We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerson Spice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerson Spice
Save Saved
You added Emerson Spice to your Saves list
Tharia Street, Kiponda, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Stone Town
South Cave, East Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel on the final leg of our Hoheymoon. We picked it because it had top reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Just the opposite, it is like a gem in the streets of Stone Town.
We preferred this location because hotel is situated in the more "local" area of Stone Town.
We stayed in the Room Belle, and it was absolutely beautiful! We had a balcony overlooking the street. Decor of the room was amazing. We could not stop admiring this building and the beautiful decoration of every room, attention to detail is unbelievable.
Staff was very friendly, all the extra touches made it very special. We had breakfast served on the balcony with fresh fruit, juice and tea/coffee. On arrival they gave us a bottle of bubbly and a fruit basket. We had a very early departure, about 5am, but they still served us breakfast in the cafe area.
Hotel organised our tour guide to take us round Stone Town, and it was really worth it. His name was Solomon, so please ask for him!
We booked an evening meal on the roof top restaurant and what an amazing dinner that was! That night they had a complimentary wine tasting session with Mr Emerson himself, and it was a great pleasure to meet him!
The only downside is that there is a mosque very near, so be prepared to be woken up at 5am. It applies to the majority of hotels in Stone Town as there are about 45 mosques and they all use speakers to call for prayer. But don't let this put you off, this is a part of the overall experience!
Thank you Emerson Spice, we hope we can come back one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    32
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
140
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

There's certain places you come across in life, that remain one of those lifetime experiences. Everything from the communcal tap outside the front door the local children used to fill their bottles to the beautiful spacious rooms makes this place special. My room overlooked a mosque, and the call to local prayers made this place memorable. Fit for royalty, thank you Emerson Spice for making one of my lifetime memories a joyous one. Dinner on the rooftop is a must!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed at Emerson Spice with my mother and brother March 2012 in Aida. The loft room was beautiful - we had three beds, each with canopies, as well as a day bed to lounge on. It was truly unique with such attention to artistic detail. Emerson Spice is in the heart of Stonetown with fabulous street to peer down on. The rooftop restaurant meal was a several course menu - great value for a low price. The menu varies each day and we had a great variety of fresh seafood, vegetables, fruits, and desert. Breakfast was equally amazing - we sipped Zanzibar spice coffee each morning with an egg of our choice, a plethora of fruit, and fresh juice (passion fruit or bungo). Wireless interest is also available in the lobby and faster than anything else I experienced in my three and half months in Tanzania.

If I ever make it over to Tanzania/Zanzibar again I will stay at Emerson Spice.

Room Tip: Aida if you're travelling as a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Came to Emerson after 5 days in Nungwe. The rooms are spacious and "farytail-like", and the staff very helpful ;) Dinner on the rooftop is a must, a lot of interesting mixes of food and spice. We stayed in the rooms "Mimi" and "Desdemona", which both have great view of the city. Desdemona Even had some oceanview ;) Wecan definately reccomend the hotel to oter families visiting Stone Town. Visitors should also have dinner or lunch in "House of Spice" - good service and very good Italien pizza and pasta.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Emerson Spice is quite an eclectic place. The hotel is well run and managed, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooftop cafe for breakfast or dinner is a must. Location is great. The rooms are large, and decor is eclectic. The decor was not quite our style and we didn't love Stone Town, but the hotel was well run and accomodating. The rooms are equipped with a cell phone which has some credit and you can use during your stay in Stone Town -- that was definitely a great idea and nice touch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

A perfect stay. Charming room.excellent diner.dedicated staff.Friendly atmosphere not no be missed
A perfect location few minutes from the harbour, the market,
Food was amazing subtil association of local products/ Fine dining

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Emerson Spice was our first stop to a great holiday. We didn't know what to expect but were nicely surprised with this hotel. The rooms are very exotic with each room designed differently and a story behind it. We stayed in Kate room which was recommended to us. It was at the top with a big balcony to look over stone town and another balcony on the other side with an outside bath.

The staff were very friendly and happy to please. The dinner on the roof top was fantastic and worth booking for. They try hard to incorporate different spices and the flavours of Zanzibar. The hotel is well situated in stone town - close to harbour, night market and day markets. The hotel supplies a phone for your walk abouts in case you get lost which is very likely! The room has great touches such as beach bags, umbrellas and bits box for things you may have left behind.

If you ever in Stone Town this hotel is a must!

Room Tip: If you being fetched from the airport just send a mail before you leave to confirm this is still the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerson Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Spice

Address: Tharia Street, Kiponda, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerson Spice, a new Zanzibari experience. This labour of love is a journey into the transformation of a near ruin into a five star fantasy that can only be experienced on the beautiful Islands of Zanzibar. We have opened the cafe and Tea House restaurant and we now have 10 of our 12 rooms open to guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerson Spice Hotel Stone Town
Emerson Spice Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerson Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.