We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honey moon feb 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jafferji House & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Jafferji House & Spa to your Saves list
Jafferji House & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Stone Town
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Honey moon feb 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This place is so unique , the staff are so polite and the rooms are magnificent , we enjoyed our 2 night stay , and have great memories , Livingstone bar was a good place to go for drink and unwind ,

Carolyn and Tony , Wilmslow

Room Tip: All rooms are great , you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    38
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
107
26
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights very recently. This place seriously needs to renovate. First, there is no vehicle access on the street where the entrance is, so you have to lug your suitcases from around back, and they didn't bother to send any porters (I was with a group of 7). Next, you walk into the main lobby and the first thing to assail you is a closed, old, musty smell, like they haven't opened a window in 50 years or more(there are no windows). Next, our rooms were not ready. The rooms are also old and musty. It is unfortunate since the place itself is quaint. The bathroom in our room stank of being old and it was crumbling. The menu is never varied. They make you pay for every drop of cold water you consume in a bottle. Every other place gave you cold water to drink. Sit down to dinner with the aroma and taste of mosquito spray coating your food, utensils, and dish ware. Since they spray a few times a day, the room is permeated with the smell, and since they have no windows to open, the smell is embedded in the fabrics, walls, etc. to a point that whatever you choose from the limited menu begins to taste like bug spray. Staff has no clue about hygiene and food standards. flies swarm around the buffet. Flies were in the milk pitcher on the table for breakfast, and when asked, the staff dumped the milk, and just added new milk to the same pitcher (without bothering to wash it). I realize Zanzibar is part of Africa, and the standards are different, but this IS supposed to be a public hotel. All in all, I would recommend you stay FAR away. Yes, you may get smaller rooms somewhere else, but you will surely breath better. This place seriously needs renovation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Jafferji House is located in the heart of Stonetown. The rooms are clean and each one is different. There is no lift and lots of steps. Not so good for someone elderly or with health issues. Breakfast is good but the menu for dinner needs improvement. Our melas took a long time to be served and the restaurant staff tries very hard, but their English is limited. The rooms do have A/C and also ceiling fans.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

As an agent, Took a group to this property last week, stayed two nights. Some liked it, some did not. The staff is exceptionally friendly and accommodating. I was a little disappointed that, with meals included, the same menu was used for lunch and dinner, with no variation, but if you are not a picky eater, you'll find options on the menu to select from. Personal choice was that water should have been included, at least the smaller bottles, while eating breakfast, dinner or lunch, and just charge for the soft drinks, not both. I think the breakfast buffet can do with some improving. I was never sure about the alcohol, everything says no alcohol served, but apparently it can be arranged if you drink it in your suite, as we did one night. Nominal charge for ice as it must be obtained elsewhere. The alcohol policy needs to be refreshed, and clearly stated. Convenience to shopping can't be beat. Very easy to shop and take packages back and come and go as you please. A/C worked well. Spraying for mosquitos just before lunch/dinner was not very hygienic, nor comfortable breathing it. While this is common, care should be taken when it is done, especially with eating utensils in plain sight. These are things that can be fixed, it is not a reason not to book the property. It is quite old and there are areas that reflect that, but I don't think this is a reason for not booking it. Other options in Stone Town have very very tiny rooms, or are not as convenient. I think the rooms in Jafferji house were quite spacious, though a bit dark in some of them. Don't compare this property with beach property on the island, compare it with like properties in the heart of Stone Town. Also be aware that there is no lift (elevator), and plenty of stairs.

Room Tip: Kama Sutra does not have a toilet upstairs, so this may be inconvenient for some. Only three rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a lovely one-night stay at this original and luxurious hotel. With excellent location we were close to everything while we still enjoyed the feeling of being in a secret place. The rooms were nicely decorated with a personal touch and the service was excellent! The only disappointment was the breakfast which standard needs to be raised in order to keep up with the hotel in general.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this awesome cozy place in the heart of Zanzibar. I found it to be reminiscent of the days gone by where one was pampered and catered to. It was beautiful and décor was simply decadent and in keeping with Stonetown. I just loved everything about the hotel, from the service, to the food to the suite I stayed in. I would highly recommend the Hotel to newly married couples, singles and just about anyone looking for an unusual atmosphere to relax in. I had a wonderful time and cannot wait to go back to Jafferji House for another episode of "Far From the Madding Crowd!". Every little detail was taken into account and the furnishings left you in awe.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are really quaint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights after a safari in Northern Tanzania. The place is beautiful, the service was excellent. The hotel is located in Stone Town on a street with only pedestrian traffic. I was in the Freddie Mercury Suite (he was born on Zanzibar). The hotel has about 10 suites. It does not have an elevator.

The staff was very helpful in recommending and arranging tours and transportation. I had dinner in the attached restaurant the evening I arrived and found both the service and food to be good. Breakfast is served in the attached restaurant.

If I ever make it back to Zanzibar, this is where I'll be staying.

Room Tip: The street is quiet as it's pedestrian only. If you don't want to climb stairs, look for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jafferji House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jafferji House & Spa

Address: 170 Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#9 Family Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jafferji House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jafferji House & Spa is located in the heart of historical Stone Town, behind the Old Fort, which is just a stroll from the House of Wonders. It is conveniently located to Zanzibar’s most vibrant shops and restaurants on the sea front. Close to Forodhani gardens. Transfer time to and from the airport is about 20 minutes. History of the Building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jafferji House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jafferji House & Spa Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jafferji House & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.