We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique, romantic and cozy palace tucked away in central Stonetown where customer service is top notch.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mashariki Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mashariki Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Mashariki Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nyumba Ya Moto Street | Cn. 293, Stone Town 3904, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A unique, romantic and cozy palace tucked away in central Stonetown where customer service is top notch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

From the moment my friends and I were greeted at the entrance of the Mashariki Palace Hotel until our departure 3 days later, the management and staff always ensured our stay was more than pleasant.

I was quite impressed with our greeting and introduction to the history of the palace and Stone Town. Our room was so unique and beautiful as it was a bi-level room to accommodate 4 total guests. It was spacious,
clean and comfortable.

A complimentary breakfast each morning was always delicious! We enjoyed having a glass of wine each evening at the top of the palace to take in breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean and nearby Stone Town buildings.

I look forward to going back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvanoalb, Direttore at Mashariki Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear valuable guest, we sincerely thank you for your... "cosy"... review ! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    34
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
116
28
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We enjoyed the majestic setting of this hotel, the kind reception of Michela and all the staff. The hotel is very well situated and the rooms are all different, we had a very comfortable one, with beautiful furniture, although not a great view. The interior garden in the center of the hotel is beautifully designed and it is a great complement to the grandeur of the building. We enjoyed being there very close to all the places you want to visit in Stonetown. Michela and her staff helped us with our plans in a very personal and generous way. We strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room ask for another option, there seems to be various choices, for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvanoalb, Direttore at Mashariki Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dears, greetings from Mashariki palace hotel! thanks a lot for your comments! All the best from mashariki Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The staff are marvellous and really go the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and taken care of. The location is perfectly located between the port and everything in Stone Town. The rooms and grounds are majestic. Breakfast was wonderful and the view! (The eggs were maybe not the best if I need to say something critical). I would stay there again for sure. Oh and the bed was really comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest room without a balcony or anything, but it was wonderful and just a step o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michela M, Manager at Mashariki Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Katie,
Many thanks for sharing your experience with us and write so kind comments.
Positive guest feedback is treasured and keeps the motivation high.
Creating a pleasant guest experience is our priority.
We hope to host you again at Mashariki,
Asante sana!
Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
408 helpful votes 408 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at this recently restored (using original materials and methods) palace, which had been used by the Imam to the Sultan of Oman. As we were completing check-in procedures, the general manager, Michela, came to greet us and explained the history of the hotel. The hotel has elegant interiors with various common areas and restraint has been used with furnishings to allow the palace to shine. The central courtyard is a focal and restful point. The traditional furnishings are tasteful and restrained.

Our spacious room, 32, had high ceilings, a charming poster bed with mosquito netting, night tables, desk, daybed, and sitting area. The bathroom had good amenities, hairdryer and the shower was separate from the toilet and sink. There is complimentary wifi throughout the hotel.

There is no lift and our room was up three flights of stairs. The restaurant is on the rooftop with glorious views of the harbor (one more flight of stairs). If mobility is an issue, this should be taken into consideration.

The restaurant was fantastic venue for dinner. The staff were friendly and professional, the food and wine prices very moderate (wines by the glass from 5!), and we are still dreaming about the exquisite crab ravioli entrée we enjoyed. Breakfast is a combination of buffet and orders for hot items and although breakfast does not normally feature in our day, we enjoyed the offering.

The hotel is conveniently and centrally located, less than a two minute walk from the waterfront (yes, the streets are not in good condition and there is some rubbish around – making the contrast to the Mashariki Palace all the greater!). We were always happy to return to the peace and style of the hotel after a few hours bumbling around Stone Town.

The staff were friendly, welcoming and along with Michela, provided all the assistance to ensure we had a wonderful stay in Stone Town.

