booking it would not be easy in the high season. A must if you enjoy seafood. It is on the 5th fllor and there are no lifts. Still worth it

Room Tip: Book early this is a very popular place for all the right reasons
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I believe what Emerson Spice sets out to achieve is to allow their guests to experience Zanzibari hospitality and luxury accommodations true to the character of Stone Town. This they achieve with aplomb. You truly feel like you have been carried away to a bygone era of Sultans and Princesses and the privileges that came with an elevated status.

If you follow the stairs to the top of the building, you reach what is known as the Tea House. With stunning all-round views of Stone Town and open-air design, this is the place to wind down after a day of sightseeing. Here they also serve the best Margaritas in town! The Tea House doubles as the breakfast and on most evenings, dining area. For breakfast, fresh fruit and scrumptious options are on the menu, as well as really good plunger coffee.

The rooms are individually decorated and the layout changes throughout. I was initially in the Belle room and on my return in the Turandot room. The Belle is a large room with an informal sitting area, luxurious bath/shower and the most beautiful four-poster bed. The double volume ceilings and tasteful design leaves the impression of being assigned to a guest room in an opulent house rather than a hotel.
The Turandot is less spacious than the Belle, but more peaceful due to its location away from the street. It is tastefully appointed and boasts its own private verandah & open-air shower/bath.

What sets Emerson Spice apart for me is the attention to detail and exceptional service. The staff is attentive without being intrusive. The themed rooms & decorator comments makes you appreciate the thought & consideration that went into every room.

It should be noted that Stone Town is a vibrant and at times noisy town. Islam is the predominant religion and visitors to Stone Town should take this into consideration when planning their trip and wardrobe.

Room Tip: In close proximity to Emerson Spice is a local mosque. Calls for the Morning Prayer may be less aud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I'm a little surprised at the uniformly glowing reviews on tripadvisor.

This hotel is gorgeous, without doubt. The building is full of character, each room is decorated with care and elegance; it is probably the most beautiful building I've stayed in. The location too, in the heart of beguiling stone town, is superb.

The service, however, is a little ragged. Food, when ordered to our room on three occasions, took at least 40 minutes to arrive each time. When our air conditioning fuse blew in the middle of the night, the staff on duty (who were asleep on the floor of reception) had to be cajoled into doing something about it, and then couldn't find the fuse box. On another night, the bar staff left for home at 7:30pm because no-one had booked for dinner, leaving a number of guests trying (successfully but with some effort) to persuade the reception staff to provide some drinks.

All minor complaints, to be sure, and all complaints that the manager agreed to address. But a 2013 Tripadvisor winner? I expected a little better.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babuemerson, Owner at Emerson Spice, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Your review is bracing for us. An honest little slap that we deserve. We are trying to do too much with too little staff, as we edge into closing for maintenance month May. We apologize.

Frankly, it is difficult all year for a hotel as small as ours and as moderately priced as ours, to provide all the services that we try to provide. Yet somehow, we mostly manage to get it done, and to enjoy the challenge in the process. Our motto among ourselves is "a wish is a command."

Currently, we're trying to put in a solar hot water system, a new generator, repair our inverter system, fix numerous small things in the rooms in order to close with the heavy stuff done while I'm here. When the staff prepare at the end of May to re-open the 1st of June, the tasks should be largely cleaning.

This past week we've had too few dinner reservations to open the restaurant. A bar staff member should remain until 10 PM, but as few are in the rooms, there probably were no orders for room service until yours. This is will be addressed to ensure that this mistake will not happen again.

About the A/C , it was not a fuse, but a citywide power cut. We were on inverter to provide power to rooms quietly, but the inverter system batteries cannot provide for the A/C. That many batteries are beyond affordability for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at "Kate", a room with two terraces, outdoor bathtub, and fantastic view of Stonetown. Emerson Spice is a hotel with a friendly atmosphere, good service and beautiful interior. We would recommend it to everyone going to Stonetown/ Zanzibar!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chertsey
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

After a fantastic safari experience with Africa Travel Resource we finished our holiday with 3 days in Zanzibar. I have always been keen to visit this most atmospheric of cities and wanted to be right in the centre of things - in the ancient 'souk' of Stonetown. Most europeans as far as I know stay in the resorts on the beaches 30 miles or so to the north and visit stonetown on an excursion. Take my advice and stay in Stonetown if you want to meet the real people and be emersed in its culture - and fantastic architecture including zanzibar doors.
Brilliant start to the stay when the hotel provided a lift from the airport - we thought we would be arranging our own taxi - so nice to see our names on the board when we arrived.
Fantastic welcome from the staff including the owner - Emerson. Our room 'Amour' - was jungle themed with fantastic antiques and framed film posters. Air conditioning was very important in the humid wet season and the full lenth mostqutoe nets were great - though I saw no mosquitoes in the hotel at all.. My kids (25 and 28) were in 'MImi' a- anothe excellent themed room with so much character. I believe the building itself is some sort of national treasure.

Breakfast was first class - fresh fruit and juices followed by eggs any way you wanted them - accompanied by about 3 different types of bread. Some of the fruit eg heart fruit i had not eaten before. It is absolutely delicious. Everything was fresh and from local sources - a great start to the day. My friend Pete who is a bit of an expert on coffee said it was really good .

We only had dinner once - on the roof top restaurant with its views of old Stonetown. This was one of the best meals I have eaten anywhere. The set 5 course dinner was nearly all fish (eg kingfish ceviche, Lobster in Vanilla sauce)- unsurprising in Zanzibar with some chicken. The food was innovative and exciting with many flavours I had not experienced before. The spicing was masterful. I only wish I could have had some more time with the cook to pick his brains. The price of our meal was $30 - unbelievable value.The cook did encorperate the Mahi Mahi we caught on a fishing trip into one of the courses. It was great and not overcooked as a lot of the food in Tanzania is at times.
I cannot rate this hotel and its staff highly enough - they always went the extra mile - Need something? - no problem - one of the staff would walk you through the maze like souk and bring you back. The hotel even had mobile phones in each room which you could take with you if you were worried about getting lost - a great touch..
If you ever get a chance to visit Stonetown either stay or at least eat here - book for dinner as the smallish restaurant fills up.

Room Tip: What can I say - everything was great - perhaps the upper rooms would be a bit of a challenge for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babuemerson, Owner at Emerson Spice, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you for such a comprehensive review. What else could I say? Maybe, karibu tena, tena, na tena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerson Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Spice

Address: Tharia Street, Kiponda, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerson Spice, a new Zanzibari experience. This labour of love is a journey into the transformation of a near ruin into a five star fantasy that can only be experienced on the beautiful Islands of Zanzibar. We have opened the cafe and Tea House restaurant and we now have 10 of our 12 rooms open to guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerson Spice Hotel Stone Town
Emerson Spice Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerson Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.