We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, coffee, juices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Town Cafe

Stone Town Cafe
Kenyatta Road, Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City ...., Tanzania
+255773861313
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 67 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Open 8am to 10pm, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inside air-conditioned seating, outside seating. Intimate cafe serving big breakfasts, burgers, wraps, quiche, home-made cakes and great chocolate brownies. Real coffee brewed Arabic-style and herbal teas and juices.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, coffee, juices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We came here upon recommendation and ended up coming twice.

Great location and all day breakfast. We came here for lunch and drinks and would recommend:

- tuna steak lunch: nice piece of tun steak with lime and rice on the side
- mango shake
- Zanzibari coffee: THE BEST coffee I had on the island. Truly spice with cardamon and cinnamon

Prices have nearly doubled since most travel guides have been published but it is still affordable and somewhat authentic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    69
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is my all time favorite place for avocado toast- okay, maybe it is the only place i have ever eaten avocado toast, but it is so good- I literally will travel to Zanzibar just to eat the avocado toast at Stonetown Cafe! Two thumbs up!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good flavour and good concept”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very simple but nice concept and perfect stop in the middle of the day to have a coffee and a cake.
The decoration makes you feel in Zanzibar and the ladies who work there remind you of your mama. I loved it

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great curry, service slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Food and drinks really tasty especially curry. Service was slow for lunch time but was very chilled so we were relaxed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Coconut Bread”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Try their toasted coconut bread! It’s delicious. Coffee is good and plenty and served in a lovely Arabian style pot. It’s nothing fancy but has a good atmosphere. One of my favourite café in Stone Town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Town Cafe also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Stone Town Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Town Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.