We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault it! Beautiful place. Fantastic staff. Super helpful and friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hiliki House

Save Saved
You added Hiliki House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hiliki House
Victoria St, Vuga, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cannot fault it! Beautiful place. Fantastic staff. Super helpful and friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I arrived in Stone Town alone a few days before my friend - I was greeted by the charming Moudy at the door and ushered into the cool and beautiful house. My room was cool and clean with a lovely Zanzibar bed, great bathroom with hot shower. The staff were so helpful and friendly - organised my shared bus to Kendwa at a good price and even took me to the spice and meat markets which I might not have done alone! They welcomed me with coffee and free wifi today when I returned from the beach - but unfortunately can't stay there because it's fully booked! Nevertheless they helped me find another place! It's a little walk 5 mins from the centre but if you were a couple you'd be fine - this place is an absolute gem!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinunakarume, Manager at Hiliki House, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thanks Laura for your honest and objective review. Being a small and unique establishment in the stone town, with the view to provide good service and value for money, managed by locals (amazing Moudy), reviews such as yours are very helpful to visitors who are looking for nice and affordable accommodation in the Stone Town. Because of our small size and competitive prices, we can only depend on "word of mouth" to market Hiliki and in view of this, trip advisor has been a useful platform to market Hiliki. Ahsante sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    30
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
57
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Korogwe, Tanga, Tanzania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I really enjoyed staying in this charming hotel. Although our breakfast was a bit late on day and out air conditioner had problems, I really enjoyed being here. We paid $140 a night for 3 people (2 rooms) in March. The standout part of our stay here was Moudy, the manager. He was fun to hang out with, engaging, helpful, and always available. We got to learn about his life and see a window into being from Zanzibar, his English was excellent, and he was very attentive to our needs. On the first day we asked him about day excursions and he organized a number of outings or us at a cheaper price than we could have gotten at any tour place. Every time we had a complaint or suggestion he would fix the problem right away. I highly advise this place if it is within your price range (I don't know if it's a bargain stay, but it definately was an enjoyable place to be.) It's a great location for exploring Stone Town on foot- near beaches, restaurants, easy to get places, but not too loud.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was so pleased I stayed in Hiliki House. The rooms are lovely, the location is great and the service is friendly. You really couldn't ask for more. It's a great spot for exploring Stone Town and I even benefited from a quick orientation tour of the town by Mohdi to help me find my bearings when I arrived. Oh... and it was the best shower I had in Tanzania.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here three nights in March and really found it perfect for what we wanted- reasonably priced, well located to walk around Stone Town and not too noisy. Our room was simple but lovely with A/C which normally I don't bother with but it was very hot when we were there so it was nice to have a cool room to retreat to when we wanted. The location is great, down a small side street so a little out of the middle of the action (which was good in our book as it was peaceful) but very easy walking distance to everything in Stone Town. We walked back in the evening and felt safe. Nice breakfast and nice common room as well. For the price this is a very nice place. We also organised a boat trip with staff here for some snorkelling, again great for the price we paid.

Room Tip: We had a room with separate toilet but it was still private and right across the hall so no worries...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent two nights at Hiliki House in July 2012. It's a beautiful place located in a quiet area just outside the bustling center of Stone Town (it's an easy walk to the shops and historical sites). We had a large, airy room on the ground floor (right next to the reception). It was everything we wanted - elegantly furnished, cool, quiet, and very clean. Same goes for the bathroom. My only complaint is that there was a problem with the water heater in the bathroom, which wasn't fixed during our 2 day stay. It wasn't a big deal though, since the weather was so hot. Breakfast was plentiful and served upstairs in a bright, breezy room full of books, antique furniture, and lovely carpets. All in all, we were very pleased with our choice!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This guesthouse is a beautiful colonial-style house and has done a great job on the details. Its well maintained rooms are good in size and have stylish and very comfortable furniture. Very clean and welcoming, and a very friendly staff. We loved the relaxed and quiet atmosphere, the breeze coming in from the large windows in the common area, and the delicious breakfast. It's a really good choice to stay and enjoy Stone Town for a day or two. There is no outside area and the beaches in Stone Town are not great, so if you are planning a beach holiday I would recommend to go to the east side of the island. But first stop at Hiliki House for a few days!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We chose Hiliki House because it was better priced compared to the other main hotels in central Stone Town. It is an easy 7 to 10 minute walk to the main part of town so it was a good location overall. We stayed in 2 different rooms upstairs and both were uniquely decorated. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning was in perfect order. The bathroom was very clean and nicely designed with plenty of hot water. The breakfast was basic but fine for a quick trip in Zanzibar. The common room was nice to lounge in and also nicely decorated. The staff arranged a few tours and even bought our ferry tickets back to Dar Es Salaam for us which really helped save us precious time. Great value for money and two thumbs up.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hiliki House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiliki House

Address: Victoria St, Vuga, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hiliki house is a colonial architectural style house with 6 bedrooms, a spacious, open and airy living room overlooking the famous Victoria Gardens, where guests can relish Swahili Continental style breakfast, relax and enjoy FREE WIFI. The house is idealy located, in a quiet residential part of the Stone Town but yet 5 minutes walk from all the important land marks. There are a total of 6 tastefully furnished bedrooms, all fully air-conditioned (split unit), swahili style bathrooms, comfortable mattresses and pillows and essential amenities. A small kitchen for guests is located on the first floor equipped with a refrigerators, hot water kettle, and crockery and cutlery, with an "Honest Bar" for a fresh beer, wine or sodas. Hiliki house offers tranquillity, comfortable, and hospitable service in the backdrop of swahili deco, the ONLY accommodation of such setup, standard, location and size in the stone town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hiliki House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hiliki House Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hiliki House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.