We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jafferji House - excellent beyond words...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jafferji House & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jafferji House & Spa to your Saves list
Jafferji House & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Jafferji House - excellent beyond words...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

truely amazing hotel, well decorated, large rooms with big beds.. friendly staff starting all the way from reception to restaurant and housekeeping.

The restaurant decor is so well done its very hard to describe in words.. the food was really amazing as well

After learning the history behind the house, i would like to wish Mr. Javed and his team all the best and thank them for such wonderful treatment during my stay.

Jafferji House is a must recommend for a minimum 2 to 3 night stay with some world class pampering coming straight from the rooftop Spa and excellent food.

Honeymooners! - you must book yourselves in the Kamasutra Suite!

Room Tip: Kamasutra Suite, Jafferji House Sultan Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    40
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
113
27
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, very amply decorated. However i don't recommend staying too many nights in Stone Town as there are limited things to do or see. For a one night stopover this place is great - but would not recommend it for an extended romantic stay.
Food at the restaurant was ok, nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diani Beach, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Already before we went to Zanzibar I knew I had to visit this place, I had seen the website and was intrigued by the beautiful atmosphere this place has. We have a hotel in Kenya ourselves so we know how important service is and I was impressed by the level of service in this hotel. The rates are high but the rooms are absolutely stunning and romantic and the staff really go out of their way to make you happy. If you want a romantic night in Stonetown and want to spoil yourself for one night, then go here. All the rooms are beautiful but we stayed in Zanzibar Kabissa and this really is my favorite room.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and decorated according to a theme but our favorite is Zanzibar Kabissa for a rom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Despite the hotel staff going out of their way to be polite and warm considering what else is available in Zanzibar I would really only stay in this hotel for a night or two.

The accommodation is good but the rooms felt dark and damp. The bathrooms are ample but if you want to bath it could be a problem.

It can also be very noisy so don't expect a peaceful sleep.

The plus points is the view from the roof and the stories and photos around the hotel.

Tours from the hotel seemed a lot more expensive in comparison to other hotels on the island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three days while on a visit to Zanzibar after a long trek up Kilimanjaro. We were warmly greeted and immediately upgraded for the extent of our stay. The staff were exceptionally friendly and eager to help with any request. The rooms were spacious, sophisticated, comfortable and ornately decorated with cultural style. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and were amazed by the quality of food in the downstairs restaurant which catered for both western and traditional tastes. The Jafferji deserves to be one of the top hotels in Zanzibar. Highly recommend!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in October. The accommodation was very good and in a convenient part of stonetown. Food was excellent and the rooftop meal was suberb with the lobster cooked to perfection. An experience you must try for yourself. The hospitality of the management especially Donna is second to none. I would whole heartedly recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to visit stonetown

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

On the positive side, it was a beautiful hotel, much nicer looking in person than in pictures.

On the negative side, you cannot smell the hotel before submitting a non-refundable booking. We were assigned the Mercury room last weekend. It was a very pretty room, but it smelled like a combination of mold, bug spray, and Lysol (disinfectant). The smell was very strong! People at reception wanted to burn incense to mask it. They behaved as if the smell was a frequently occurring complaint.

Due to the generosity of a friend who was also staying at the hotel, I ended up switching to the Out of Africa room which did not smell as strong, (but still smelled like mold!). He said he recognized the odor I was talking about at Mercury, but it did not bother him as much.

The funny thing was that he said the odor permeated his clothes. All of us could smell it on our flight home a day later.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jafferji House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jafferji House & Spa

Address: 170 Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Family Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jafferji House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jafferji House & Spa is located in the heart of historical Stone Town, behind the Old Fort, which is just a stroll from the House of Wonders. It is conveniently located to Zanzibar’s most vibrant shops and restaurants on the sea front. Close to Forodhani gardens. Transfer time to and from the airport is about 20 minutes. History of the Building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jafferji House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jafferji House & Spa Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jafferji House & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.