We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mashariki Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mashariki Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Mashariki Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nyumba Ya Moto Street | Cn. 293, Stone Town 3904, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed at this great hotel twice during our trip to Zanzibar. It is a brand new boutique hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean and beautifully appointed. The hotel is an oasis of calm.

The staff were exceptionally helpful and accomodating in all respects, even taking us to a bank rather than merely providing directions.

Should we ever return to Stonetown, we would most certainly stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    34
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
116
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We booked just one night, but I wish we could have stayed for longer because the hotel was absolutely stunning. The rooms were beautifully designed, clean, spacious and luxurious, with comfortable beds. We had a delicious breakfast (lots of buffet options plus eggs made to order) and afternoon tea at the rooftop restaurant, which had an amazing view of the beach and streets of Stone Town.

Service was outstanding - far exceeding that of any other hotel that I have stayed in before. The staff was welcoming, gracious, and extremely helpful with everything from recommending local eateries and sights to see, to helping organise tours and transport. The location was perfect for us, being just a minutes walk to the Old Fort.

Highly recommended. Will definitely stay here again if returning to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

A marvelous architectural accomplishment in the restoration of an Arabian palace. Because of its location, it is nothing to look at on the outside, but the interior and the courtyard are beautiful. Peter, an expatriate from Switzerland, was a delightful host. Our room was cool, quiet, and charming. It was the perfect place to stay in Stone Town because of the cultural ambiance that it provided and because it is so conveniently located. The hotel arranged efficient taxi service for us. We enjoyed a fascinating walk to the market. It was an easy walk to the Serena Hotel for our evening meal. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the harbor was delightful. An evening stroll through the garden was fascinating. Boys were diving from the wall into the harbor, the air was permeated with the aroma from vendors cooking on open grills, local families were visiting and chattering.

Room Tip: A must is an evening stroll through the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night on our honeymoon and cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. Fabulous boutique rooms (with a free upgrade as on our honeymoon too!), each unique as set in the old palace of Stone Town. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was brilliant (other half says its the best omlette he has ever had!). Although worth noting that they dont have an eveving restaurant, but do provide free cakes and afternoon tea for guests. The hotel is in a perfect location for exploring Stone Town too. I really hope this new hotel proves to be a success for the owners as it deserves to do well. I would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed at the Mashariki Palace on my maiden voyage to Zanzibar. I was working in Dar for two weeks and ended up going back the following weekend as well and took three of my coworkers to stay here.

The Palace is tucked away in the winding streets of Stone Town and while slightly difficult to find, was an oasis of serenity and calm. The first weekend I stayed at the palace, I was the only guest and the manager and asst. manager and all of the staff where SO extremely helpful, I would have stayed there again and again just for the hospitality!

The hotel is a completely renovated palace (take a look at the before and after pictures, it is amazing) with top of the line renovations and updates. Each room is literally the size of a palace room as the architect (and owner) did not want to compromise the integrity of the original palace by making smaller rooms to pack in more people.

The furnishings and interior of the palace are simple and chic. You could likely stay in the palace all day and take some of the most amazing pictures you've ever seen. This is truly a luxury boutique hotel with amazing service (something you usually don't find too often in SSA hotels), great location and exceptional hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011 via mobile

My experience in the Mashariki Hotel was simply SPECTACULAR. The hotel is a hidden gem in Stone Town. The amazing architecture, wonderful rooms and unforgettable experience made our stay there one of the best ever. I want to express my sincere gratitude to the INCREDIBLE STAFF which made our days there perfect! Thank you so much to all of you guys! Definitely the hotel is a must in Zanzibar, don't miss it!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights at the hotel and we ABSOLUTELY loved everything about it. The service was excellent, view from the restaurant amazing and the rooms were very spacious- comfy beds by the way. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The location is great; next to Forodhani Gardens where we had our Zanzibari ‘dinner’. . .by the way be sure to have a taste of the ‘pizza’, LOL! On our last day, we took a trip to the Spice Farms and a boat ride to Prison Island. The hotel management was gracious enough to allow a very late check-out (5pm) since our flight was at 1830Hrs. It’s still a very new hotel and I hope they maintain the high standards.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mashariki Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mashariki Palace Hotel

Address: Nyumba Ya Moto Street | Cn. 293, Stone Town 3904, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mashariki Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Town, Zanzibar: Exotic and mystical, evocative of the centuries of sultans, traders, adventurers and explorers who came to these magical isles of Zanzibar off the Swahili East African coast, leaving a cultural and architectural fusion which echoes its proud history of Persian, Arabian, Indian, Colonial and African influences.Stone Town is now home to the new MASHARIKI PALACE Hotel. This is the Eastern Palace on the islands, once the seat of the Omani empire spanning a thousand miles, created by the first sultan of Zanzibar almost 200 years ago. The domicile of the Sultan's religious councillor is now restored beyond its former magnificence.The MASHARIKI PALACE Hotel is a privileged residence for travellers choosing refined hospitality in a historical setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mashariki Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mashariki Palace Hotel Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mashariki Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.