We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome - unique hotel with such a great atmosphere and the most comfy beds and pillows” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jafferji House & Spa

Save Saved
You added Jafferji House & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jafferji House & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 hotels in Stone Town
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome - unique hotel with such a great atmosphere and the most comfy beds and pillows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Had one night in Stonetown And relied on Tripadvisors rating and review - they were spot on. Staff super friendly hotel really clean and the rooms are so neat. I was a single traveller And they upgraded me to the Freddy mercury Room - I felt like a Rockstar!!
I was too busy to stay for breakfast the next morning, and the only negative thing I can say is that aside from the complimentary bottle water in the room - I could have used a really big bottle of water.
Right in the heart of Stonetown this is an awesome hotel!!! (one tho g to note there is no Bar - alcohol here in the actual hotel, but that should be the deal breaker - go next door.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAFFERJI, Owner at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay in Jafferji House and Spa.

Your review serves as a great motivator to the team and would help other travellers make an informed choice on their accommodation requirements when in Zanzibar.

I would like to thank you for this very helpful feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Jafferji House and Spa, sometime in the future.

Sincerely,


JAVED JAFFERJI
OWNER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    36
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
101
26
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bushey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is ideally located in Stone Town itself and close to Forodhani, Beit al Ajaib and the Palace Museum. The decor is interesting with each room individually themed. From the outside, the appearance is deceptive, however, once inside, you are greeted by a tastefully decorated courtyard. The rooms are spacious and fully equipped with all the mod cons. The breakfasts are generous and staff extremely friendly. The place is suitable for families with kids or those looking for a romantic getaway....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAFFERJI, Owner at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest

It is always a pleasure to read that we continue to execute service delivery with a bar of excellence and create an experience for our guests whilst in our hospitality. I will be delighted to share your review with the Hotel teams as its always gratifying when staff efforts are acknowledge by our guests.

I can not thank you enough for the time taken for such a detailed review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Jafferji House and Spa in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely



JAVED JAFFERJI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was a stunning experience...unbelievable decor..like a palace!! so much attention was paid to the tiniest detail..excellent service!! Their managers Donna and Robert were so kind and helpful, they made us feel at home. Looking forward to staying with them again the next time we visit Zanzibar. Highly reccomended!

Room Tip: we stayed in the Princess Salma Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAFFERJI, Owner at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at the Jafferji House and Spa, it is very rewarding for both the team and I to receive such a glowing review.

Our biggest asset are the team we have, all staff across the hotel are very passionate about exceeding the expectations of our guests. Jafferji House and Spa is the centre of excellence when it comes to service delivery and looking after the needs of our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Regards

JAVED JAFFERJI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is a renovation of an Arabic house on a very close proximity to House of Wonders and Old Fort. The owner of the hotel, who is a photographer himself, must be a genious on details and you will see many pictures, small statues, exotic curtains etc... around you. They gave us one of their best rooms (Pricess SALME) which was immediately attracted my wife. We took tens of pictures in our room and hotel, including views from a very nice rooftop. In general hotel was quite new, clean and attractive.

Moreover, they have an outstanding chef, and the meal we had on the first night was the best in our stay at Zanzibar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAFFERJI, Owner at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Jafferji House and Spa whilst visiting Zanzibar.

It is always reassuring to read such positive comments and thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. I will be delighted to pass your compliments onto my entire team and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Next time you should stay in Kama Sutra Suite, it brings new meaning to accomodation in Zanzibar.

Sincerely


JAVED JAFFERJI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Wow!! what an Oasis, a truly remarkable hotel with great character and emotion in the heart of Stone Town. Having travelled the world reviewing some of the most iconic & luxurious hotels including the 7 star Burj Al Arab in Dubai to the famous chain brands Hilton, Kempinsky, Sheraton, Dorchester etc, this hotel is different and offers individuality.
Each suite is intimate but surprisingly big, with room names signifying different historical tales, the doors are classically traditional, the decor from the textures to the sights and the sounds are wonderful, amazing four poster beds, fully air conditioned, free wifi access, vintage furniture and photography, an actual experience and feeling of staying in Zanzibar.
An arabian/african feel to the architecture, not everything is like clockwork and things can often run slow, but that is what gives this place so much character. The staff are all very friendly (Alfons in particular) is a delight. From booking through the manager (Robert) to liasing with the very hospitable owner Mr Jafferji himself online, to checking in at 5am the service was wonderful.
Desi Info Magazine highly recommends this hotel for your short stay in Stonetown, Zanzibar.

Room Tip: The rooms are open plan, literally with the showers and bathroom out in the open - maybe a little di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAFFERJI, Owner at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying at The Jafferji House and Spa on your recent trip to Zanzibar and for taking the time to share your review with us.

We appreciate your time you have taken to share your comments which will indeed help other travellers to make an informed choice on their accommodation when in Zanzibar.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Jafferji House and Spa in the not too distance future.

Sincerely


JAVED JAFFERJI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Jafferji House and Spa and loved every minute. From Reception to Housekeeping, the staff were friendly, professional and willing to go the extra mile. Jafferji is a home away from home and this is felt from the minute you enter through the doors. The decor is rich in culture and I loved walking around looking at the different areas. I believe the success of a place is due to it’s management and after meeting Donna, I could understand why Jafferji House and Spa is a place I will recommend to anyone going to Zanzibar. I hope to be back someday. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAFFERJI, Owner at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest

We appreciate your time you have taken to share your comments which will indeed help other travellers to make an informed choice on their accommodation when in Zanzibar.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Jafferji House and Spa in the not too distance future.

Sincerely,



JAVED JAFFERJI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights recently. Staff and front desk were most helpful. We stayed in the Kabisa suite which was quite comfortable, although a bit dark inside.Very unique layout and decorations which were fabulous. The public sitting area outside the room was a great place to sit and relax "outdoors". We had a terrific rooftop dinner with great views of the city. Superb service and food in a relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast in the next door restaurant was very good with a different variety of rolls and buns each morning. For the most part, wireless internet worked well.

The location was quite convenient with many shops just outside the door or around the corner. Unfortunately, the front desk did not have any maps of the town however.

Overall, we were certainly impressed and would highly recommend the Jafferji House.

Room Tip: We very much enjoyed the Kabisa Suite although there really isn't much of a window to look outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAFFERJI, Owner at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying at Jafferji House and Spa on your recent trip to Zanzibar and for taking the time to share your review with us.

We appreciate your time you have taken to share your comments which will indeed help other travellers to make an informed choice on their accommodation.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Jafferji House and Spa in the not too distance future.

Sincerely


JAVED JAFFERJI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jafferji House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jafferji House & Spa

Address: 170 Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#9 Family Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jafferji House & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jafferji House & Spa is located in the heart of historical Stone Town, behind the Old Fort, which is just a stroll from the House of Wonders. It is conveniently located to Zanzibar’s most vibrant shops and restaurants on the sea front. Close to Forodhani gardens. Transfer time to and from the airport is about 20 minutes. History of the Building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Jafferji House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jafferji House & Spa Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jafferji House & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.