We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hotel, one downside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malindi | PO Box 271, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Stone Town
Soest, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“perfect hotel, one downside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I can write quit a big review about my three nights in this hotel.
A great rooftop restaurant with nice stone town view
The rooms are perfect in space and luxury.
The staff is excellent trained, the breakfest is great.
The only down is they dont sell alcohol. But easy to solve: 50metres away is mercury restaurant.
Will go back there any day!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
13
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I was here on a business trip and the hotel was selected by the client. Its in a reasonably convenient location and the rooms are well equipped and comfortable. The wifi works well if you are in a corner room on the first floor. I stayed in room 106. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. The cleanliness of the hotel is remarkable. While I enjoyed the breakfast that had everything you could want including fresh fruit - the room service was disappointing. I would not eat here - but instead go into town where there are plenty of restaurants with good fresh fish and other items at reasonable prices. If you take the ferry from the mainland this hotel is within short walking distance. So in summary a very good stay and suited for business as this is far from "tourist" attractions in town ad restaurants,

Room Tip: Rooms on the corner have higher speed wifi (106,107 etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bukavu, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I went to Zanzibar on May 2011. I got the information about this hotel from my friend who was really satisfied with the service while she was there.
When I was arrived in the airport, the hotel driver was already there to pick me up and took me to the hotel. It was not check in time yet, but they allowed me to enter my room. The staffs were so friendly. Even when I tried to give them the tips, they refused politely and said, "No, mam. It's my job. You don't have to pay more for something that I should do"..The first time happened in Africa, the staffs refused the tips.
The room was very clean, the breakfast was nice and the restaurant has a great view to the sea. It's also very close to interesting places such as Mercury restaurant, the pallace, forodhani garden, etc.
With only 65 USD / nights, this hotel was very good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and were not disappointed. Clean rooms with LCD, safe and a good a/c. Breakfast at the rooftop is pleasant. We had one dinner at a very reasonable price but went elsewhere on the following evening. Friendly staff. Not appointed in a beautiful/prime location but close to the ferryterminal. Construction going on nearby (nearly finished). Small garden in front of the hotel. No pool. Stone Town is very safe, even at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

You'd think the way my friends reacted to every element of this hotel that it was their worst experience ever but in all honesty it wasn't that bad. Its pretty close to the Mercury bar which is nice for if you want to stay out late and have a nice bar nearby. Buuuuttt...you definitely want to walk around the area with someone especially if you're a woman. A lot of strange characters just milling about and ready to harrass you. The service is ok but the rooms are actually pretty clean. I felt a little uneasy outside of the room but the room itself was really nice.

Room Tip: There is no pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

Highly recommended if you want to stay at stone town.
Very relaxing ambiance at the lobby.

The room was wonderful. I can still smell the fregrance of the room. Good value for money.

The hotel is at a walking distance from the port and the centre of stone town.
Staff were friendly and helpful. However there's a room to improve.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I had reserved another hotel room for my one non-business night in Zanzibar but when I got there, they had run out of rooms! Fortunately, I found the Zanzibar Grand Palace... They were able to take me in at a very good rate, so really saved my trip. The front desk staff was very helpful and gave good advice for where to go. The location is lovely and the rooftop restaurant has amazing views and a good breakfast (included in rate); restaurant staff very accommodating and friendly. Close to the ferry and all the Stone Town sights. Extremely clean and felt safe in the room, which had some fine Zanzibar chests, high ceilings, and nice detail. I probably wouldn't have chosen it at first, but felt very lucky to find myself there. Thanks to this hotel, my trip was saved!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel

Address: Malindi | PO Box 271, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Grand Palace is where exceptional standards of luxury fuse with vintage traditional interior design and traditional hospitality and values. The rooms are decorated to ensure a traditional picturesque and soothing environment and are furnished with amenities to meet all your needs. Located in Stone Town, Zanzibar Grand Palace is strategically located nearby both the beach, the historic centre of Stone Town and the Darajani Market. We are located in the centre of Stone Town with all main tourist attractions within walking distance from the hotel, as well as numerous shops, restaurants and nightspots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.