We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply...wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jafferji House & Spa

Save Saved
You added Jafferji House & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jafferji House & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 hotels in Stone Town
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“simply...wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was a stunning experience...unbelievable decor..like a palace!! so much attention was paid to the tiniest detail..excellent service!! Their managers Donna and Robert were so kind and helpful, they made us feel at home. Looking forward to staying with them again the next time we visit Zanzibar. Highly reccomended!

Room Tip: we stayed in the Princess Salma Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAFFERJI, Owner at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at the Jafferji House and Spa, it is very rewarding for both the team and I to receive such a glowing review.

Our biggest asset are the team we have, all staff across the hotel are very passionate about exceeding the expectations of our guests. Jafferji House and Spa is the centre of excellence when it comes to service delivery and looking after the needs of our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Regards

JAVED JAFFERJI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    36
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
99
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is a renovation of an Arabic house on a very close proximity to House of Wonders and Old Fort. The owner of the hotel, who is a photographer himself, must be a genious on details and you will see many pictures, small statues, exotic curtains etc... around you. They gave us one of their best rooms (Pricess SALME) which was immediately attracted my wife. We took tens of pictures in our room and hotel, including views from a very nice rooftop. In general hotel was quite new, clean and attractive.

Moreover, they have an outstanding chef, and the meal we had on the first night was the best in our stay at Zanzibar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAFFERJI, Owner at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Jafferji House and Spa whilst visiting Zanzibar.

It is always reassuring to read such positive comments and thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. I will be delighted to pass your compliments onto my entire team and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Next time you should stay in Kama Sutra Suite, it brings new meaning to accomodation in Zanzibar.

Sincerely


JAVED JAFFERJI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Wow!! what an Oasis, a truly remarkable hotel with great character and emotion in the heart of Stone Town. Having travelled the world reviewing some of the most iconic & luxurious hotels including the 7 star Burj Al Arab in Dubai to the famous chain brands Hilton, Kempinsky, Sheraton, Dorchester etc, this hotel is different and offers individuality.
Each suite is intimate but surprisingly big, with room names signifying different historical tales, the doors are classically traditional, the decor from the textures to the sights and the sounds are wonderful, amazing four poster beds, fully air conditioned, free wifi access, vintage furniture and photography, an actual experience and feeling of staying in Zanzibar.
An arabian/african feel to the architecture, not everything is like clockwork and things can often run slow, but that is what gives this place so much character. The staff are all very friendly (Alfons in particular) is a delight. From booking through the manager (Robert) to liasing with the very hospitable owner Mr Jafferji himself online, to checking in at 5am the service was wonderful.
Desi Info Magazine highly recommends this hotel for your short stay in Stonetown, Zanzibar.

Room Tip: The rooms are open plan, literally with the showers and bathroom out in the open - maybe a little di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAFFERJI, Owner at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying at The Jafferji House and Spa on your recent trip to Zanzibar and for taking the time to share your review with us.

We appreciate your time you have taken to share your comments which will indeed help other travellers to make an informed choice on their accommodation when in Zanzibar.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Jafferji House and Spa in the not too distance future.

Sincerely


JAVED JAFFERJI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Jafferji House and Spa and loved every minute. From Reception to Housekeeping, the staff were friendly, professional and willing to go the extra mile. Jafferji is a home away from home and this is felt from the minute you enter through the doors. The decor is rich in culture and I loved walking around looking at the different areas. I believe the success of a place is due to it’s management and after meeting Donna, I could understand why Jafferji House and Spa is a place I will recommend to anyone going to Zanzibar. I hope to be back someday. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAFFERJI, Owner at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest

We appreciate your time you have taken to share your comments which will indeed help other travellers to make an informed choice on their accommodation when in Zanzibar.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Jafferji House and Spa in the not too distance future.

Sincerely,



JAVED JAFFERJI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights recently. Staff and front desk were most helpful. We stayed in the Kabisa suite which was quite comfortable, although a bit dark inside.Very unique layout and decorations which were fabulous. The public sitting area outside the room was a great place to sit and relax "outdoors". We had a terrific rooftop dinner with great views of the city. Superb service and food in a relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast in the next door restaurant was very good with a different variety of rolls and buns each morning. For the most part, wireless internet worked well.

The location was quite convenient with many shops just outside the door or around the corner. Unfortunately, the front desk did not have any maps of the town however.

Overall, we were certainly impressed and would highly recommend the Jafferji House.

Room Tip: We very much enjoyed the Kabisa Suite although there really isn't much of a window to look outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAFFERJI, Owner at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying at Jafferji House and Spa on your recent trip to Zanzibar and for taking the time to share your review with us.

We appreciate your time you have taken to share your comments which will indeed help other travellers to make an informed choice on their accommodation.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Jafferji House and Spa in the not too distance future.

Sincerely


JAVED JAFFERJI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked two nights and left after one. It was an amazing place BUT the musty odor was overwhelming. It hit us as soon as we walked in the lobby. The room was gorgeous and I would have loved it but it too was musty smelling. They came twice to burn incense and that helped.
The breakfast was wonderful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAFFERJI, Owner at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest

I am sorry to hear that you had checked out earlier as there was musty odour in your room. I sincerely apologise for that and after my investigation I was told that we had some leakages in the bathroom and had caused that.

Zanzibar Stone Town is old and this building in almost 100 years old, We normally do regular checks but in your case this was not the case.

I am sorry and I hope you will return to Jafferji House and Spa.

Regards


JAVED JAFFERJI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Attention to detail, great concept and good location. You enter this place and you move back in time. Best in Stone Town, this is pure magic. Spa located on the top level, with a big bathtub and massage tables. Rooms don't have numbers - they have names and character.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAFFERJI, Owner at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying at Jafferji House and Spa on your recent trip to Zanzibar and for taking the time to share your review with us.

We appreciate your time you have taken to share your comments which will indeed help other travellers to make an informed choice on their accommodation when in Zanzibar.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Jafferji House and Spa not too distance future.

Sincerely


JAVED JAFFERJI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jafferji House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jafferji House & Spa

Address: 170 Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Family Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jafferji House & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jafferji House & Spa is located in the heart of historical Stone Town, behind the Old Fort, which is just a stroll from the House of Wonders. It is conveniently located to Zanzibar’s most vibrant shops and restaurants on the sea front. Close to Forodhani gardens. Transfer time to and from the airport is about 20 minutes. History of the Building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Jafferji House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jafferji House & Spa Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jafferji House & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.