We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Town Cafe

Stone Town Cafe
Kenyatta Road, Shangani, Stone Town ...., Tanzania
+255773861313
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 57 Restaurants in Stone Town
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Open 8am to 10pm, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inside air-conditioned seating, outside seating. Intimate cafe serving big breakfasts, burgers, wraps, quiche, home-made cakes and great chocolate brownies. Real coffee brewed Arabic-style and herbal teas and juices.
Trondheim
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food and great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Love the breakfast there. I had the coconut bread. Lovely served with some butter. The crepes with banana and honey was awesome. A hidden gem, truly!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    38
    50
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were looking for place to eat, didn't want a full meal and stumbbled upon the Stone Town Cafe. Really enjoyed the pizza we ordered. The wait time is relatively short for Africa. Pizza and two pops cost 11000 Tsh, less than $10. The staff was helpful and nice. The restaurant was not busy and we had a great conversation with the two waiters and the other patron. Definately recommend this place. If we had longer to spend in Stone Town we would have returned.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
“Quaint, cosy little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Liked: Being small and cosy adds to the atmosphere, while we sat at the outdoor patio. Oooh... and the spiced coffee is to die for. Far better than Starbuck's! Everyone in our group agrees.

Disliked: I guess the cafe is a victim of its own success because it's always busy and patrons have to wait for a table once in a while.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food, coffee, juices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We came here upon recommendation and ended up coming twice.

Great location and all day breakfast. We came here for lunch and drinks and would recommend:

- tuna steak lunch: nice piece of tun steak with lime and rice on the side
- mango shake
- Zanzibari coffee: THE BEST coffee I had on the island. Truly spice with cardamon and cinnamon

Prices have nearly doubled since most travel guides have been published but it is still affordable and somewhat authentic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is my all time favorite place for avocado toast- okay, maybe it is the only place i have ever eaten avocado toast, but it is so good- I literally will travel to Zanzibar just to eat the avocado toast at Stonetown Cafe! Two thumbs up!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Town Cafe also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar
Stone Town, Zanzibar
 

Been to Stone Town Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Town Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.