Highly recommend the charming hotel and the fantastic rooftop restaurant when in Stone Town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michela M, Manager at Mashariki Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guests from Australia......
Many thanks for taking the time to write this positive review
The comments regarding the general attitude of the staff is most rewarding and appreciated. Creating an agreeable guest experience is priority number one.
I m very happy to hear that you and your family had such a pleasant stay enjoying the atmosphere of the Mashariki
Your generous compliments have been shared with every team member.
Hoping to see you soon again, we wish you all the best
Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We recently stayed several nights at the Mashariki in Stone Town. We arrived after a long day at the beach with our 3 year old and 6 month old and were warmly welcomed. Our three year old played princess in the palace for the next several days and we never felt disruptive even though it is a bit more of a formal environment! The place is really lovely as well in general and our room was perfectly set up with baby cots ready. I will say, however, that certain aspects are a bit expensive--we ordered soup and bread for our daughter one night to the room and somehow were charged $28!! (We ordered it without asking about price). Beyond that, though, the (included) breakfast was great, the view spectacular, it is really central yet quiet and charming and the hotel was able to easily help us arrange excursions and transport. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a bit of old world (but still luxurious) authenticity in Stone Town. n

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michela M, Manager at Mashariki Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Christina
Thanks so much for your kind comments. It help us to always try to improve.
I am very glad that you and your kids have been found at ease.
I'm sorry for the cost of two soups and salad. It was a mistake to priced as a main course, but even more I regret not having been able to know during your stay. It seemed to me that all was well for you.
I hope to see you back for giving me the opportunity to remedy the neglect and ensure a consistently great service.
On behalf of all the staff thank you again for choosing Mashariki.
Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel and we would certainly return! We were met politely having arrived very late after a 2 hour delay. We checked in quickly with a drink an we're shown our room. It would have been nice if the receptionist could have copied our passports the next day as it was gone 11pm. Anyway, the room was beautiful, with lovely high ceilings, a huge comfy bed, wonderful pillows, etc. really nice! The shower/bathroom area very nice too, with good toiletries. However, during 2 nights and countless showers we were unable to get hot water. I did tell the owner this and she said she would fix it while we were out sight seeing but it didn't seem fixed. The breakfast was good, on a lovely rooftop with lovely croissants and homemade jams - very nice! The first day I had the fry up but it was poor - I sent the bacon back to be cooked again and the mushrooms I think came from a tin so were a little grim. However, the toast, fruit, cereal, tea/coffee was all very good. It was great that there was wireless! The location was perfct. As we checked out, we were told that the money wired for the hotel hadn't been paid in its entirety - they were short $30. We were mystified, and the hotel didn't seem to know why. So it was surprising to learn, when we we went to our bank to investigate, that THEIR bank charge $30 to receive money, from any back! Even though, surely, they cannot incur costs if they are recieving money?? Either way, it was a shame. We would still stay at the hotel again because it is such a lovely building and the location was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michela M, General Manager at Mashariki Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
dear Kate,
thank you very much for your review, and I hope that in the meantime you have received sufficient details about the bank charges
Thanks and greetings from all the staff of Mashariki, hoping to host you again.
Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The palace is without doubt very beautiful and the service is execellent.
Despite the price most probably is within the average for this range of hotels, in my opinion the cost is a bit high.
The restaurant on the roof is fantastic and the food good. Cocktails can be imporoved.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michela M, Manager at Mashariki Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guido
We want to first of all to thank you for the compliments and for your suggestion that we welcome with great respect for improve more and more our work.
We assure you of our best services and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mashariki Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mashariki Palace Hotel

Address: Nyumba Ya Moto Street | Cn. 293, Stone Town 3904, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mashariki Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Town, Zanzibar: Exotic and mystical, evocative of the centuries of sultans, traders, adventurers and explorers who came to these magical isles of Zanzibar off the Swahili East African coast, leaving a cultural and architectural fusion which echoes its proud history of Persian, Arabian, Indian, Colonial and African influences.Stone Town is now home to the new MASHARIKI PALACE Hotel. This is the Eastern Palace on the islands, once the seat of the Omani empire spanning a thousand miles, created by the first sultan of Zanzibar almost 200 years ago. The domicile of the Sultan's religious councillor is now restored beyond its former magnificence.The MASHARIKI PALACE Hotel is a privileged residence for travellers choosing refined hospitality in a historical setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mashariki Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mashariki Palace Hotel Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mashariki Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.