We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic beauty with a touch of stylish chic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mashariki Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mashariki Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Mashariki Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nyumba Ya Moto Street | Cn. 293, Stone Town 3904, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
Zanzibar, Tanzania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Historic beauty with a touch of stylish chic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

stayed a few days.
loved the stylish, chic interpretation of a Zanzibarian palace.
very simple with amazing use of colours to highlight the architecture.
the room we stayed in was very high, spacious and good view of the ocean

the hotel has an excellent position closed to the habour area & the evening food market.
the more interesting, ,upper end shopping areas (we are talking Stone Town standards here) are just behind the hotel. the roof top terrasse gives you a beautiful view in the morning for breakfast or for a sundowner.

the staff is very friendly & helpful, the managers an Italian couple - delightful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    34
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
116
28
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Beautifull rooms (we have been upgraded), great food (a bit expensive though as you have to take a 3 courses menu). The manager and the staff are also very helpfull. The position is also ideal to visit Stonetown (but hard to find!).

Room Tip: The room on the top floor with see view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I recently spent two nights in Stonetown. We had wanted to book into the Emerson Spice based on the tripadvisor reviews but when we were booking the trip, they were in the middle of renovations. I would rank this hotel as somewhere between average and very good. We had one of their larger rooms and it was certainly spacious with plenty of windows and a sliver of a view of the water.

The hotel occupies an old palace, hence the name. The walls are very thick stone and the architecture is certainly interesting and the renovations have tried to stay true to the old architectural influences.

Although the room was quite spacious, good sized closet space, desk, etc. but the bathroom area is very cramped with virtually no where to set out any toiletries. This is an unfortunate design flaw as the room is larger than it needs to be so just not that well designed.

There is a/c and boy did we ever need it as Stonetown, at least in February, is blisteringly hot and humid.

Breakfast was included and is provided in a partially open air area on the top floor with views over the rooftops to the Indian Ocean. The breakfast room was charming and breakfast was very good.

We had dinner there on our first night - it is served in the same area that the breakfast is served and is not really open to the public. The menu is extremely limited (two choices for each dish) and must be booked and food ordered before six. Food was good, service was good but after spending time in both Namibia and South Africa we found the food and wine to be very expensive. As it turns out, we ate the following night elsewhere and it was much more reasonable and just as good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renato r, Manager at Mashariki Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,thank you for your attentive review .
You are right,our palace was carefully restaured from an ancient residence of a Sultan of 1800 and this way every room is different from the other,and this way in some room seems not to be made optimum use of the space like in a today's hotel,where the rooms are all the same : this is the reason of his fascination !
About the restaurant,we use only organic ingredients : pasta,bread,and focaccia are home made with whole flour,we cook only with extra virgin olive oil from tuscany,that we put also in the pesto made with basil from our garden and for the desserts we use only brown sugar and selected fruit . This ,with the perfect service and a good " mise en place" make the difference between a economic and a more expensive but healthy cuisine...
We wish you a pleasant journey and we hope to see you soon at Mashariki Palace !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights at the Mashariki Palace hotel. Loved every facet of the experience - the staff were so friendly and attentive, the whole property was lovingly restored and spotless (the Arab feel to the property was amazing), the Italian managers were genuinely friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was delicious. Great location with good access to the main attractions of Stone Town. Loved the way the airconditioned was set up and the room smelling great when I got back each evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvanoalb, Proprietario at Mashariki Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Wow... you are an expert rewiever! Many thanks for your comments.
A big hug from MasharikiPalace hotel Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajaccio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed one night on my arrival at Zanzibar. Beautifully restored palace on a perfect position in Stonetown. Staff and managers are very gentle and efficient.
Loved everything in this boutique hotel: The architecture, my room, the dinner on the rooftop and the feeling to be a "prince of persia".
Grazie Renato, Amicizia di Corsica

Room Tip: Each rooms are beautifull and unique but if you stay long, book a Forodhani room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Staff very good. Great position Restaurant food very good and breakfast very good as well. Stone town is very hot so the air conditioning struggles a bit does need a plunge pool but no room. Be warned you have to walk up a lane to get to the hotel but it is fine and there is someone who will grab your bag to carry for a small tip. The people are very poor so have a lot of small change to give tips for services rendered. Eg to get you to a certain place. It's very safe if you are careful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed there for 6 nights to do business. The road toward the entrance was small and narrow and it was difficult to find the hotel. Once entering the hotel, I flet that this is well-maintained and well-organized. The room as well as public space was very clean and tidy. They served three bottles of minaral water every day as complementary. This was very helpful for me. The air con, the shower, and other electric appliances worked well. Internet is available in and outside the room although the speed is not international standard (but it is acceptable). I could enjoy breakfast and dinner on the roof with freshning breeze. The fresh juice is superb. The location of the hotel is perfect to access to the Governmental organizations, and restaurants. I did not have to use any transportations except for going to the airport. The staff there was friendly. The desk in my room was a little bit small to put both a lap top PC and a printer that I brought from my home. But I could manage to work well by putting a small table next to the desk.
Anyhow, I was really satisfied with the hotel. I could finish my mission on schedule. Thanks for the hospitality. I'd like to return to the hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvanoalb, Proprietario at Mashariki Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks a lot for your comments. This spur us to keep high our obbligations.
All the best from MasharikiPalace hotel staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mashariki Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mashariki Palace Hotel

Address: Nyumba Ya Moto Street | Cn. 293, Stone Town 3904, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mashariki Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Town, Zanzibar: Exotic and mystical, evocative of the centuries of sultans, traders, adventurers and explorers who came to these magical isles of Zanzibar off the Swahili East African coast, leaving a cultural and architectural fusion which echoes its proud history of Persian, Arabian, Indian, Colonial and African influences.Stone Town is now home to the new MASHARIKI PALACE Hotel. This is the Eastern Palace on the islands, once the seat of the Omani empire spanning a thousand miles, created by the first sultan of Zanzibar almost 200 years ago. The domicile of the Sultan's religious councillor is now restored beyond its former magnificence.The MASHARIKI PALACE Hotel is a privileged residence for travellers choosing refined hospitality in a historical setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mashariki Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mashariki Palace Hotel Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mashariki Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.