We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, cosy little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Town Cafe

Stone Town Cafe
Kenyatta Road, Shangani, Stone Town ...., Tanzania
+255773861313
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 58 Restaurants in Stone Town
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Open 8am to 10pm, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inside air-conditioned seating, outside seating. Intimate cafe serving big breakfasts, burgers, wraps, quiche, home-made cakes and great chocolate brownies. Real coffee brewed Arabic-style and herbal teas and juices.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
“Quaint, cosy little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Liked: Being small and cosy adds to the atmosphere, while we sat at the outdoor patio. Oooh... and the spiced coffee is to die for. Far better than Starbuck's! Everyone in our group agrees.

Disliked: I guess the cafe is a victim of its own success because it's always busy and patrons have to wait for a table once in a while.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    55
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food, coffee, juices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We came here upon recommendation and ended up coming twice.

Great location and all day breakfast. We came here for lunch and drinks and would recommend:

- tuna steak lunch: nice piece of tun steak with lime and rice on the side
- mango shake
- Zanzibari coffee: THE BEST coffee I had on the island. Truly spice with cardamon and cinnamon

Prices have nearly doubled since most travel guides have been published but it is still affordable and somewhat authentic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is my all time favorite place for avocado toast- okay, maybe it is the only place i have ever eaten avocado toast, but it is so good- I literally will travel to Zanzibar just to eat the avocado toast at Stonetown Cafe! Two thumbs up!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good flavour and good concept”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very simple but nice concept and perfect stop in the middle of the day to have a coffee and a cake.
The decoration makes you feel in Zanzibar and the ladies who work there remind you of your mama. I loved it

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great curry, service slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Food and drinks really tasty especially curry. Service was slow for lunch time but was very chilled so we were relaxed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Town Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Stone Town Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Town Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.