We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast
Kenyatta Road | Shangani, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Arusha, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simple and good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I just stayed one night, but a nice ambiance, rooms have got all you need and are really clean. Cute little cafe downstairs.For a Stone town place to stay, this is a good one and on a small street off the main drag.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masoud S, Owner at Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your night with us and appreciate the time you took to review us. Have fun in Zanzibar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    44
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
69
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urumqi, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Audrey the manager was amazing, friendly and super helpful. The food was excellent and the staff were actually concerned about all their guests. They were super honest and did everything they could to help us. Food was good and the rooms were clean and and great. Awesome location, we had a great time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masoud S, Owner at Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks so much for your positive review. We think our team are fabulous too and are so glad you found them helpful - I will proudly pass on your great feedback to them personally. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a quaint and small hotel but has everything you need for a stay in Stone Town. It is clean and well maintained and the staff were friendly. The hotel is very well situated to all the attractions in the town and also very convenient for Sun Downers at Africa House.

Our room had AC, a TV and a safe for valuables and was very comfortable. The bathroom was large and well maintained.

Food in the cafe downstairs was great too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The location of this quiet little B&B is possibly its most attractive feature. It is located right in the middle of the commercial/touristy area of Stone Town, which puts most of the town's tourist attractions, souvenir shops and restaurants/bars within walk-able distance. It is located right next to the Shangani Post Office - which makes it very convenient if you want to send postcards and, more significantly, provides an easy landmark to give people when asking for directions back to the B&B after you get hopelessly lost in the maze of winding lanes and bylanes of Stone Town (you WILL get lost!)

The rooms itself are clean, functional and inexpensive. We took an AC room (considering Stone Town was reeling under 40-degree Celsius heat, this seemed like a smart option). The small room consisted of an antique four-poster bed with a mosquito net, comfortable and clean bed linen, a cupboard with an electronic safe, a full-length mirror, a writing desk and chair, and a flat-screen TV mounted on the wall. It wasn't a room with a view (none of them are), as it looked out onto other houses, terraces and lanes of Stone Town. The bathroom was small but clean with a shower, a water heater and a bidet shower (which is so rare anywhere in Tanzania). A little Zanzibari carved chest provided handmade scented soaps, which are a hallmark of Zanzibar. Our only complaint was that the AC was not very effective. We had to use a combination of the AC and the ceiling fan to get the room to tolerable temperatures.

The food was fantastic. Shakes, smoothies, fresh fruit juice and lovely big pots of Zanzibari coffee accompanied our breakfasts of crepes, eggs in every form, cereal, fruit salads and whatnot. The sweet homemade coconut bread is a must-try.

However, what made this place especially endearing was its staff.

Jameel, the establishment's taxi driver who took us around, was very helpful and a wealth of knowledge about Zanzibari history, culture, tradition and food. Most guide books and websites will tell you that women should dress modestly in Stone Town - that shorts or short dresses/skirts are frowned upon. As I struggled under layers of clothing in that sweltering heat, I asked Jameel about this. "No, not at all. You can wear anything as long as it is not Ramadan time. We locals understand that you are not used to this weather," he said. He proved to be right. I wore shorts after that and nobody batted an eyelid.

"Mr Breakfast", the cheery waiter at the Cafe, was very helpful and pleasant as well. He kept us amused with his banter during meals and, one evening, when he was done with his shift, guided us to a local souvenir store that wouldn't overcharge (most souvenir stores really bump up their prices for tourists and you have to bargain really long and hard to get a reasonable price)

Nasir and Audrey, the management staff, were very pleasant and helpful as well. And finally, Judi, the owner of this quaint little establishment: Judi was very efficient, friendly and helpful. She takes a personal interest in all her guests and makes you feel completely at home. She went out of her way to help us - contacting a resort on Pongwe Beach for us when we couldn't reach them, arranging for someone to take us to Prison Island, arranging a walking tour of Stone Town for us with the inimitable comical guide Farid, and generally ensuring that we were comfortable and happy.

If you aren't looking for luxury, I'd recommend Stone Town Cafe B&B as just about the best place to stay in Stone Town. It's the place that feels closest to home when you're in Stone Town.

Room Tip: Choose an AC room to escape the sweltering heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

It was a very pleasant stay in this lovely B&B. Clean, cool and spacious rooms. Staff was most helpful. Breakfast was original: no 'boiled or fried' eggs in the morning.
I would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Bouquets: Location is good in the middle of the winding streets of Stone Town & the building itself has a certain charm; the manager is helpful and the local staff very friendly; the cafe downstairs is a bonus with some nice food & a place to just chill; taxis are available right outside at reasonable prices.

Brick bats: I feel the price is a bit much for what you actually get (US$80 double B&B) although perhaps Zanzibar has generally become a bit over priced for what it offers these days compared to other similar locations. Our room was Ok but nothing great and there were a few problems with it - the air con vents appeared to be quite damaged so it barely worked, the bathroom toilet/bidet tap leaked water so this corner of the bathroom was always covered in water, the taps in the bathroom wash basin were loose and coming away from their fittings so you had to actually hold them at the base in order to switch on the taps, and overall the room was a bit tired.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masoud S, Owner at Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks for your review. We strive to keep our prices at the lower range of room rates in Stone Town, and think we manage this. Unfortunately in Zanzibar, one of the struggles we have is finding quality fittings and tradesmen. We have taken your comments about the bathroom on-board and given it a complete overhaul since your visit. We hope you will try us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed three nights at the Stone Town Cafe after our safari. The rooms were clean and comfortable (and the soap is really nice!!). The breakfast was very tasty.... Some of the best food we had in Zanzibar. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast

Address: Kenyatta Road | Shangani, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Town Cafe and Bed and Breakfast is located in Shangani on Kenyatta Road, just 2 minutes walk from most restaurants and tourist shops, 5 minutes from the Old Fort, and about 10 minutes walk through the narrow streets to Darajani market. Breakfast is served in the café downstairs which is open from 8am to 10pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Town Cafe Hotel Stone Town
Stone Town Cafe And Bed And Breakfast
Stone Town Cafe And Bed & Breakfast Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.