We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“traditional / minimal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mashariki Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mashariki Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mashariki Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nyumba Ya Moto Street | Cn. 293, Stone Town 3904, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 hotels in Stone Town
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“traditional / minimal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A good option for a Stone Town stopover, this hotel is beautifully renovated in a minimal style while still preserving the Stone Town character. The comfortable rooftop bar / restaurant offered spectacular sunset views and our breakfast there was enjoyable the following morning. WiFi signal was good and the staff friendly and helpful. Recommended.

Room Tip: I regretted not opting for one of the premium rooms as our standard room was on the small side and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    31
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
28
103
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My family stayed in this fantastic hotel, regrettably only for 1 night at the end of a week on Zanzibar. We had been booked into another hotel but when we read the reviews we switched, and are very glad we did so. From the moment we arrived in the calm, and coolness of the hotel reception which is decorated in neutral earthy colours, we knew we had made the right choice for the night.

We were greeted by Farooq, who I think is the manager, and who gave us a bit of history of how the old palace had been restored and a guided tour of the premises. The refurb has been carried out in such a tasteful manner and in total harmony to its surroundings and history.

We were taken to rooms 21 and 22 I think and had our own shared landing sun lounging area and as many amenities as one could try to immagine for a 4-5 star hotel.

Once we had ventured out and visit some of the many sights and atractions Stonetown has to offer, and been stifled by the heat, the crowded labrynth of narrow streets and alley ways it was an absolute pleasure to return to the hotel. We felt as though we had arrived back in some sort of oasis, and this was only enhanced by adjourning to the rooftop bar / terrace for a cocktail whilst watching the crowds gathering in Fodorahni Gardens, the Dows sailing past on the coast and a spectacular sunset beyond.

As stated earlier our only regret with our stay at the Mashariki Palace was that we were staying for only 1 night. If in Stonetown, I would really loved to have stayed another night. It is the only city in the world where I have ever felt like I had entered into a new world when I left the streets and walked through the doors of a really special hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvanoalb, Proprietario at Mashariki Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
On behalf of all our staff : thanks thanks thanks a lot ! Wishing for you all the best.
Silvano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The mashariki palace is absolutely stunning the decor is simply beautiful and the location is perfect! My room is large with every facility in perfect working order. The staff are very helpful, courteous and friendly. The rooftop restaurant has an amazing view and the food is just as amazing!
I would recommend this hotel and I intend to return

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The things we loved: the architecture, the views from the terrace, our room facing old narrow residential streets in Stone Town, the food, the location and most of all the Manager and Staff's hospitality. I'm not sure if the Manager is the same, but he took the time to tell us all about the hotel, the area as well as helped us get hooked up with our next destination outside of Stone Town. I was amazed at the pampered treatment we received! Great find, great place and great management.

Room Tip: We preferred the top floor rooms (bottom floor is nice too--but to floor gets you the experience of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvanoalb, Proprietario at Mashariki Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
On behalf of all the staff I wish to thank you for your stay at Mashariki Palace hotel and for your comment. To think that a crumb of us is in your heart is great!
All the best.
Silvano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here for three nights recently at the conclusion of our holiday in Tanzania. And what a fantastic hotel this was! This achingly beautiful hotel resides in a renovated palace complex that once belonged to the Sultan of Zanzibar. One can best fully appreciate the palpable history and romance to this hotel on the roof top bar, cocktail in hand and to the background of the call to prayer from distant minarets. Amazing rooms that takes you back to another place and time. Staff are helpful and knowledgeable and willing to make the extra effort to make your stay memorable. A special thanks to the manager that arranged for an escort to our restaurant during the recent protest at the edge of Stonetown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvanoalb, Proprietario at Mashariki Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
...simply brillant...is your comment. Thanks a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This old palace was beautifully renovated. It is very well located in Stonetown and the staff is very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed for almost 3 weeks at Mashariki and it was simply a great experience. The hotel is magnificent and each and every detail is very tasteful. I traveled a lot through out Africa and never experienced such quality of service. Staff and management are friendly and attentive and I felt pampered during my stay.

P.S. I was in the same room and I liked being waken up by the Hindu Temple and the Muezzin. Very exotic and no need for an alarm clock!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Mashariki Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Hello Jo! Yes, we remeber you very well of course...after three weeks with us! Thanks a lot for your stay and for all your suggestions.
On behalf of all the staff a very warm ARRIVEDERCI...may be for four weeks next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mashariki Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mashariki Palace Hotel

Address: Nyumba Ya Moto Street | Cn. 293, Stone Town 3904, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mashariki Palace Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Town, Zanzibar: Exotic and mystical, evocative of the centuries of sultans, traders, adventurers and explorers who came to these magical isles of Zanzibar off the Swahili East African coast, leaving a cultural and architectural fusion which echoes its proud history of Persian, Arabian, Indian, Colonial and African influences.Stone Town is now home to the new MASHARIKI PALACE Hotel. This is the Eastern Palace on the islands, once the seat of the Omani empire spanning a thousand miles, created by the first sultan of Zanzibar almost 200 years ago. The domicile of the Sultan's religious councillor is now restored beyond its former magnificence.The MASHARIKI PALACE Hotel is a privileged residence for travellers choosing refined hospitality in a historical setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mashariki Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mashariki Palace Hotel Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mashariki Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.