We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mashariki Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mashariki Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Mashariki Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nyumba ya Moto St., P.O. Box 3904 | Cn. 293, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Stone Town
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A grand experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

A marvelous architectural accomplishment in the restoration of an Arabian palace. Because of its location, it is nothing to look at on the outside, but the interior and the courtyard are beautiful. Peter, an expatriate from Switzerland, was a delightful host. Our room was cool, quiet, and charming. It was the perfect place to stay in Stone Town because of the cultural ambiance that it provided and because it is so conveniently located. The hotel arranged efficient taxi service for us. We enjoyed a fascinating walk to the market. It was an easy walk to the Serena Hotel for our evening meal. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the harbor was delightful. An evening stroll through the garden was fascinating. Boys were diving from the wall into the harbor, the air was permeated with the aroma from vendors cooking on open grills, local families were visiting and chattering.

Room Tip: A must is an evening stroll through the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    36
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
122
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night on our honeymoon and cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. Fabulous boutique rooms (with a free upgrade as on our honeymoon too!), each unique as set in the old palace of Stone Town. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was brilliant (other half says its the best omlette he has ever had!). Although worth noting that they dont have an eveving restaurant, but do provide free cakes and afternoon tea for guests. The hotel is in a perfect location for exploring Stone Town too. I really hope this new hotel proves to be a success for the owners as it deserves to do well. I would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed at the Mashariki Palace on my maiden voyage to Zanzibar. I was working in Dar for two weeks and ended up going back the following weekend as well and took three of my coworkers to stay here.

The Palace is tucked away in the winding streets of Stone Town and while slightly difficult to find, was an oasis of serenity and calm. The first weekend I stayed at the palace, I was the only guest and the manager and asst. manager and all of the staff where SO extremely helpful, I would have stayed there again and again just for the hospitality!

The hotel is a completely renovated palace (take a look at the before and after pictures, it is amazing) with top of the line renovations and updates. Each room is literally the size of a palace room as the architect (and owner) did not want to compromise the integrity of the original palace by making smaller rooms to pack in more people.

The furnishings and interior of the palace are simple and chic. You could likely stay in the palace all day and take some of the most amazing pictures you've ever seen. This is truly a luxury boutique hotel with amazing service (something you usually don't find too often in SSA hotels), great location and exceptional hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

My experience in the Mashariki Hotel was simply SPECTACULAR. The hotel is a hidden gem in Stone Town. The amazing architecture, wonderful rooms and unforgettable experience made our stay there one of the best ever. I want to express my sincere gratitude to the INCREDIBLE STAFF which made our days there perfect! Thank you so much to all of you guys! Definitely the hotel is a must in Zanzibar, don't miss it!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights at the hotel and we ABSOLUTELY loved everything about it. The service was excellent, view from the restaurant amazing and the rooms were very spacious- comfy beds by the way. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The location is great; next to Forodhani Gardens where we had our Zanzibari ‘dinner’. . .by the way be sure to have a taste of the ‘pizza’, LOL! On our last day, we took a trip to the Spice Farms and a boat ride to Prison Island. The hotel management was gracious enough to allow a very late check-out (5pm) since our flight was at 1830Hrs. It’s still a very new hotel and I hope they maintain the high standards.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

The Mashariki Palace Hotel is a classic expression of Zanzibari design and architecture done in a simple and elegant way. The contemporary style finished mainly in stunning golds and off whites is a breath of fresh air. Just what Stone Town needed!
The attention to detail, such as beautifully carved wooden screens throwing interesting shadows onto the wall and Jasmin essential oil and fresh cloves on your bathroom sink is a great finishing touch.

The courtyard garden is a lush retreat away from the busy Stone Town streets. Complete the day with a cup of tea on the rooftop terrace, overlooking the sunset behind the picturesque Dhow boats.

A truly beautiful and calm place to be.

Room Tip: Ask the Manager for recommendations
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We had a wonderful stay for 4 nights in Mashariki Palace hotel. You will definitely be pampered with luxury and style!

Mashariki Palace is located in the heart of Stone Town, next to the House of Wonders and right in front of the Forodhani Gardens, where they have a very nice nightmarket with tasty food. The narrow streets, the market, the shops, restaurants, divingschools, the sea, everything is close to the hotel. The ferry is in walking distance, the airport only a 10 minutes ride (10.000 Tsh for a taxi).

Mashariki Palace is very subtle decorated. The Italian owner is an architect and engineer and he really has a delicate taste! A wonderful mix of Arabic, African and modern design. Thick walls, high ceilings, huge bedrooms, rainshower, free wifi access, cosy corners and open hallways. There is a rooftop restaurant with seaview, a sundeck, no swimmingpool yet, but the beach is nearby.

The hotel has only 18 rooms, but every room is unique. We stayed in room 41. Room 41 is a smaller room but you will have your own balcony and three windows with seaview, room 15 is huge and has beautiful high ceilings, room 17 is large too and very nicely decorated and room 14 has a spacious livingroom downstairs and a spacious bedroom upstairs.

The general manager Peter Flueckiger from Switzerland makes you feel welcome and is very warm and helpful, such as the rest of the staff. Your room will be cleaned twice a day. The first time an overall cleaning, the second time in the late afternoon/evening they prepare the mosquitonet around your bed and clean some little things. If you like some bananacake with honey or tea masala around 16.00 pm, please ask for waiter Francis! The breakfast on the roof is simple, but very tasty. You can ask for fried or boiled eggs with bacon and sausages and they even serve espresso and cappuccino!

Our conclusion: don't hesitate to go there. Mashariki Palace is definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mashariki Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mashariki Palace Hotel

Address: Nyumba ya Moto St., P.O. Box 3904 | Cn. 293, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mashariki Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Town, Zanzibar, exotic, magic and still evokes its incredible past of sultans, missionaries, traders, adventurers and explorers. These magical islands off the Swahili East African Coast have been a real magnet since time immemorial and all those who passed by left their marks. Stone Town, on the Unguja Island, for a certain period of time was even the capital of the Omani Empire. Everywhere you can still see and feel the cultural and architectural fusions echoing Persian, Arabian, Indian, Colonial and African influences. Stone Town today is home to the "new" Mashariki Palace Hotel. Mashariki, which means "east" in Kiswahili, according to the old documents seems to derive its name from its position, in fact of all the sultan's palaces it was the one located more to the east (the Sultan residence was in the near-by palace known as Beit-al-Sahel). Constructed by the first sultan of Zanzibar approximately 200 years ago, Mashariki Palace served as the residence of the Imam, the Sultan's first religious counselor. The building hosting the boutique hotel has now been carefully restored as per the original plan in order to reflect the antique glory and magnificence.The Mashariki Palace Hotel is a privileged residence for those travelers favoring refined hospitality in a charming setting. When you wander through the ancient corridors, your thoughts naturally drift to the past splendors of a lost era and to the secret memories of a bygone time ... all jealously preserved by its thick walls. Relaxing on the spacious terrace while overlooking the tropical seafront gardens, the sparkling blue waters of the Indian Ocean, and the Old Town; mosques, churches, temples, palaces and simple homes all around you. You cannot help wondering about the many generations of sailors who have come and gone with the Kusi and the Kaskazi; the monsoon winds allowing all journeys across the ocean. As the sound of the muezzin calling to prayer mingles with the laughter of children at play, and as the red sun sets over the sea while the starry African night advances, the live pulse of this vibrant town becomes so strong that past and present become but one. The legend of One Thousand and One nights - is alive in Mashariki Palace Hotel, Zanzibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Mashariki Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mashariki Palace Hotel Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mashariki Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.